The Web-based edition is a fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including: A-Z guide to usage, spelling, capitalization, abbreviation, punctuation, numerals and many other questions of language usage; also includes a pronunciation guide with audio files.
This product began as the merger of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch provided citation indexing of 32 journals in communication studies¸ with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation indexing of over 60 research journals¸ as well as major journalism reviews¸ recent encyclopedias¸ and handbooks in the area of communications studies. The combined product incorporates full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.
Coverage: 1915 - present
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers¸ faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100¸000 pages of SAGE's book¸ journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects¸ understand particular methods or identify a new method¸ conduct their research¸ and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines¸ it can be used across the social sciences¸ health sciences¸ and more.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
See Core Databases: Communication to get started.
Information on circulation¸ advertising rates¸ newspapers¸ magazines¸ computer and community publications¸ radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following: Business Publication Advertising Source¸ Consumer Magazine Advertising Source¸ Direct Marketing List Source¸ Newspaper Advertising Source¸ Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. Coverage: Current
You may already have a citation for an article from your professor's recommendation or another source. This is how you would locate the article.
Method 1
On the UC Libraries page paste your article title in the red search box. If this is an exact title enclose it in quotation marks to avoid irrelevant hits.
If the title is short and/or common, add the author's name and/or journal title.
Summon, our metasearch tool, will return results with links to online full text.
You can also use advanced Summon search.
Method 2
Method 3.
