Click the journals tab on the Library website and enter journal title
Results will indicate which database/index contains journal. Check the dates to verify the year you need is available online.
Search the Library Catalog for the print format if the journal or needed issue isn't available online and note the UC Library location and call number for the journal. Note: Current issues are often found in a different location than bound journals.
For general information (e.g. publisher, scope, etc.) about a specific journal or to identify journals in a specific discipline.
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300¸000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals¸ e-journals¸ peer-reviewed titles¸ popular magazines¸ newspapers¸ newsletters¸ and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN¸ publisher¸ language¸ subject¸ abstracting & indexing coverage¸ full-text database coverage¸ tables of contents¸ and reviews written by librarians.
Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, peer reviewed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal is devoted to all aspects of development, innovations and good practice in higher education teaching and learning, including the use of information and communication technologies and issues concerning the management of teaching and learning.
AERA Open is a peer-reviewed, open access journal published by the American Educational Research Association. AERA Open emphasizes rapid review and dissemination of high quality education research, and articles are published on a continuous basis as they are accepted.
Interdisciplinary articles on issues related to teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels; teaching philosophy and practices, teachers' roles, professional development and evaluation, incentives and commentary on articles in the journal.
Educational Researcher publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. Published nine times a year, ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible.
The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, the Review has become one of the most prestigious journals in education, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers.
InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching is a scholarly publication designed to highlight the work of postsecondary faculty. It is a refereed scholarly journal published annually by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) at Park University.
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning is an open, double-blind peer reviewed electronic journal published twice per year by the Centers for Teaching & Technology at Georgia Southern University. The journal is an international forum for research and information about the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) and its applications in higher/tertiary education.
The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability.
The Journal for Research and Practice in College Teaching publishes articles focused on promoting student learning. Articles should address themes around promoting effective practices in teaching and learning. The Journal reflects the breadth of the work in the scholarship of teaching and learning. We accept articles in the following categories.
Data-Driven Studies: formal research projects using appropriate empirical methods for examining a particular research question. Acceptable articles establish a research rigor that leads to significant new understanding of pedagogy.
Literature Reviews: reviews should illuminate new relationships and understanding of the area under review. Literature reviews include meta-analysis, analytical and integrated reviews.
Case Studies: should focus on an intense analysis of a specific teaching situation or problem that led to a solution. Case studies should have the following components: description of the teaching situation or problem, solution or solutions attempted, quantitative or qualitative analysis of the effectiveness of the solution, reflection on the implications and possible generalization to other settings or populations.
The Journal on Excellence in College Teaching is a peer-reviewed journal published at Miami University by and for faculty at universities and two- and four-year colleges to increase student learning through effective teaching, interest in and enthusiasm for the profession of teaching, and communication among faculty about their classroom experiences. It answers Ernest Boyer's (1990) call for a forum to present the scholarship of teaching and learning. The Journal provides a scholarly, written forum for discussion by faculty about all areas affecting teaching and learning, and gives faculty the opportunity to share proven, innovative pedagogies and thoughtful, inspirational insights about teaching.
Teaching & Learning Inquiry is the official publication of the International Society of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL). Published twice a year, it includes insightful research, theory, commentary, and other scholarly works that document or facilitate investigations of teaching and learning in higher education. TLI values quality and variety in its vision of the scholarship of teaching and learning. Its pages will showcase the breadth of the interdisciplinary field of SoTL in its explicit methodological pluralism, its call for traditional and new genres, and its international authorship from across career stages. The journal regularly features articles documenting SoTL projects, theoretical assertions, literature syntheses, or reports on the field; dialogues responding to previous issues; innovative but systematic reflections through creative products; and reviews of books, external articles, web resources, or conferences. Teaching & Learning Inquiry is a benefit of membership of the ISSOTL.
Teaching in Higher Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal that addresses the policies, practices and contexts of teaching, learning and curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual and theoretical challenges they present. The journal is interdisciplinary in nature and aims to open up critical discussion and debate across subject areas by involving all those who share a commitment to the field of teaching.
Transformative Dialogues (TD) is a forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. These conversations are intended to span a wide range of reflections on the processes of teaching and learning ranging from the scholarly to scholarship. The international dialogues are focused on improving faculty and, therefore, student learning, and critical thought processes in their current and future lifelong learning.
As faculty members seek to contribute to the scholarship of teaching and learning, part of the process involves submitting the research findings to an appropriate disciplinary journal or conference venue. The Abilene Christian University Library has developed this bibliography of journals to help faculty members with finding journals that publish articles in the scholarship of teaching and learning
CETL provides a comprehensive list of disciplinary and interdisciplinary journals in the scholarship of teaching and Learning (SoTL) focused on undergraduate and graduate education for teachers at colleges and universities, organized alphabetically.