Research Guides: Translation Resources: Find Articles

Online indexes for Translation Studies

Primary databases on translation studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Identifies articles in communication studies and mass media,
MLA International Bibliography
Identifies articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations on literature, languages, film and folklore
Scopus (Elsevier)
Identifies articles on translation and interpreting.

Additional databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Project MUSE
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present

If you have a citation

You may already have a citation for an article from your professor's recommendation or another source. This is how you would locate the article.

Method 1

On the UC Libraries page paste your article title in the red search box. If this is an exact title enclose it in quotation marks to avoid irrelevant hits.

If the title is short and/or common, add the author's name and/or journal title.

Summon, our metasearch tool, will return results with links to online full text.

You can also use advanced Summon search.

Method 2

On the UC Libraries page click the Journals tab in the red search box. Alternatively you can use the search box on the Journals page of this guide. E-Journals advanced search page.
Type in as much of the journal title as you want.
(Please note: this search option is for JOURNAL titles, not articles titles)!
Click "Search." The result will indicate which database/index to search for full text. Check the dates carefully to make sure the year you need is available electronically.

If an electronic version of the journal title or the desired issues it is not available electronically, you must then search the Library Catalog for a print issue. On the library record screen for the journal title note the location and call number of the journal. Please note that current issues are often found in a different location than bound journals.

Method 3.

Use the "Citation Linker" form. You need to provide as much information as possible. Go to UC Article Linker FAQ for more information.