Research Guides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Electrical & Computer Engineering Resources

Electrical & Computer Engineering Resources
Research Tips

Top Databases

No matter what electrical engineering topic you're researching, these databases are a good place to start your search:

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full-text access to high-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics and related disciplines. Includes journals, magazines and standards published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and conference proceedings from both IEEE and the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).
ACM Digital Library
Includes the full-text collection of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books in the fields of computing and information technology.

 
Compendex
Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
SciTech Premium
SciTech Premium is a collection of material in the natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines. It includes comprehensive coverage from thousands of full-text titles including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video material and more. SciTech Premium provides access to the Agricultural Science Collection, Biological Science Collection, Environmental Science Collection, Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection, Advanced Technology & Aerospace Collection, Engineering Collection, and Materials Science Collection.

Other Databases & Journals

These resources may provide additional, or more specialized, information:

COMPEL: International Journal of Computations & Mathematics in Electrical & Electronics Engineering
COMPEL exists for the discussion and dissemination of computational and analytical methods in electrical and electronic engineering. The main emphasis of papers should be on methods and new techniques, or the application of existing techniques in a novel way.
Electrical Engineering
Over 100 volumes of Electrical Engineering journal, 1912-present
Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, and Control
The Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement, and Control publishes theoretical and applied original papers in the traditional areas implied by its name, as well as papers in interdisciplinary areas. Theoretical papers should present new theoretical developments and knowledge for controls of dynamical systems together with clear engineering motivation for the new theory.
Journal of Electronic Packaging
The Journal of Electronic Packaging publishes papers that use experimental and theoretical (analytical and computer-aided) methods, approaches, and techniques to address and solve various mechanical, materials, and reliability problems encountered in the analysis, design, manufacturing, testing, and operation of electronic and photonics components, devices, and systems.
Photonic Tech Briefs
Explore the latest technical briefs and product breakthroughs in photonics and optics. Resources include breakthroughs in lasers, laser systems, fiber optics, optical components, and photonics.

Books

Books about Electrical Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

E-Book Collections in Science & Engineering
A listing of our e-book collections that include sci-tech content. Knovel and Safari may be of particular interest to Mechanical Engineers.

Standards and Specifications

What are Engineering Standards?

According to IEEE, "standards are documents that established an agreed upon way of doing something. From expected best practices to technical specifications or requirements, standards help to ensure a common approach and repeatable outcome in the design and development of products, services and technologies." Engineers use a wide variety of standards providing guidance on everything from screw threads to information technology networks.

How are Standards Developed?

According to the ISO, "Like a symphony, it takes a lot of people working together to develop a standard. ISO’s role is similar to that of a conductor, while the orchestra is made up of independent technical experts nominated by our members. They begin the process with the development of a draft that meets a market need within a specific area. This is then shared for commenting and further discussion. The voting process is the key to consensus. If that’s achieved then the draft is on its way to becoming an ISO standard. If agreement isn’t reached then the draft will be modified further, and voted on again. From first proposal to final publication, developing a standard usually takes about 3 years."

Where to find Standards?

Compendex
Compendex is a good place to begin to when searching for standards. To find standards, use the regular search bar, but limit the Document Type to Standards. Since Compendex only indexes standards, you may need to contact the libraries to request access to the standards you find there.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to all IEEE standards - excluding draft standards, where access is limited to those involved in standard creation/review. To access standards, use the main search bar but change the drop down from All to Standards. After searching you will have the option to use filters to limit your results to only full text (Subscribed Content) standards.
ASTM Compass
NOTE: If accessing from off-campus, use the Chrome browser for best results.
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation.
Coverage 1931-present.

International Telecommunications Union ITU-T Recommendations
ITU allocates global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develops the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies interconnect, and improves access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide.
Book of SEMI Standards
SEMI standards from the UC Catalog, including semiconductors and microelectronics from the Semiconductor Equipment and Materials Institute.
ISA Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Reports
Contains standards on control and measurement. Symbols, environmental conditions, instrument air quality, control valves, electrical system safety, process system safety, measurement devices and transducers, digital fieldbus, computer-related topics, plant floor communications, and nuclear and fossil power plant facilities
UC Libraries Standards & Codes Guide
Guide provides an overview of where to find standards and codes.

Patents

Patents are an excellent source of technical information. See patent web guide for more information:

UC Patents Guide
A comprehensive guide from UC Libraries about patent research, law, and resources.

Techincal Reports

The CEAS Library holds an extensive collection of NATO Science and Technology Organization (STO) Collaborative Support Office (CSO), NACA (National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics), and NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) reports. In addition, there are several digital repositories for technical reports, including:

TRAIL
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
STO Technical Reports
The STO is a NATO subsidiary body having the same legal status than the NATO itself, and created within the framework of the North Atlantic Treaty signed in Washington in 1949. It has been established with a view to meeting to the best advantage the collective needs of NATO, NATO Nations and partner Nations in the fields of Science and Technology
NASA Techincal Reports Server
The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
Contrails
The goal of the Contrails project is to help preserve and disseminate the technical record of 20th century aerospace research.

Project Reports, Dissertations & Theses

Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Thesis and Dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (UC Electronic)
Access to a body of well over 8,000 University of Cincinnati electronic dissertations and theses, this is the best link to the broadest collection of electronic UC dissertations. The time period covers mainly from 1955 to the present. To acquire the dissertations electronically, users request the full text from UMI (ProQuest) and are sent a link and a password to access the dissertation. Dissertations from 1997 forward are available in the OhioLINK ETD at ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations). Coverage: 1955 to present
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present

Professional Societies

Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
EPRI provides thought leadership, industry expertise, and collaborative value to help the electricity sector identify issues, technology gaps, and broader needs that can be addressed through effective research and development programs for the benefit of society.
Electrochemical Society
The mission of The Electrochemical Society is to advance theory and practice at the forefront of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and allied subjects.
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society
The AESS is the only professional society dealing with total integrated electronic systems and the enabling technologies. AESS pioneered large-scale integrated interoperable systems.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
Semiconductor Equipment and Materials Institute (SEMI)
SEMI Is the global industry association representing the electronics manufacturing supply chain, connecting over 2,000 member companies and 1.3 million professionals worldwide.
SPIE--International Society for Optical Engineering
SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. Serving 255,000 constituents from 183 countries, the not-for-profit society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth.