The purpose of this guide is to provide you with access to the most useful sources for your Human Rights Quarterly cite checking.
If cite checking, pulling sources, or researching in secondary sources, you may find confusing abbreviations used in the footnotes. Use the following selected resources to help you identify the sources being abbreviated.
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
Generally the go-to source for American legal abbreviations, although it covers more.
The Bluebook by
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations by
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations by
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, The Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules.
Noble's revised international guide to the law reports by
Covers U.S., U.K., and international reporters.
Index to legal citations and abbreviations by
Covers abbreviations used in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, Europe, and the United States.
Latin American Legal Abbreviations by
This first comprehensive letter by letter dictionary of Latin American legal abbreviations includes abbreviations for government agencies, organizations, periodicals, and other publications relating to law. All entries are translated from Spanish and Portuguese into English.
World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
This four volume set provides the definitions of common and civil law terms, with translations. Arranged by language group, by country, by subject.
