Research Guides: College of Medicine Resources: Find Articles

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon or the browser extension icon

Resource not at UC?

Request articles or books using the online request system ILLiad.

Biomedical Database Resources

ClinicalKey This collection includes medical books, textbooks current journals, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology. CME credits via the Cleveland Clinic. This resource is specifically designed to support physicians in evidence-based clinical care and clinical education, and also supports researchers and instructors with an included presentation builder for use with images and videos. To access ClinicalKey from off campus you must set up a personal account. To do this from off campus: 1. Login to the vpn (https://www.uc.edu/about/ucit/get-connected/vpn.html) 2. Once logged in, navigate to ClinicalKey (http://www.clinicalkey.com/) 3. At the top right, click on register, and create an account w/ your UC email 4. Login to the account. 5. Once logged in click on your username at the top right, and then select Remote Access 6. Enter your UC email and select ok. A confirmation email will be sent to your UC email. 7. Navigate to this email and activate remote access. In future sessions, login to your account to access the ClinicalKey resources remotely. If you are on campus, you can navigate to ClinicalKey without logging into the VPN.
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library) Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
EMBASE EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present). Coverage: 1966 - present
Natural & Alternative Treatments - see Consumer Health Complete Natural & Alternative Treatments is no longer a stand alone database - content is now in Consumer Health Complete. (April 2024) (More than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.)
PsycINFO PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
PsychiatryOnline PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.Also includes journals, textbooks, study guides, and clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and more.
PubMed PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
Scopus (Elsevier) A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data. 
SportDiscus with Full Text SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 230 full text titles. In addition, SPORTDiscus with Full Text also contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Coverage: 1800 - present
Web of Science Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Selected Public Health Resources

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present
ERIC (EBSCOhost) ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK, use the connect below.Coverage: 1966 - present
ProQuest Research Library One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
PsycINFO PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Social Work Abstracts Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Coverage: 1965 - present
SocINDEX with Full Text SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers. Coverage: 1895 - present

Times Cited Resources

Journal Citation Reports
An annual report on the citation impact of a defined set of journals at a given moment in time. Evaluate journals with a multidimensional view of a journal’s impact and influence. View citation metrics, including the Journal Impact Factor and Journal Citation Indicator, alongside descriptive open access statistics and contributor information.
Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.