Research Guides: Top Ten UC Databases for General Research: Top Ten Databases for General Research

For journal or magazine articles on a wide variety of topics:

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available...Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology.

Newspapers (A guide to print and electronic newspapers available at UC)
Check this guide for other available newspapers, including some local (e.g the Cincinnati Enquirer), international, and historical newspapers.

New York Times¸ Late Edition¸ East Coast (June 1¸ 1980 - Present)
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to June 1¸ 1980. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: 6/1/1980 - Present
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

CQ Researcher
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries¸ all the pros and cons¸ two bibliographies¸ and more.
Coverage:1991 - present
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press¸ as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles¸ topic overviews¸ statistics¸ primary documents¸ links to web sites¸ and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Gale in Context - Biography
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today's user. It includes: 600¸000+ biographies covering more than 525¸000 individuals¸ 50¸000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events¸ integrated reference material¸ periodical information and multimedia content¸ plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

For help and/or suggestions on the content of this guide please contact Olga Hart:
Olga.Hart@uc.edu, phone: (513) 556-1850