Home - SPIA - Global Political Economy - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

Welcome

This guide provides links to library resources for conducting research that examines “…the production of and resistances to global inequalities through critical, and especially feminist/postcolonial, perspectives on the global political economy (GPE). It focuses on critiques of colonial and capitalist orders as modes of unjust accumulation and reimagines how to apprehend the global political economy beyond states and markets.”

Starting Research at UC Libraries

Advanced Search Strategies

Keywords
AND, OR, NOT * and "..."
Author Searching
Look for review articles
Footnote chasing/Using Bibliographies
Citation Tracking (Web of Science & Scopus)
Keep track of where you've looked and what keywords you used

Global Political Economy Search Strategies Worksheet
Keep track of sources and search strategies with this worksheet.
Search Summon
Search all library resources in one place.
Catalog
Search for books, articles, and journals in the library catalog.

Academic Search Complete
Database of peer-reviewed journals, reports, and conference proceedings. Searching the database pulls from many areas of academic study. If you want to narrow your your database to a specific research area, click on "Select Databases" from the top of the screen. From there you can select specific research databases:
Alternative Press Index
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Chicano Database
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Fuente Academia
Index Islamicus

Citing Your Sources

Citing Your Sources
Library guide on citing sources.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use¸ providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools¸ such as sample forms¸ letters¸ and style sheets.

Where to find Journals for Political Science, Business, and Economics

Many of the articles identified by using these databases will be available in full-text pdf format. Use Article Linker if that is not the case. Use the ILL option if Article Linker does not take you to an alternative access point for the full-text of the article.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.
PAIS (ProQuest)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present
Business Source Complete
Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Coverage: 1886 - present

Political Science Library Guide
Comprehensive research guide to political science resources at UC libraries.

Where to find journal articles for different area studies (Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, etc)

CPI.Q (Gale OneFIle)
Provides comprehensive Canadian and international periodical coverage¸ with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries. Indexed periodical coverage from 1988 to the present; fulltext periodical coverage from 1995 to the present¸ and information from Gale science¸ biography and geography databases. Also¸ fulltext of selected sections of the Globe and mail¸ Canada's national newspaper¸ from 1997 to the present.
Coverage: Full Text: 1988 - present
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books¸ book chapters¸ articles¸ and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
Coverage: 1936 - present
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Online)
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with complete coverage spanning more than 25 years¸ from 1970 to the present. The database contains over 200¸000 citations from 400 humanities and social science journals published worldwide. Most of the journals covered by HAPI are not comprehensively indexed elsewhere¸ although many articles from these journals are selectively included in HLAS.
1970 - present

Research current topics through news articles

UC Libraries News and Current Awareness Resources
Newspaper articles can provide a useful source of information, serving as a primary source of information about historical and current events.

Course Texts

Cannibal Capitalism by Nancy Fraser
ISBN: 9781839761256
Publication Date: 2022
Men of Money: Elite Masculinities and the Neoliberal Project by Lynn Horton
ISBN: 9781786613738
Publication Date: 2022
Globalization and Social Movements by Valentine M. Moghadam
ISBN: 9781538108734
Publication Date: 2020-02-17
What is the connection between globalization and social movements? How have people collectively responded to globalization's economic, political, and cultural manifestations and challenges? And how are contemporary social movements and networks affecting the progression of globalization? This clear and concise book answers these questions by examining social movements and transnational networks in the context of globalization in all its forms--economic, political, cultural, and technological alike. Deftly combining nuanced theory with rich empirical examples, leading scholar Valentine M. Moghadam provides four in-depth case studies: global feminism and transnational feminist networks; global Islamism ranging from parliamentary to extremist; the global justice movement and the World Social Forum; and varieties and gender dynamics of populisms. In a new chapter, she draws attention to the emergence and growth of right-wing populist movements, political parties, and governments, not only in Europe but in the Global South as well. Defining globalization as a complex process in which the movement of capital, peoples, organizations, movements, and ideas takes on an increasingly international form, the author shows how growing physical and electronic mobility has helped to create dynamic global social movements. Exploring the historical roots of Islamism, feminism, global justice, and populism, Moghadam also shows how these movements have been stimulated by relatively recent globalization processes. She reveals their similarities and differences, internal differentiation, relationship to globalization and states, and the opportunities and challenges that the movements face. Assessing the extent to which the movements contribute to democracy, or--conversely--endanger it, she considers prospects for a renewed and more robust form of democracy. Informed by feminist, world-systems, world polity, and social movement theories in a seamlessly integrated framework, her work will be essential reading for all students of globalization.
Engendering Development by Amy Trauger; Jennifer L. Fluri
ISBN: 9781351819800
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
Engendering Development demonstrates how gender is a form of inequality that is used to generate global capitalist development. It charts the histories of gender, race, class, sexuality and nationality as categories of inequality under imperialism, which continue to support the accumulation of capital in the global economy today. The textbook draws on feminist and critical development scholarship to provide insightful ways of understanding and critiquing capitalist economic trajectories by focusing on the way development is enacted and protested by men and women. It incorporates analyses of the lived experiences in the global north and south in place-specific ways. Taking a broad perspective on development, Engendering Development draws on textured case studies from the authors' research and the work of geographers and feminist scholars. The cases demonstrate how gendered, raced and classed subjects have been enrolled in global capitalism, and how individuals and communities resist, embrace and rework development efforts. This textbook starts from an understanding of development as global capitalism that perpetuates and benefits from gendered, raced and classed hierarchies. The book will prove to be useful to advanced undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in courses on development through its critical approach to development conveyed with straightforward arguments, detailed case studies, accessible writing and a problem-solving approach based on lived experiences.