Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

English Composition 1001

Research made easy.

SEARCHING FOR SOURCES

This unit provides information on how to find sources using library databases and resources. 

What's in this unit?

  • Videos that introduce how to use "best bets" for getting started with library research: Summon (books, articles, and other materials) and Academic Search Complete (articles, newspapers, magazines).
  • Links to  databases and search boxes for easily digging deeper into your research
  • A search log to organize and reflect on search progress. 

How will this help me?

Library databases are one way to access newspapers, magazines, scholarly articles, videos, interviews, images, and more!

Find Articles: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive database that is easy to search and contains materials on many different subjects. 

Start your search:

1. Watch this overview video of tips for using Academic Search Complete (Link to Video)

2. Use the link below the video to access the database (it will prompt you  to login via off campus access)

3.  Use your keywords to start searching for sources on your topic. 

4. Use the features to limit your search: format (type of source), date range, etc.

5.  When you find an article you like, look for "Full Text" icons or links like these - PDF, PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, Article Linker - in order to access the entire article online. Be sure to download, save, or email your article!

 

Access Academic Search Complete using the link below:

Find a Little Bit of Everything in Summon, our Mega-Search Tool!

This tool searches for books, articles, and other materials...It's like a library version of Google!

Start your search:

1. Watch this overview video of tips for using Summon (Link to video here)

2. Use the search box below to directly search Summon; enter your keywords to get started!

3. Use the features to limit your search: content type (type of source), date range, etc.

4.  When you find an article you like, click on the title; you'll be taken to a new page to access the article. Look for "Full Text" icons or links like these - PDF, PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text - in order to access the entire article online. Be sure to download, save, or email your article! 

 

 

Directly search Summon using the box below:

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

APPLY LEARNING

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati