The following databases include current and historical articles in journals, magazines and newspapers covering gender and women's studies. Some of these databases also include book chapters, essays, letters and other primary documents.
Gender Studies Database¸ produced by NISC¸ combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696¸750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Coverage: 1972 - present
Full text collection of journals¸ magazines¸ newsletters¸ regional publications¸ books¸ booklets and pamphlets¸ conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."
LGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life, formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay¸ lesbian¸ bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBTQ+-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBTQ+-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1¸700 select titles¸ as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals¸ magazines and regional newspapers¸ and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 6¸300 terms.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books¸ periodicals¸ and archival materials documenting LGBT political¸ social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) is an international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working¸ teaching¸ studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies. Each issue of Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) gives the reader up-to-date news of developments within this field. All the major international journals and books are scanned and other original sources and cataloguing services regularly searched for appropriate items. Abstracts are prepared by an international team of experts¸ are non-evaluative in form and are accompanied by detailed bibliographical citations. The database comprises abstracts from the journal¸ dating back to 1995. Abstracts are linked¸ where possible¸ to full-text services. Coverage: 1995 - Present
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 98 document projects and archives with more than 3,850 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,100 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1600-2000
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals¸ newspapers¸ newsletters¸ bulletins¸ books¸ book chapters¸ proceedings¸ reports¸ theses¸ dissertations¸ NGO studies¸ Web sites & Web documents¸ and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology¸ history¸ political science & economy¸ public policy¸ international relations¸ arts & humanities¸ business and education. Coverage: 1972 - present
Use these online sources to locate biographies, definitions, background information, and more.
Biography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today's user. It includes: 600¸000+ biographies covering more than 525¸000 individuals¸ 50¸000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events¸ integrated reference material¸ periodical information and multimedia content¸ plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
How to Access Library Resources: Click the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.
These prompts can occur both on and off campus.
Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources
