Research Guides: E-Books & Proceedings in Science & Engineering: Home

Books and Proceedings Online

Choose an Online Collection

Search for many collections' e-books in one place using the e-book search in UC's Summon database. NOTE: this search does not cover all e-book collections, so please contact a librarian if you cannot find a book of interest.

______________________________________

NOTE: Some CEAS Reserve Books and eTextbooks are online. View this list: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/reservebooksonlineceas

Books & Proceedings Online

AAPG Datapages / Archives
Publications of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and many publications of regional geological surveys. You can search from the home page or browse content from over 40 publishers and societies.
ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to ACM ebooks, journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Subjects include: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Simulation, Computer Systems, Database Systems, Design Automation, Information Systems, Mathematical Software, Networking, Networks, Programming Languages, and Software Engineering.
ACS Symposium Series
The ACS Symposium Series, part of the ACS eBooks, are the high-quality, peer-reviewed eBooks developed from ACS technical divisions’ symposia. Each chapter is carefully authored by an expert in the field, and the collection of chapters edited by an internationally recognized leader in the field. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others. 1974 to present.
ACS in Focus
ACS In Focus e-books focus on improving fundamental understanding of emerging topics across the physical sciences with multimedia extensions including videos, animations, and interactive models. Topics include Machine Learning, Nanocrystals and materials, photochemistry, astrochemistry, python for chemists, and more.
Aerospace Research Central (ARC)
Provides full-text access to the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) journals and conference papers and select eBooks and standards.
AIP Conference Proceedings
Conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) scientific meetings, ranging from large international conferences to small specialist workshops. Subject areas span the entire physical sciences, including physics, math, chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
Annual Reviews
Provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 51 scientific disciplines. Dedicated to synthesizing  the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. 
ASCE Library
Approximately 325 e-books from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Also 496 proceedings, 81 standards and 36 journals.
ASCE Library
Contains technical and professional content from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publications, including conference proceedings, journal articles, standards, and e-books.
ASME Digital Collection
Unparalleled depth, breadth, and quality of peer-reviewed content from the mechanical engineering's most prestigious journals, conference proceedings, and ASME Press books.

CEAS Library Textbooks Online
CEAS textbooks and reserve books available online.

Taylor & Francis Ebooks
CRCnetBASE (searchable in the Taylor & Francis eBook platform) contains over 1,000 engineering, technology, science, and medical reference books and handbooks published by the CRC Press.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images, sound files, maps and customizable data tables.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations at UC
Provides a list of places to access electronic theses and dissertations as well as places to find help in writing a thesis or dissertation.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center (OhioLINK)
The OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center is a free online database of master' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.
GeoScience World Ebook Collection

Google Books
Search partial or full text of millions of books. Selected books are available for full-text viewing of download. If full-text is not available, search our E-Books database or contact a librarian for assistance.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. The repository has over 10 million digitized books of which 27% (2.64 million) are in the public domain.

IEEE-Wiley E-books
Our access to this collection presently includes more than 600 titles ranging from 1974 to 2013. E-books after 2014 are available on the Wiley Online Library. Numerous subject areas are covered including, bioengineering, communications, computer engineering, electrical engineering, energy, geoscience, photonics, physics, and robotics. The ebook collection can also be accessed through the IEEE Xplore database.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
IET Digital Library
From the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), the IET Digital Library is a collection of over 500 e-books that covers topics in the areas of Circuits, Devices and Systems; Control Engineering; Electrical Technology; Electromagnetic Waves; History of Technology; Manufacturing; Management of Technology; Power and Energy; Professional Applications of Computing; Radar, Sonar, Navigation and Avionics; Renewable Energy; and Telecommunications.

IMechE Proceedings Archive

InfoSci-Books
InfoSci-Books includes full-text books and proceedings on the following topics: IT management, end user computing, data mining, knowledge management, e-commerce, multimedia databases, telecommunications, and distance learning in the following areas: Business Management; Computer Science; Education Technologies; Electronic Commerce; Environmental IS; Healthcare Information Systems; Information Systems; Library Science; Multimedia Information Systems; Public Information Systems; Social Science and Technologies. Coverage starts in 2000.

IOPScience E-Books
Selected books published by Institute of Physics (IOP) on a variety of physics-related topics. Subscribed books are from the collections "IOP Concise Physics" and "IOP Expanding Physics." Some recent books are not subscribed to at this time.

Knovel
Provides access to leading science and engineering books, conferences, and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data, deep searchability, valuable subject collections through aggregation, and continuing expanding content. Subject areas included as of 2016 are: Aerospace & Radar Technology; Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Civil Engineering & Construction Materials; Earth Sciences; Electronics & Semiconductors; Environment & Environmental Engineering; Food Science; General Engineering & Project Administration; Industrial Engineering & Operations Management; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering; Metals & Metallurgy; Plastics & Rubbers; Safety & Industrial Hygiene; Sustainable Energy & Development; and Transportation Engineering. At the end of October 2016, the University of Cincinnati had online access to approximately 4,000 books on the Knovel platform.
MIT Press Direct
Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes authoritative reports issued by the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM). NAP publishes more than 200 publications per year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

UC Libraries' Online Reference Shelf
General research resources for quick answers - dictionaries, almanacs, fact books, etc.

Optica Publishing Group (Formerly OSA)
Optica Publishing Group is a leading global forum for light science and technology. This cutting-edge repository of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content includes journal articles, conference papers, and videos.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Biology
Approximately 250 Biology titles from Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online - Mathematics
Approximately 115 Mathematics titles from Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online - Physics
Approximately 350 Physics titles from Oxford University Press.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Searchable database of global dissertations from 1743-present. Full-text of UC PhD dissertations available 1955-present and dissertations for other institutions available 1997-present.
ProQuest Ebook Central
UC Libraries has online access to over 7,000 ProQuest (Ebrary and EBL) e-book titles in engineering, science, and technology.
O'Reilly Ebooks
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Includes or has links to full text.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
As of February 2016, the Elsevier ScienceDirect searchable ebook collection includes 7,100 books covering the years 1995-2016. Seven subject categories are included in the collection: Agricultural and Biological Sciences, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, Energy, Engineering, Environmental Science, and Materials Science.
Scientific.Net
Full-text of the materials science and engineering publications from Trans Tech Publications, including conference proceedings and journals.
SPIE Digital Library
As of October 2016, the SPIE ebook collection contains over 265 books on subjects such as: Astronomy and Astronomical Optics, Biomedical Optics and Medical Imaging, Communication and Information Technologies, Defense and Industrial Sensing, Electronic Imaging and Processing, Micro- and Nano- Technologies, and Optics and Electro-Optics.
Springer Nature Link E-books
Provides access to essential scholarly eBooks across science, medicine, technology, humanities and social sciences. The eBooks collection include every type of publication from brief to major reference work.

Textbooks in the CEAS Library
CEAS textbooks and reserve books available online.
Transportation Research Record
The journal of TRB (Transportation Research Board), a program unit of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press)
This series offers concise introductions to a wide range of topics in science, medicine, arts, social sciences and more. It bridges encyclopedic content and higher academic work, offering intelligent introductions authored by experts in the field. Each book combines facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics understandable and highly approachable.

Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library provides full text access to over 22,000 eBooks and 1,600 journals covering Engineering, Chemistry, Math, Earth Sciences, Material Science, Computer Science, the Social Sciences and Humanities.

World Scientific E-Books
World Scientific e-books span a wide range of science and technology topics.

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides

Send feedback to Mark Chalmers mark.chalmers@uc.edu and Ted Baldwin Ted.Baldwin@uc.edu.

TOP