Research Guides: Engineering as a Profession: Home

Science & Engineering Librarian

Ted Baldwin

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

CEAS Library, ML 0018
850G Baldwin Hall

513-556-4211

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Engineering & Technology, Mathematics

CEAS Library Resources In Engineering as a Profession

Need help? Ask a CEAS Librarian

Books

21 things every future engineer should know

A Doctorate and Beyond: Building a Career in Engineering and the Physical Sciences

Becoming Leaders : A Practical Handbook for Women in Engineering, Science, and Technology

Beginner's Guide to Become a Professional Engineer

Engineer Your Own Success: 7 Key Elements to Creating an Extraordinary Engineering Career

Data Science Careers, Training, and Hiring: A Comprehensive Guide to the Data Ecosystem: How to Build a Successful Data Science Career, Program, or Unit

Databases

Compendex

Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present

ERIC (EBSCOhost)

ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Professional Societies

Career Website

SESTAT - Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System
SESTAT is the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System. This integrated data system is a unique source of longitudinal information on the education and employment of the college-educated U.S. science and engineering workforce.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the majority of jobs in the United States. Each occupational profile describes the typical duties performed by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook over the coming decade for that occupation.
A Look Inside Engineering Careers from Custom Control Sensors
The resource discusses the different types of career paths that are available to engineering students looking to decide on their specialization. Several career tips and preferred skills to help advance your engineering career are also discussed within the article.
Engineering Career Profiles
This resource provides details on the specific job duties, salary, requirements, advancement prospects and more for a variety of engineering occupations.

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides