Research Guides: Computer Science and Information Technology Basics: Online Resources

Databases

If you're looking for scholarly articles, conference papers, technical reports, and industry news, etc., use the following recommended databases. UC authentication is required on and off the campus. Please contact your librarian if you need help locating information from them.

ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library includes full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. It includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. The library includes unrestricted access to the Guide to Computing Literature bibliography, a major resource in the field of computing research and education.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full-text access to high-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics and related disciplines. Includes journals, magazines and standards published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and conference proceedings from both IEEE and the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).

eBook Collection

With your UC account, you can read ebooks anywhere and anytime. Each source below provides a variety of ebooks related to computer science and information technology, even tutorials and videos.

ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library includes full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. It includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. The library includes unrestricted access to the Guide to Computing Literature bibliography, a major resource in the field of computing research and education.
IET Digital Library
From the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)¸ the IET Digital Library is a collection of over 500 e-books that covers topics in the areas of Circuits¸ Devices and Systems; Control Engineering; Electrical Technology; Electromagnetic Waves; History of Technology; Manufacturing; Management of Technology; Power and Energy; Professional Applications of Computing; Radar¸ Sonar¸ Navigation and Avionics; Renewable Energy; and Telecommunications.
Knovel
Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
O'Reilly Ebooks
O'Reilly Ebooks (formerly Safari Ebooks Online) provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers.
NOTE: First time users (authorized UC users) need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly

Professional Societies

To help you network with professionals and keep abreast of the latest industry news, you can join the student chapter of the following professional organizations. You might consider getting a student membership to get all the benefits.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.
Association for Women in Computing (AWC)
The Association for Women in Computing (AWC) was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1978 and is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing. AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Our members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants.
Association of Software Professionals (ASP)
The ASP is a professional trade association of software developers who are creating and marketing leading-edge applications.
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility (CPSR)
PSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. Founded in 1981, CPSR educates policymakers and the public on a wide range of issues. CPSR has incubated numerous projects such as Privaterra, the Public Sphere Project, EPIC (the Electronic Privacy Information Center), the 21st Century Project, the Civil Society Project, and the CFP (Computers, Freedom & Privacy) Conference. Originally founded by U.S. computer scientists, CPSR now has members in 26 countries on six continents.
Computing Research Association(CRA)
Uniting industry, academia and government to advance computing research and change the world.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.

Online Learning

If you need supplemental tutorials, take advantage of the following websites through UC's subscription.

LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning absorbed Lynda.com in 2019. Designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever and wherever the user is ready to learn. The library videos feature software from Adobe¸ Apple¸ Autodesk¸ Blackboard¸ Facebook¸ Google¸ HTML¸ Microsoft¸ Open Source¸ SPSS¸ Twitter and many more. UC users must create an account and login with Central Login credentials. For help with setting up or accessing account, contact UCIT Help Desk.
O'Reilly Ebooks
Safari Books Online provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. NOTE: First time users (authorized UC users) need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site. When you are at the homepage, scroll down to Learning Paths. You can also search the topic at the top of the page.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly