Research Guides: Japanese Language, Culture, and Literature: Japanese language and culture

Books

In the UC Collection

The Japanese Language and Literature Collection is located in Langsam Library on 6 East. The call numbers for publications on the Japanese language are PL 501-699 and on the Japanese literature PL 700-889. All items in the collection are cataloged in the UC Library Catalog.

Less commonly used Japanese materials are located in Southwest Depository, a.k.a. SWORD. When searching the Library Catalog, if you find that a book is located at SW Depository or SWORD, click on “Request Item,”fill out the form, and the book will be delivered to the library of your choice.

Selected subject headings

Catalog records for " Japanese language -- Grammar"
Catalog records for " Japanese language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers"
Catalog records for " Japanese language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers -- English." Additional result
Catalog subject headings for "Japanese literature"

Other catalogs

Journals, magazines, and newspapers

Print periodicals

Catalog search results for " Japan -- Periodicals."

Selected online periodicals

Japanese language and literature
"Japanese Language and Literature publishes contributions in the areas of Japanese literary studies, Japanese linguistics, and Japanese language and literature pedagogy, as well as articles from other disciplines that help interpret or define the problems of Japanese literary history, literary or linguistic study, or classroom practice."
Japan Forum
Provides scholarly articles on Japanese culture & history.
Journal of Asian Studies
"For 56 years, The Journal of Asian Studies has been recognized as the most authoritative and prestigious publication in the field of Asian Studies. This quarterly has been published regularly since November 1941, offering Asianists a wealth of information unavailable elsewhere. Each issue contains four to five feature articles on topics involving the history, arts, social sciences, philosophy, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section." (From JSTOR)
Monumenta nipponica
"Founded in 1938 and published semiannually by Sophia University, Monumenta Nipponica (MN) is one of the oldest English-language academic journals in the field of Asian studies. As a peer-reviewed international forum for researchers across the globe, it carries original scholarly contributions on premodern and modern history, literature, art history, religion, and thought; translations of important Japanese literary and historical sources; and authoritative reviews of recent books on Japan." (From JSTOR)

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.
Project MUSE
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present

Refence Databases

Go to "World Edition" and browse to the region or select a country from the drop-down menu or by clicking on the map.

Global Road Warrior
Covers 175 countries. Includes information about: country facts¸ climate¸ society and culture¸ business culture¸ demographics¸ money and banking¸ travel essentials¸ business capitals¸ points of interest¸ security briefing¸ health and medical¸ transportation¸ communications¸ business services¸ technical/internet¸ electrical¸ embassies/consulates and maps.

Select a country from the drop-down menu or by clicking on the map.

The World Factbook (CIA)
Basic facts and statistics about countries.

Selected Dictionaries

See also catalog records for Japanese language -- Dictionaries -- English

English language -- Dictionaries -- Japanese

A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors by Alexander Jacoby; Donald Richie (Foreword by)
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks PN1998.2 .J29 2008
ISBN: 9781933330532
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The author examines the works of over 150 filmmakers to uncover what makes their films worth watching.
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan by J. A. A. Stockwin
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks JQ1605 .S86 2003
ISBN: 0415151708
Publication Date: 2003-06-24
Containing an introductory essay, an essay on theories of Japanese politics and over 250 A-Z entries, the Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan brings together information and authoritative analysis on all aspects of the politics of Japan and the Japanese political system.
Historical dictionary of Japan to 1945 by Kenneth Henshall
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780810878723
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Historical Dictionary of Japan to 1945 spans the entire period from the earliest evidence of human habitation in Japan through to the end of the Pacific War. It includes substantial topics such as cultural and literary history, economic history, industrial history, political history, and so forth.
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Business by Stuart D. B. Picken; Jon Woronoff (Editor)
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks HF3824 .P53 2007
ISBN: 0810854694
Publication Date: 2007-01-29
In this first volume of a new series, the chair of the Japan Society of Scotland has compiled a volume that provides insights into what has made Japan an economic giant. Picken, who has been an instructor and administrator at universities in Japan, presents a chronology tracing the evolution of the Japanese success story, an overview of Japanese cu
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre by Samuel L. Leiter
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks PN2921 .L45 2006
ISBN: 0810855275
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
This comprehensive reference work covers all four forms of traditional Japanese theatre: no, kyogen, bunraku, and kabuki. International tours by each have become commonplace, allowing audiences everywhere to broaden their understanding of theatre's possibilities, and inspiring artists to infuse their works with ideas sparked by Japanese theatre's conventions. Because of the great interest generated by increasing familiarity with these theatre traditions, along with a multitude of general and specialized publications investigating and describing them, there has developed a serious need for a work that allows for immediate access to specific information regarding many concepts, terms, and individuals. The Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre covers all four genres, providing information on nearly every aspect, including actors, theatres, companies, history, makeup, costumes, masks, biographies, theories, training, music, religion, criticism, and many more. This is done through hundreds of dictionary entries arranged alphabetically with abundant cross-references, a general introduction, a chronology, and a special glossary of all terms mentioned in the text but not provided with their own entries, all of which can be supplemented by consulting the most extensive bibliography of English-language Japanese theatre books, articles, and websites presently available."
Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater by J. Scott Miller
Call Number: LANGSAM Reference PL716 .M47 2009
ISBN: 9780810858107
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater presents a broad perspective on the development and history of literature narrative, poetry, and drama in modern Japan. This book offers a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, literary and historical developments, trends, genres, and concepts that played a central role in the evolution of modern Japanese literature.
NTC's Dictionary of Japan's Cultural Code Words by Boye Lafayette De Mente; National Textbook Company Staff
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks DS821 .D467 1994
ISBN: 0844283916
Publication Date: 1994-01-11
Japanologist Boye Lafayetette De Mente discusses the change of psychology of the social and political system that evolved over the centuries.

Encyclopedias

See also catalog records for " Japan -- Encyclopedias"

The Anime Encyclopedia by Jonathan Clements; Helen McCarthy
Call Number: DAAP Reference NC1766.J3 C53 2006
ISBN: 1933330104
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Anime releases, creators (like Tezuka and Otomo) and genres ("Early Anime," "Science Fiction and Robots," etc.).
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture by Yoshio Sugimoto (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521880473
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
This Companion provides a comprehensive overview of the influences that have shaped modern-day Japan. Spanning one and a half centuries, this volume covers topics such as technology, food, nationalism and rise of anime and manga in the visual arts.
The Dorama Encyclopedia by Jonathan Clements; Motoko Tamamuro
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks PN1992.3.J3 C58 2003
ISBN: 1880656817
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Deeply connected to Japanese anime, manga, music, and film is . . . Japanese TV. This encyclopedic survey of the next cultural tsunami to hit America has over one thousand entries--including production data, synopses, and commentaries--on everything from rubber-monster shows to samurai drama, from crime to horror, unlocking an entire culture's pop history as never before. Over one hundred fifty of these shows have been broadcast on American TV, and more will follow, perhaps even such oddball fare as a Japanese "The Practice" and "Geisha Detective." Indexed, with resources for fans, couch potatoes, and researchers. Jonathan Clements is contributing editor to Newtype USA Magazine and coauthor of The Anime Encyclopedia. Motoko Tamamuro is an art historian and contributor to Manga Max.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by Sandra Buckley (Editor)
Call Number: LANGSAM Reference DS822.5 .E516 2002
ISBN: 0415143446
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
Offering extensive coverage, this Encyclopedia is a new reference that reflects the vibrant, diverse and evolving culture of modern Japan, spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945 to the present day. Entries cover areas such as literature, film, architecture, food, health, political economy, religion and technology and they range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer overview essays giving an in-depth treatment of major issues. With over 700 alphabetically arranged entries, this Encyclopedia will be an invaluable reference tool for students of Japanese and Asian Studies, as well as providing a fascinating insight into Japanese culture for the general reader. Suggestions for further reading, a comprehensive system of cross-referencing, a thematic contents list and an extensive index all help navigate the reader around the Encyclopedia and on to further study.
Encyclopedia of Japanese Business and Management by Allan Bird (Editor)
Call Number: LANGSAM Reference HF1001 .E467 2002
ISBN: 0415189454
Publication Date: 2001-12-28
This text is a comprehensive reference source for the exploration of Japanese business and management. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of this field, the encyclopaedia consolidates and contextualises the leading research and knowledge about the Japanese business system and Japanese management thought and practice. It is designed for scholar and student alike as a resource for teaching, independent study, and wider exploration.
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre by Samuel L. Leiter
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks PN2921 .L45 2006
ISBN: 0810855275
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
This comprehensive reference work covers all four forms of traditional Japanese theatre: no, kyogen, bunraku, and kabuki. International tours by each have become commonplace, allowing audiences everywhere to broaden their understanding of theatre's possibilities, and inspiring artists to infuse their works with ideas sparked by Japanese theatre's conventions. Because of the great interest generated by increasing familiarity with these theatre traditions, along with a multitude of general and specialized publications investigating and describing them, there has developed a serious need for a work that allows for immediate access to specific information regarding many concepts, terms, and individuals. The Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre covers all four genres, providing information on nearly every aspect, including actors, theatres, companies, history, makeup, costumes, masks, biographies, theories, training, music, religion, criticism, and many more. This is done through hundreds of dictionary entries arranged alphabetically with abundant cross-references, a general introduction, a chronology, and a special glossary of all terms mentioned in the text but not provided with their own entries, all of which can be supplemented by consulting the most extensive bibliography of English-language Japanese theatre books, articles, and websites presently available."
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock Prints by Amy Reigle Newland (Editor)
Call Number: DAAP Oversize NE1310 .H68 2005
ISBN: 9074822657
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock Prints will serve as a source of quick reference as well as an in-depth study of all aspects of Japanese prints from the Edo (1600-1868) to Taish (1912-26) periods. The first section of The Hotei Encyclopedia is divided into four main subject areas: historical background, the art history of Ukiyo-e prints, print production (materials and techniques, the publishing trade) and the history of collecting Japanese prints, with a shorter fifth section on conservation. Each subject area contains a longer survey article which is accompanied by shorter essays that highlight specific topics pertaining to Japanese prints and their development. The second section of the book comprises an extensive alphabetical listing of well over a 2000 carefully cross-referenced entries on individual print designers and schools, publishers, carvers, printers and collectors, major Kabuki actors, materials and techniques, conservation, subject-matter/iconography, literature and miscellaneous print-related terminology. This is followed by various appendices, including such aspects as seals of publishers and carvers, signatures, maps and chronological tables. With this ambitious project Hotei Publishing hopes to fill the gap for an extensive reference work and introduction to Japanese prints, one that will prove a valuable resource for teachers and students, art collectors, librarians and interested lay-people alike.
Japan Business by Christine Genzberger
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks HF3827 .J37 1994
ISBN: 0963186426
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Japanese flower arrangement : classical and modern by Norman J. Sparnon
Call Number: SW Depository biol S450 .S63 1960
Publication Date: 1960
Japanese-Inspired Gardens by Patricia Jonas (Editor); Brooklyn Botanic Garden Botanists Staff
Call Number: LLOYD Reference SB1 .P56 no.162-167
ISBN: 1889538205
Publication Date: 2001-12-31
From the renowned Brooklyn Botanic Garden -- called "the premier horticultural attraction in the region" by The New York Times and visited by more than 750,000 people each year eager to see its world-famous displays of plants from every climate and locale -- come these spectacularly photographed and highly acclaimed guides. They're gold mines of practical and inspirational information for gardeners everywhere! Compact, wonderfully readable, and written by the young pioneers who put North American gardens on the map, they're full of ideas on how to make your cultivated plot of land beautiful and blooming. And the brilliant images on every page will make you feel as if you've stepped right into the garden! The Brooklyn Botanic Garden's magnificent Japanese garden, with more than 200 trees of some 40 varieties, is the most renowned outside of Japan. They understand that it takes more than just that addition of a lantern or a bridge to master this 1400-year-old landscape tradition. With lavish illustrations and unequalled advice, their experts will show you how to design a dazzling Japanese space.
The kabuki theatre
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks PN2921 .E7 1956
Publication Date: 1956
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy by Robert C. Hsu
Call Number: LANGSAM Stacks HC462.9 .H73 1999
ISBN: 0262082802
Publication Date: 1999-10-14
A Pictorial encyclopedia of the Oriental arts by Kadokawa Shoten
Call Number: DAAP Reference N7262 .P5
Publication Date: 1969-

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>