Research Guides: UC Health: Databases

Express Links

AccessMedicine
Access limited to UC Academic Health Center users. AccessMedicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource. Searching is available across the entire suite of basic sciences and clinical texts.
AccessPharmacy
Access limited to UC Academic Health Center users. AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, and review textbooks or search across leading pharmacy online references. Integrated case studies, care plans, self-assessment tools, and NAPLEX review help students to develop and track key skills.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination includes more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Note: OSCE Clinical Skills Videos not included in this subscription. Access is available via computer, smartphone, or tablet device. Browser compatibility includes Windows PC: IE 9, Firefox (latest version), Chrome (latest version). Mac: Safari (latest version), Firefox (latest version). Android and IOS devices: latest version of native browser.
NOTE: Access limited to authorized UC Medical Center users
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3¸024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health¸ with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1¸160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals¸ plus legal cases¸ clinical innovations¸ critical paths¸ drug records¸ research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Coverage: 1937 - present
Cochrane Library (Wiley Online Library)
Wiley Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers, and is suited for use as supplemental course materials at the undergraduate and graduate levels, for technology assessments and economic evaluations.
DynaMed Plus
Go to DynaMed Plus™ for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
The database provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. Updated on a daily basis.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
A point-of-care clinical resource that includes Quick Lessons and Evidence-based Care Sheets; drug information; practice guidelines; customizable patient education handouts¸ care plans¸ and more.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests¸ measures¸ scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information
Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
STAT!Ref at TDS Health

UC Libraries Databases & Indexes

UC Libraries: A-Z Databases & Indexes
Databases and indexes available at the University of Cincinnati for locating articles.
Nursing Databases
Links to the databases page of the Nursing guide. This guide highlights Nursing resources available at the Donald C. Harrison Health Sciences Library.
Biomedical Databases
Links to the databases page of the Biomedical resource guide. This guide highlights Biomedical resources available at the UC Health Sciences Library.
Pharmacy Databases
Links to the databases page of the Pharmacy guide. This guide highlights Pharmacy resources available via the UC Health Sciences Library.

Search Summon

Off Campus Access Proxy Login

Once you log in, you will be returned to the library homepage. The word "proxy" should appear somewhere in the URL (e.g. uc.idm.oclc.org/). If you see that, you are in the proxy server. As you navigate to the online resource you're interested in using, if you get to your destination and you no longer have "proxy" in the URL, you may have fallen out of the proxy server.

Off Campus Access Information & Tips - This page has information and tips related to off-campus access.

Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.