Research Guides: Political Science &amp; Law Basics: Home

What's in this Guide?

Welcome to the Political Science and Law Basics LibGuide!

This research guide was created by UC librarians from Langsam Library, UC Blue Ash, and UC Clermont. It is meant to serve a general, multi-disciplinary group of users interested in political science topics.

On this guide you will find quick links to Political Science and Legal databases and starting places to begin your Political Science and Legal research.

For more in depth research, please visit the following pages:

UC Law Library Research Guides and Tutorials

Political Science Databases

PAIS (ProQuest)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
CQ Electronic Library
CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government¸ politics¸ history¸ public policy¸ and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection¸ CQ Researcher¸ CQ Supreme Court Collection¸ CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly.
Coverage: varies by database
International Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)¸ produced by the International Political Science Association¸ includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 262¸700 records from over 1000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Approximately 8¸000 new records are added to the database each year.
Coverage: 1951 - present

Legal Databases

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.
Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected¸ scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues¸ studies¸ thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Coverage: 1965 - present