Research Guides: Government and Law: Home

Best Bets

Govinfo.gov
GovInfo replaces the Federal Digital System (FDsys) and is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, Congressional bills, Congressional hearings and reports, and laws.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.
Homeland Security Digital LIbrary
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School¸ searchable by keyword or by topic¸ including general U.S. policy documents¸ national strategy documents¸ theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School¸ and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security¸ and news items drawn from various news sources.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents of more than 18,000 federal laws enacted since 1929. The fully-searchable PDFs include full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous publications that provide background information related to the making of the law.

Legal Databases

CQ Electronic Library
CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government¸ politics¸ history¸ public policy¸ and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection¸ CQ Researcher¸ CQ Supreme Court Collection¸ CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly.
Coverage: varies by database
HeinOnline
One of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.
Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (MOML)
This database contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. This product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

United States Government Documents

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Provides an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. When available¸ links are provided to the full-text of these publications. Coverage begins with July 1976. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s¸ making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications. Coverage: 1976 – present [catalog description]
Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.[Site Description]
CQ Electronic Library CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government¸ politics¸ history¸ public policy¸ and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection¸ CQ Researcher¸ CQ Supreme Court Collection¸ CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly. Coverage: varies by database [Site Description] See also National Journal
CRS Reports Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Congressional Research Service CRS Reports provide extensive background information on the development of legislative issues. Published by the Congressional Research Service¸ members of Congress and their staff rely on CRS Reports to inform and shape their understanding of the issues¸ now available in this database. CRS Reports offers the most comprehensive collection available¸ dating to 1993. Coverage: 1993-Present [Catalog Description]
Digital National Security Archives The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 63¸000 of the most important¸ declassified documents - totaling more than 488¸144 pages - are included in the database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. [Catalog Description]
Government Documents Information
Government Documents Research Guides
Govinfo [United States Government Publishing Office] Govinfo.gov is a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. [Site Description] See also GPO Monthly Catalog; MarciveWeb DOCS
GPO Monthly Catalog Records published by the U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) since July 1976. Includes references to congressional reports¸ debates and executive department documents. Coverage: 1976 – present [Site Description] See also: govinfo,gov; MarciveWeb DOCS
MarciveWeb DOCS Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Marcive Web DOCS Express Search Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. Coverage: 1976 – present [Site Description] See also Govinfo.gov; GPO Catalog
National Journal Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: (formerly, National Journal Group's Policy Central) The National Journal database is a comprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community. [Site Description] See also CQ Electronic Library
ProQuest Congressional Publications Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Law Provides daily updated information¸ including full text of bills starting in 1989¸ public laws starting in 1988¸ committee reports starting in 1990¸ House and Senate documents starting in 1995¸ Congressional hearings starting in 1987-88¸ Congressional Record starting in 1985¸ Federal Register starting in 1980¸ National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information. Users can search an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present¸ retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970¸ find testimony from congressional hearings¸ track bills as they move through the House and Senate¸ search the Congressional Record and Federal Register¸ locate information about members and committees¸ and search the National Journal. [Site Description]
Supreme Court of the United States Official Supreme Court web page. Includes opinions, filing & rules, oral arguments, and case documents. See also U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Law Library Assistance
University of Michigan Library Research Guide Government, Politics & Law
U.S. Declassified Documents Online U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides access to previously classified federal records in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database, including: intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The search and discovery interface for the collection allows researchers to locate the full text of documents and quickly filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics. [Catalog Description]
U.S. Documents Masterfile Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Public Documents Masterfile A comprehensive electronic guide to federal¸ state¸ local¸ and international public documents. Consolidates¸ in digital form¸ several traditional print indexes¸ including¸ Indexes to the GPO Monthly Catalog 1895-1976¸ GPO shelflist records 1789-1976¸ and Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States¸ 1774-1881. Post 1976 records are also included from the cataloging records of the Government Printing Office. Offers federated searching through all sources by keyword¸ title¸ agency¸ or SuDoc number. Links to online publications are also included. [Site Description]
U.S. Federal Agency Histories The PEP ’s Agency Histories collection is a hub linking web pages that almost 250 federal agencies have created about their own histories. [Site Description]
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs This database contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. The collection is derived from two essential reference sources.[Site Description] See Also U.S. Supreme Court

State and Local Government Documents

Local Government Research
by Susan Boland Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 110 views this year

Cincinnati, Hamilton County, and State of Ohio Government Resources

City of Cincinnati
City of Cincinnati Municipal Code
Read the Disclaimer
Hamilton County Ohio
Hamilton County Board of Elections
State of Ohio
Ohio Attorney General
Ohio Constitution, Revised Code and Administrative Code
Urban Studies Resources at University of Cincinnati
Access archival materials related to Cincinnati Politics and government from the 20th and 21st centuries.

Hannah Capitol Connection
Ohio leglislative and governmental information service¸ including bill tracking¸ the full text of bills¸ the administrative code and revised code¸ committee rosters¸ and legislator information
Coverage: 1986-

Foreign and International Organization Government Documents

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Access UN
Find-eR
The catalogue of the European Commission libraries connects you to data, information and research on EU integration and policies, law, economics, politics, international relations and more.
ASEAN Library and Archives
ASEC Resource Centre comprises two sections – the Library and the Archives – ARC Library is a special Library which focusing on ASEAN and related matters. The Archives meanwhile acts as the repository of ASEAN documents.

Additional Government Documents Resources at UC

Government Documents Research Guides
by Ben Kline Last Updated Jul 9, 2024 103 views this year
Government Documents Information
by Ben Kline Last Updated Aug 1, 2024 932 views this year
Government Documents Media
by Ben Kline Last Updated Jul 9, 2024 269 views this year