Research Guides: SPIA Feminist International Politics: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for Feminist International Politics. This guide will provide you with the resources necessary to complete your research process. Please consult with your professor for questions regarding the assignment.

Starting Research at UC Libraries

Advanced Search Strategies

Keywords
AND, OR, NOT * and "..."
Author Searching
Look for review articles
Footnote chasing/Using Bibliographies
Citation Tracking (Web of Science & Scopus)
Keep track of where you've looked and what keywords you used

FIP Search Strategies Worksheet
Keep track of sources and search strategies with this worksheet.
Search Summon
Search all library resources in one place.

Academic Search Complete
Database of peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings. Searching the database pulls from many areas of academic study. If you want to narrow your database to your research area, click on "select databases" from the top of the screen.
From there you can select specific research databases:
Alternative Press Database
Gender Studies Database
Womens Studies International
Chicano Database
Bibiliography of Asian Studies
Fuente Academia
Index Islamicus

Catalog
Search for books, articles, and journals in the library catalog.

Citing Your Sources

Citing Your Sources
Library guide on citing sources.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use¸ providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools¸ such as sample forms¸ letters¸ and style sheets.

Handbooks available at UC Libraries

Routledge Handbook of Gender and Security by Caron E. Gentry (Editor); Laura J. Shepherd (Editor); Laura Sjoberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315525099
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
This handbook provides a comprehensive look at the study of gender and security in global politics. The volume is based on the core argument that gender is conceptually necessary to thinking about central questions of security; analytically important for thinking about cause and effect in security; and politically important for considering possibilities of making the world better in the future. Contributions to the volume look at various aspects of studying gender and security through diverse lenses that engage diverse feminisms, with diverse policy concerns, and working with diverse theoretical contributions from scholars of security more broadly. It is grouped into four thematic sections: Gendered approaches to security (including theoretical, conceptual, and methodological approaches); Gendered insecurities in global politics (including the ways insecurity in global politics is distributed and read on the basis of gender); Gendered practices of security (including how policy practice and theory work together, or do not); Gendered security institutions (across a wide variety of spaces and places in global politics). This handbook will be of great interest to students of gender studies, security studies and IR in general.
Handbook on Gender in World Politics by Jill Steans (Editor); Daniela Tepe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781783470624
Publication Date: 2016-07-29
The Handbook on Gender in World Politics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary compendium of scholarship in gender studies. The text provides an indispensable reference guide for scholars and students interrogating gender issues in international and global contexts. Substantive areas covered include: statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities.

NGO Databases

IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF's periodicals¸ books¸ working papers and studies¸ and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics¸ globalization¸ development¸ trade and aid¸ technical assistance¸ demographics¸ emerging markets¸ policy advice¸ poverty reduction¸ and so much more.
Coverage: Current and Retrospective

Think Tanks

Think Tank Search Engine
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.

Research current topics through news articles

UC Libraries News and Current Awareness Resources
Newspaper articles can provide a useful source of information, serving as a primary source of information about historical and current events.

Where to find Political, International Affairs, and Legal Articles

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month¸ as are conference proceedings¸ policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources¸ the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
Coverage: Full Text; 1991 - present
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.
PAIS (ProQuest)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive (now PAIS ProQuest). PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990¸ at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more. PAIS (formerly PAIS Archive) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin¸ volumes 1-62¸ published 1915-1976. PAIS (ProQuest)contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs¸ periodical articles¸ notes and announcements¸ and analytics. Coverage: 1914-present

Where to Find Women and Gender Studies Articles

GenderWatch
Full text collection of journals¸ magazines¸ newsletters¸ regional publications¸ books¸ booklets and pamphlets¸ conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) is an international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working¸ teaching¸ studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies. Each issue of Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) gives the reader up-to-date news of developments within this field. All the major international journals and books are scanned and other original sources and cataloguing services regularly searched for appropriate items. Abstracts are prepared by an international team of experts¸ are non-evaluative in form and are accompanied by detailed bibliographical citations. The database comprises abstracts from the journal¸ dating back to 1995. Abstracts are linked¸ where possible¸ to full-text services. Coverage: 1995 - Present

WGSS Research Guide
Full list of WGSS resources available at UC Libraries

Where to find articles on different area studies (Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern, etc)

CPI.Q (Gale OneFIle)
Provides comprehensive Canadian and international periodical coverage¸ with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries. Indexed periodical coverage from 1988 to the present; fulltext periodical coverage from 1995 to the present¸ and information from Gale science¸ biography and geography databases. Also¸ fulltext of selected sections of the Globe and mail¸ Canada's national newspaper¸ from 1997 to the present.
Coverage: Full Text: 1988 - present
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books¸ book chapters¸ articles¸ and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
Coverage: 1936 - present
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Online)
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with complete coverage spanning more than 25 years¸ from 1970 to the present. The database contains over 200¸000 citations from 400 humanities and social science journals published worldwide. Most of the journals covered by HAPI are not comprehensively indexed elsewhere¸ although many articles from these journals are selectively included in HLAS.
1970 - present