Research Guides: Environmental Engineering Research Guide: home

Need Help?

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Environmental Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

CEAS Library's Ask A Librarian service can assist you with basic to advanced questions related to resources in engineering and the sciences, including those of the CEAS (Engineering and Applied Science) Library.

Databases

Envirofacts
Retrieve information from multiple sources of Envirofacts’ System Data for your area of interest from the EPA.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
ProQuest data collection for agriculture and environmental science
ASCE Library
Search books, journals, magazines, and more for finding civil engineering information from ASCE, The American Society of Civil Engineers.
BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen helps architects, designers and other sustainability professionals make their projects greener and healthier, by supporting building professionals with membership websites at BuildingGreen.com and at LEEDuser.com, and with customized consulting and training services.
Compendex
Summary of engineering research output for schools and research institutions. Analysis includes top author, funding sponsorship, and publishing trends.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
EPA Toxics Release Inventory
NLM supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,500-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
Water Resources Abstracts
Proquest Environmental Science Index
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Environmental Engineering Index
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Journals

Journal of Environmental Engineering
Access provided by University of Cincinnati from ASCE Library journals of environmental engineering.
Environmental Science & Technology
Ohio link Electronic Journal Center for Environmental Science & Technology. 1967 - Present.
Journal of Hydraulic Engineering
Journal of Hydraulic Engineering from ASCE Library accepts original contributions that describe the analysis and solutions of problems in hydraulic engineering.
Water, Air, and Soil Pollution
Ohio link collection of Water, Air, & Soil Pollution Journals. 1971-Present.
Water Environment & Technology
Collection of Proquest journals on Water Environment & Technology from 1996 - 2006.
Society of Environmental Journalists
SEJournal Online is the weekly digital news magazine of the Society of Environmental Journalists.
Management of Environmental Quality
An international journal of management of environmental quality from Emerald Insight from 2003-present.
Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association
Serve those occupationally involved in air pollution control & waste management. Journal from EBSCO host Air & Waste Management Association. 1973 - Present.
Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety
Electronic Journal Center of journals of Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety. 1977 - Present.
Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering
ASCE Library Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering from 1997 - Present.

Standards and Specifications

CEAS Library also has a list of all Engineering Standards and Codes

ASHRAE Standards and Guidlines
Standards and guidelines of American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers.
Standards
Online standards available from CEAS Library
ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present (UC login required).
Emission Standards for Coal-Fired Plants
Air pollutant control policies
Guidelines for Artificial Recharge of Ground Water
Standard Guidelines for Artificial Recharge of Ground Water describes the steps necessary to plan, design, construct, maintain, operate, and close a project for artificial recharge of groundwater. The recharge may be accomplished either by applying water to the ground surface for infiltration or by placing it directly into aquifers through wells.

Books

Books about Environmental Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

Aerosols

Aerosols Handbook by Lev S. Ruzer, Naomi H. Harley
ISBN: 9780429110184
Publication Date: 2012-8-15
With the rapid growth of the nanotechnology industry, the need to understand the biological effects of aerosol exposure has become increasingly important. Featuring contributions by leading experts in the field, Aerosols Handbook: Measurement, Dosimetry, and Health Effects, Second Edition offers an up-to-date overview of many aspects of aerosols.

More books about Aerosols >>>

Air Pollution

Air Pollution Control Technology Handbook by Karl B. Schnelle Jr.; Russell F. Dunn; Mary Ellen Ternes
ISBN: 9781482245608
Publication Date: 2015-8-2
A detailed reference for the practicing engineer, Air Pollution Control Technology Handbook, Second Edition focuses on air pollution control systems and outlines the basic process engineering and cost estimation required for its design.

More books about Air Pollution >>>

Water and Waste Treatment

Wastewater Treatment Process Modeling by Virginia Alexandria
Call Number: TD745.I58 2014
ISBN: 9780071798426
Publication Date: 2013-8-30
Wastewater Treatment Process Modeling, Second Edition, explains general modeling concepts andterminology and offers practical details on how to use process models for the design and operation of small, medium, and large water resource recovery facilities. This Water Environment Federation manual describes each step ofthe modeling process, including the fundamental math required, overviews of existing models and when to use them, modeling protocols, and how to interpret data.

More books about Waste and Water Treatment >>>

Hydraulic Engineering

Hydrology - An Introduction by Wilfried Brutsaert
ISBN: 9780521824798
Publication Date: 2009-12-03
This book presents a coherent introduction to the fundamental principles of hydrology, based on the course the author has taught at Cornell University for the last thirty years. Hydrologic phenomena are dealt with at spatial and temporal scales at which they occur in nature.

More books about Hydraulic Engineering >>>

Pollution

Handbook of Pollution Control and Waste Minimization by Abbas Ghassemi
ISBN: 9780429207747
Publication Date: 2001-9-11
Details the legal, organizational, hierarchical, and environmental components of pollution prevention and waste reduction. Illustrates fundamental concepts of pollution prevention, including life-cycle planning and analysis, risk-based pollution control, and industrial ecology.
Handbook of Environmental Analysis by Pradyot Patnaik
ISBN: 9781420065824
Publication Date: 2010-5-21
This book provides senior undergraduate students, master students and structural engineers who do not have a background in the field with core knowledge of structural earthquake engineering that will be invaluable in their professional lives. The basics of seismotectonics, including the causes, magnitude, and intensity of earthquakes, are first explained. Then the book introduces basic elements of seismic hazard analysis and presents the concept of a seismic hazard map for use in seismic design. Subsequent chapters cover key aspects of the response analysis of simple systems and building structures to earthquake ground motions, design spectrum, the adoption of seismic analysis procedures in seismic design codes, seismic design principles and seismic design of reinforced concrete structures. Helpful worked examples on seismic analysis of linear, nonlinear and base isolated buildings, earthquake-resistant design of frame and frame-shear wall systems are included, most of which can be solved using a hand calculator.

More books about Pollution >>>

Water Quality

Water Quality Control Handbook by E. Roberts Alley
ISBN: 9780071508704
Publication Date: 2007-12-01

More books about Water Quality >>>

Hydraulics

Basics of Hydraulic Systems by Qin Zhang
Call Number: QA76.9.D35M47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-22
Providing the fundamental knowledge on how a typical hydraulic system generates, delivers, and deploys fluid power, Basics of Hydraulic Systems highlights the key configuration features of the components that are needed to support their functionality in a system, such as operating principles, structural features, functionalities, and applications of core composing elements.

More books about Hydraulics >>>

Air Quality

Air Quality Management by Suresh T. Nesaratnam; Shahram Taherzadeh; Rod Barratt
ISBN: 9781118863886
Publication Date: 2014-3-7
Designed to accompany the new Open University course in Environmental Monitoring and Protection, this is one of four new titles which will equip the reader with the tools to undertake Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs).

More books about Air Quality >>>

Environmental Technology

Environmental Technology Resources Handbook by Daniel W. Gottlieb
ISBN: 9780429140747
Publication Date: 2002-9-27
This handbook guides the user to hundreds of technologies, practices, partnership opportunities, and funding resources. Presented in non-technical language, it covers hundreds of publicly available resources for pollution prevention, control, remediation, and assessment.

More books about Rock Mechanics >>>

Soil Mechanics

Soil Mechanics by NOVA Staff; Roberto Nova
Call Number: TK5102.83.M37 2016
Publication Date: 2010-07-19
Knowledge of the behavior of soil mechanics is essential for forecasting the internal displacements and actions of any construction. This book, although theoretical at first glance, also offers a more practical scope, giving readers adequate tools to plan geotechnical projects correctly.

More books about Soil Mechanics >>>

Waterways and Water Resources

Wastewater Engineering by George Tchobanoglous; Franklin L. Burton; H. David Stensel; Metcalf and Eddy, Inc. Staff
Publication Date: 2002-03-26
This text contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies, including biological treatment processes, and stresses the reuse aspect of wastewater and biosolids.

More books about Waterways and Water Resources >>>

Images

Professional Societies

American Academy of Environmental Engineers
Patrons of the Academy are organizations that are distinguished by providing financial support to the Academy's programs in addition to their engagement in specialty certification of their Engineers and Scientists. They are dedicated to a collaborative effort with the Academy in pursuit of Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science.
American Water Works Association
The American Water Works Association is an international, nonprofit, scientific and educational society dedicated to providing total water solutions assuring the effective management of water. Founded in 1881, the Association is the largest organization of water supply professionals in the world.
Water Environment Federation
The Water Environment Federation (WEF) is a not-for-profit technical and educational organization of 35,000 individual members and 75 affiliated Member Associations representing water quality professionals around the world. Since 1928, WEF and its members have protected public health and the environment.
American Association for Aerosol Research
The American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR) is a nonprofit professional organization for scientists and engineers who wish to promote and communicate technical advances in the field of aerosol research.
The Association fosters the exchange of information among members and with other disciplines through conferences, symposia, and publication of a professional journal, Aerosol Science and Technology (AS&T).
Air & Waste Management Association
Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization enhancing knowledge and expertise by providing a neutral forum for information exchange, professional development, networking opportunities, public education, and outreach to more than 5,000 environmental professionals in 65 countries. A&WMA promotes global environmental responsibility and increases the effectiveness of organizations to make critical decisions that benefit society.

Patents

UC Patents Guide
A comprehensive guide from UC Libraries about patent research, law, and resources.
USPTO Patent Full-Text Database
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. This database provides a quick search tool for patents from 1976 onward.
Free Patents Online
Patent search tool, IP synopsis, and topic-based patent articles.
Espacenet: Europe's Network of Patent Databases
Free access to over 110 million patent documents

Environmental Engineering Research Guide

Need Help?

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Environmental Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

Databases

Databases

Journals

Journals

Standards and Specifications

Standards and Specifications

CEAS Library also has a list of all Engineering Standards and Codes

Books

Books

Looking for Course Textbooks?

Aerosols

More books about Aerosols >>>

Air Pollution

More books about Air Pollution >>>

Water and Waste Treatment

More books about Waste and Water Treatment >>>

Hydraulic Engineering

More books about Hydraulic Engineering >>>

Pollution

More books about Pollution >>>

Water Quality

More books about Water Quality >>>

Hydraulics

More books about Hydraulics >>>

Air Quality

More books about Air Quality >>>

Environmental Technology

More books about Rock Mechanics >>>

Soil Mechanics

More books about Soil Mechanics >>>

Waterways and Water Resources

More books about Waterways and Water Resources >>>

Images

Professional Societies

Patents

Patents

Return to Other pages

Return to CEAS Library

Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides