Research Guides: SPIA: Global Religion and Poltics: Home

Welcome

This guide provides resources addressing how “Different relationships between religion and the state impact everything from marriage, to science education, to minority rights.”

Please refer to your professor for questions related to the assignment.

Starting Research at UC Libraries

Advanced Search Strategies

Keywords
AND, OR, NOT * and "..."
Author Searching
Look for review articles
Footnote chasing/Using Bibliographies
Citation Tracking (Web of Science & Scopus)
Keep track of where you've looked and what keywords you used

Global Religion and Politics Search Strategies Worksheet
Keep track of sources and search strategies with this worksheet.
Search Summon
Search all library resources in one place.
Catalog
Search for books, articles, and journals in the library catalog.
Interlibrary Loan
When you come accross an article that is not available online or in print at UC Libraries, you can submit an interlibrary loan. Depending on the request, it can take less than a day and up to a few days to get an item. Articles will be emailed to your UC email address.

Where to find Multidiscplinary Research

Many of the articles identified by using these databases will be available in full-text pdf format. Use Article Linker if that is not the case. Use the ILL option if Article Linker does not take you to an alternative access point for the full-text of the article.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

From here, you can select specific subject-related databases.
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
PAIS (ProQuest)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.

Political Science Library Guide
Comprehensive research guide to political science resources at UC libraries.

Where to find journal articles for different area studies (Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, etc)

CPI.Q (Gale OneFIle)
Provides comprehensive Canadian and international periodical coverage¸ with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries. Indexed periodical coverage from 1988 to the present; fulltext periodical coverage from 1995 to the present¸ and information from Gale science¸ biography and geography databases. Also¸ fulltext of selected sections of the Globe and mail¸ Canada's national newspaper¸ from 1997 to the present.
Coverage: Full Text: 1988 - present
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books¸ book chapters¸ articles¸ and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
Coverage: 1936 - present
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Online)
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with complete coverage spanning more than 25 years¸ from 1970 to the present. The database contains over 200¸000 citations from 400 humanities and social science journals published worldwide. Most of the journals covered by HAPI are not comprehensively indexed elsewhere¸ although many articles from these journals are selectively included in HLAS.
1970 - present

Where to find Journals covering Religious Topics

ATLA Religion Database
(Formerly Religion Index) ATLA Religion Database¸ produced by the America Theological Society¸ is a comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. It contains more than one million citations from 1¸400+ international journal titles and 14¸000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies.
Coverage: 1949 - present
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam¸ the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies¸ which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications¸ with some going back to 1906.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, all sources of research content in philosophy are monitored, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.

Where to Find Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present

Citing Your Sources

Citing Your Sources
Library guide on citing sources.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use¸ providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools¸ such as sample forms¸ letters¸ and style sheets.

Books

Routledge Handbook of Freedom of Religion or Belief by Silvio Ferrari (Editor); Mark Hill QC (Editor); Arif A. Jamal (Editor); Rossella. Bottoni (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203732625
Publication Date: 2020-11-29