Research Guides: Language Resources: Home

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to provide an overview of resources on languages and cultures in the UC Libraries collections. The guides cover most languages offered at UC for foreign language credits.

Online foreign languages/multilingual dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries (UC only)
alphaDictionary.com
"The alphaDictionary language resource site, that offers a wide variety of language materials intended to help its visitors learn and master anything they need to know about their native language or other languages. It has an archive of language jokes, language games, and lots of English language resources."
Lexicool
A directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.
WordReference.com
Free online bilingual dictionaries and tools.

Multilingual dictionaries in UC Libraries collection

Library Catalog results list for "Dictionaries, Polyglot."

Encyclopedias

Facts about the World's Languages by Jane Garry (Editor); Carl Rubino (Editor); Adams B. Bodomo (Editor); Alice Faber (Editor); Robert French (Editor)
Call Number: Langsam Reference P371 .F33 2000
ISBN: 0824209702
Publication Date: 2001-09-30
An authoritative source of rich, structured data for both the general public and linguistic experts. Each of the 191 chapters is written by an expert and devoted to a single language. Three indexes are included for cross reference:
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by Michael Byram (Editor); Adelheid Hu (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1299715508
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This authoritative reference source offers a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level.
The older edition is available in print: in Langsam stacks (P51 .R66 2000 _

See also catalog records for " Language and languages -- Encyclopedias"

Online ibrary resource for language learning

Transparent Language

Access this resource through Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library Language Resources page.

Free web resources for language learning

alphaDictionary Language Directory
Online dictionaries and grammars for over 300 languages.
bab.la
"The bab.la language portal offers you dictionary translations, language quizzes & games, vocabulary lessons for learning and much more. bab.la is interactive: You can enter your own translation, create your own language test or your own vocabulary flashcard set. "
BBC Languages
Links to language courses, tips and stories, tips for teachers and tutors and more.
CARLA (Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition)
"CARLA is one of the U.S. Department of Education's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively." CARLA and the LCTL project have devoloped sharable material (both raw material and exercises) for a number of languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Japanese, and Swahili.
Coffee Break Languages
"Make your downtime your "do" time and learn a new language in your coffee break."
LangMedia
"With an emphasis on less-commonly taught languages, LangMedia has a special mission to provide learners with examples of linguistic and cultural diversity worldwide. "
Languages on The Web
The site teaches all languages through the parallel text system, AKA the side-by-side method.
Lexicool
A directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.
Verbix
"The site contains verb conjugations for hundred languages, ranging from national and international languages to regional and even extinct languages."
Word2Word Language Resources
"This site is dedicated to breaking down of language barriers and assisting the users who have the desire to learn a language, a need to communicate between languages, and for those who work with languages as a profession.” Use the drop-down menu on the home page to go to subsections on Online Dictionaries and Translators , Free Online Language Courses, Free Online Translation Services, etc.