The URLs in the navigation bar within these databases can be used as permalinks:
1. If you cannot locate a permalink with the UC proxy information (https://uc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=), but can find the DOI, be sure to add the proxy at the beginning of the URL so that UC individuals will be able to access the resource.
For example:
2. You cannot have a permalink to a resource to which we do not have access. These resources will need to be requested through the Interlibrary Loan Service.
Permalinks or permanent links are URLs that are stable links that remain unchanged. Permalinks allow faculty and students to share links that go directly to a particular result within a database.
First, using permalinks ensures that you are not violating copyright. Many of our databases do not allow the distribution of PDFs so sharing the link ensures proper use. Second, many permalinks provide a more accessible option - some even link to the HTML, PDF, and audio versions of an article. Lastly, these are more or less permanent thus providing seamless access to the resource.
Permalink location varies between databases. It is uncommon that the URL located in the navigation bar however this is not universally true. Use the boxes below to learn about common locations of these links. If you need assistance locating permalinks contact your subject librarian.
UC Libraries provides access to over 100 EBSCO databases. A few popular of these being: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Education Research Complete, and MEDLINE.
To find the permalink:
When you are looking for an article outside of an EBSCO database, it is best practice to use the UC Article Linker button to link to the full text.
***If the DOI does not include the UC proxy (https://uc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=) you will need to add this in. The UC proxy allows for any UC individual to access the article by logging in with their central login and password. For example:
