Research Guides: Drug Discovery and Development Resources: Home & Resource List

Introduction

This Drug Discovery and Development Resources guide includes links to key electronic resources useful for drug discovery research.

Home and Web Resources & Tutorials - the main resources for drug discovery
Journals - if you have the article reference, check the Journals list to see if the full text is available online
Books - online Drug Discovery and Pharmacy books that may assist you in your research
Off Campus Access - log into the proxy server or the VPN when you're off campus
Get Help - links and phone numbers for library and IT assistance
HSL Home Page - access the rest of the Health Sciences Library site and other resources

How Herceptin Works: the Mechanism of Action
A video describing the drug Herceptin's mechanism of action.

ChemIDplus
DailyMed
more...less...
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements. The drug labeling information on this Web site is the most recent submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and currently in use; it may include, for example, strengthened warnings undergoing FDA review or minor editorial changes. These labels have been reformatted to make them easier to read.

ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
FDA Website
FDA: Drug Approvals and Databases
more...less...
Acronyms and Abbreviations
Adverse Event Reporting System (AERS)
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
Bioresearch Monitoring Information System (BMIS)
Clinical Investigator Inspection List (CLIIL)
Dissolution Methods Database
Drug Establishments Current Registration Site
Drugs@FDA
Inactive Ingredient Search for Approved Drug Products
National Drug Code Directory
Orange Book (Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations)
Postmarket Requirements and Commitments
FDA: Drugs@FDA
more...less...
The main uses of Drugs@FDA are:
* Finding labels for approved drug products
* Finding generic drug products for a brand name drug product
* Finding therapeutically equivalent drug products for a brand name or generic drug product
* Finding consumer information for drugs approved from 1998 on
* Finding all drugs with a specific active ingredient
* Viewing the approval history of a drug
NCBI Cross-Database Search
more...less...
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/gquery
NCBI Homepage (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) -- from Entrez
PubChem BioAssay Database -- from Entrez
PubChem Compound Database -- from Entrez

Reaxys
SciFinder-N : Account Registration (First Time Users)
First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
SciFinder-N (Registered Users)
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.

Training & Tutorials - SciFinder "Classic"
Training & Tutorials - Scifinder-N (new version)
Includes recorded trainings on literature, citation, structure, substructure, reaction, patent and biosequence searching.

EMBASE
ProQuest Research Library
PubMed
SciFinder-N : Account Registration (First Time Users)
First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
SciFinder-N (Registered Users)
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.
Scopus (Elsevier)
TOXNET

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Tiffany Grant: 558-9153 joffritm@ucmail.uc.edu