Research Guides: Foundations of Education in CECH: Sources for Education Policy Research

Public Opinion

Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion¸ with information from the United States and also more than 100 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering 5¸000 topics and issues.

Current Newspapers

New York Times¸ Late Edition¸ East Coast (June 1¸ 1980 - Present)
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to June 1¸ 1980. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: 6/1/1980 - Present
Washington Post, Final Edition (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online¸ where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions¸ all of the newspapers are browsable¸ uncut and in full image -- complete with editorials¸ photos¸ charts¸ graphs¸ and other visual material.
Coverage: 2008 - present (3-month embargo)
Cincinnati Enquirer Recent (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers)
ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online, where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions, all of the newspapers are browsable, uncut and in full image--complete with editorials, photos, charts, graphs, and other visual material.
Coverage: 2010 - present (3-month embargo)
Wall Street Journal Recent - Eastern Edition (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers)
ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online¸ where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions¸ all of the newspapers are browsable¸ uncut and in full image - complete with editorials¸ photos¸ charts¸ graphs¸ and other visual material.
Coverage: 2008 - present (3-month embargo)

Government Information

ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
This database includes full transcripts of the proceedings¸ including all oral statements¸ committee questions¸ and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports¸ statistical analyses¸ correspondence¸ exhibits and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. Coverage: 1824-2003 full text; indexing only 2003-present
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications¸ but allows users to do a Search Within from that very page that searches the full text of all the associated publications with one-click. Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law¸ all versions of enacted and related bills¸ Congressional Record excerpts¸ and committee hearings¸ reports¸ and documents.
FDsys - Federal Digital System
The database provides access to important information products produced by the Federal Government. It includes numerous Congressional resources¸ the Code of Federal Regulations¸ the Federal Register¸ the U.S.Code¸ U.S. Supreme Court decisions¸ and more.

Education-Specific and Trade/Professional Publications

Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the academic world's No. 1 source of news and information containing the full text of the current issue of The Chronicle of Higher Education every Monday morning plus Today's New¸ daily updates and reports on developments in information technology¸ grants and other information and data related to higher education. Contains a chronological list of articles by date from 1995¸ as well as a searchable archive of issues back to 1989.
Coverage: 1995 - present

Education Week
Magazine with K-12 news and information.
Learning For Justice (formerly Teaching Tolerance)
Magazine including topics related to culture and climate, curriculum and instruction, leadership, and family and community engagement.
Education Next
Education Digest