Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Environmental Engineering Senior Design

Environmental Engineering Librarian

Profile Photo
Ted Baldwin
he, him, his
Contact:
CEAS Library, ML 0018
850G Baldwin Hall
513-556-4211
Website

General Information

Seminar Slides & Handouts

Search Tips

Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later. 

Building a search query:

  • Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
  • Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
  • use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
  • Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )

Narrow your results:

  • Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record. Subjects can be combined with keywords to focus search, or searched individually to find items that are primarily about the topic.
  • Use refine or limit features such as date, material type (e.g., review article), treatment (in Compendex - theoretical, applied, etc).

Citation searching

  • Expand to related articles with shared citations (Scopus)
  • Use citation searching and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Scopus, SciFinder, Google Scholar, etc). 

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

  • When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon Article Linker icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
    • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
    • If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request.  ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details.  NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
  • Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
  • Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text.  Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
  3. Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
  4. Click on “Library Links”
  5. Search for "University of Cincinnati."
  6. Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.comAfter download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution.  More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner.  NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt.  Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education  https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Libkey Nomad graphic

 

 

 

 

Click the "Download PDF" prompt.  You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login.  Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.

Article Databases

Environmental Engineering Research Guide: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/environmental

  • Links to additional article databases and data sources specific to environmental science research

Patent Searching: Refer to the databases below.  For much more information about patents, see our Guide on Patents

Other Resources

Business & Market Research - includes economic development (country) information

See the "one stop" guide to Business research: guides.libraries.uc.edu/business

Standards and Codes Online

Geospatial Data Sources and Assistance:

ENVE Senior Project Reports:

Research Data & GIS Services

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

  • Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
  • Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library), 240 Braunstein Hall - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
  • Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
  • OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info), Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati