General/Multidisciplinary
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
Specialized
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive annual subject-author guide to music literature. Published since 1949, The Music Index contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Coverage: 1976 - present
Tip:
to find specific document types (for example, an interview or a music review) select the appropriate document type from the menu in the search form, if applicable (see illustration below), or type it in the search box as one of the search terms, for example:
Beyonce and interview
"the chainsmokers" and "music review"
See also tips for searching the catalog.
Illustration: fragment of the Academic Search Complete search form with the "Document type" limit
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today's user. It includes: 600¸000+ biographies covering more than 525¸000 individuals¸ 50¸000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events¸ integrated reference material¸ periodical information and multimedia content¸ plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies
Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability¸ for the first time ever¸ to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online¸ Grove Music Online¸ has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content.
Suggested search strategies and tips:
"popular music" and criticism
hip hop and language
Subject search results for hip hop.
Tip: use the filters under "Content type" (make sure to click "More..." to get a variety of genres/formats).
