New Books Blog - New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

April 2022 Featured New Books

by Emily Wages on 2022-03-29T10:34:00-04:00 | 0 Comments

New at Clermont College Library

African American Workers and the Appalachian Coal Industry by Joe William Trotter

Call Number: HD8039.M62 U67 2022

ISBN: 9781952271182

Publication Date: 2022-02-01

Essays by the foremost labor historian of the Black experience in the Appalachian coalfields. This collection brings together nearly three decades of research on the African American experience, class, and race relations in the Appalachian coal industry. It shows how, with deep roots in the antebellum era of chattel slavery, West Virginia's Black working class gradually picked up steam during the emancipation years following the Civil War and dramatically expanded during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. From there, African American Workers and the Appalachian Coal Industry highlights the decline of the region's Black industrial proletariat under the impact of rapid technological, social, and political changes following World War II. It underscores how all miners suffered unemployment and outmigration from the region as global transformations took their toll on the coal industry, but emphasizes the disproportionately painful impact of declining bituminous coal production on African American workers, their families, and their communities. Joe Trotter not only reiterates the contributions of proletarianization to our knowledge of US labor and working-class history but also draws attention to the gender limits of studies of Black life that focus on class formation, while calling for new transnational perspectives on the subject. Equally important, this volume illuminates the intellectual journey of a noted labor historian with deep family roots in the southern Appalachian coalfields.

Crip Kinship by Shayda Kafai

Call Number: N8355 .K34 2021

ISBN: 9781551528649

Publication Date: 2021-12-07

The remarkable story of Sins Invalid, a performance project that centers queer disability justice. In recent years, disability activism has come into its own as a vital and necessary means to acknowledge the power and resilience of the disabled community, and to call out ableist culture wherever it appears. Crip Kinship explores the art activism of Sins Invalid, a San Francisco Bay Area-based performance project, and its radical imaginings of what disabled, queer, trans, and gender-nonconforming bodyminds of colour can do: how they can rewrite oppression, and how they can gift us with transformational lessons for our collective survival. Grounded in the disability justice framework, Crip Kinship investigates the revolutionary survival teachings that disabled, queer of colour community offers to all our bodyminds. From their focus on crip beauty and sexuality to manifesting digital kinship networks and crip-centric liberated zones, Sins Invalid empowers and moves us toward generating our collective liberation from our bodyminds outward. Includes a foreword by Patty Berne, co-founder, and executive and artistic director of Sins Invalid.

Culturally Relevant Pedagogy by Gloria Ladson-Billings

Call Number: LC1099.3 .L33 2021

ISBN: 9780807765913

Publication Date: 2021-08-30

For the first time, this volume provides a definitive collection of Gloria Ladson-Billings' groundbreaking concept of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy (CRP). After repeatedly confronting deficit perspectives that asked, "What's wrong with 'those' kids?", Ladson-Billings decided to ask a different question, one that fundamentally shifted the way we think about teaching and learning. Noting that "those kids" usually meant Black students, she posed a new question: "What is right with Black students and what happens in classrooms where teachers, parents, and students get it right?" This compilation of Ladson-Billings' published work on Culturally Relevant Pedagogy examines the theory, how it works in specific subject areas, and its role in teacher education. The final section looks toward the future, including what it means to re-mix CRP with youth culture such as hip hop. This one-of-a-kind collection can be used as an introduction to CRP and as a summary of the idea as it evolved over time, helping a new generation to see the possibilities that exist in teaching and learning for all students. Featured Essays: 1. Toward a Theory of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy 2. But That's Just Good Teaching: The Case for Culturally Relevant Pedagogy 3. Liberatory Consequences of Literacy 4. It Doesn't Add Up: African American Students and Mathematics Achievement 5. Crafting a Culturally Relevant Social Studies Approach 6. Fighting for Our Lives: Preparing Teachers to Teach African American Students 7. What's the Matter With the Team? Diversity in Teacher Education 8. It's Not the Culture of Poverty, It's the Poverty of Culture: The Problem With Teacher Education 9. Culturally Relevant Teaching 2.0, a.k.a. the Remix 10. Beyond Beats, Rhymes, and Beyoncé: Hip-Hop Education and Culturally Relevant Pedagogy

Decolonizing University Teaching and Learning by D. Tran

Call Number: LC191.9 .T73 2021

ISBN: 9781350160019

Publication Date: 2021-06-17

Decolonizing University Teaching and Learning considers apprehensions around decolonizing and offers a summary of key arguments within critical discussion around its meaning and value through engagement with a growing body of literature. The contextually based and complex discussions concerning decolonization means one cannot be guided through the process in a particular way. Therefore, the text is not intended to be read as a handbook for decolonizing teaching and learning, nor is it an anthropologically oriented text. Drawing on Critical Race Theory, the book highlights the benefits of decolonizing teaching and learning for all students and staff. This book offers up the TRAAC model as an entry point for challenging conversations. By bringing together questions raised within existing scholarly discussions, the TRAAC model provides prompts to instigate deeper reflections around decolonizing by way of supporting colleagues to start a productive dialogue. Through these critically reflective and reflexive conversations, action-oriented discussions can simultaneously take place. The value of this book lies in the contributions from authors based across a number of universities and disciplines. Reflecting on personal experiences, staff and student relationships, subject specific challenges, and wider issues within HE, the contributions are grounded in the employment of the TRAAC model as a mode of entry into discussing particular issues around decolonizing teaching and learning.

The Economics of Airlines SECOND EDITION by Volodymyr Bilotkach

Call Number: HE9782 .B55 2021

ISBN: 9781788213820

Publication Date: 2021-09-09

The airline industry is fundamental to the workings of the global economy. Yet, ironically for an industry of such sheer scale and economic muscle, profit margins are razor thin and many airlines struggle to break even. The precarious economics of the sector were fully revealed when Covid-19 grounded flights across the world prompting many national carriers to seek government bailouts, while smaller airlines collapsed. In this updated and expanded new edition Volodymyr Bilotkach explains the economic realities of the airline industry and the challenges that the sector now faces after the seismic impact of the Covid-19 pandemic. The impact of such a large-scale external shock on the industry is considered across each of its sectors and for each of its primary economic determinants. The book also includes new material on changes to cost structures, the pricing of add-on services, cargo, airport slot allocation and the impact of climate change. The book remains a comprehensive introduction to the economics of airlines, how carriers compete, how they develop their business, and how demand and cost structure, coupled with the complex regulatory regime, produces the industry we see today.

The Ethical Use of Data in Education by Ellen B. Mandinach (Editor); Edith S. Gummer (Editor)

Call Number: LB2806.17 .E845 2021

ISBN: 9780807766033

Publication Date: 2021-11-30

This volume brings together experts on various aspects of education to address many of the emerging issues and problems that affect how data are being used or misused in educational contexts. Readers will learn about the importance of using data effectively, responsibly, and ethically to fully understand how cognitive fallacies occur and how they impact decision making. They will understand how codes of ethics deal with the use of data within education as well as in other disciplines. Chapters provide a landscape view of the regulations that pertain to data use and policies that have emerged, including the impact of accountability on data use and data ethics. The text covers data ethics in local education agencies, professional development, educator preparation, testing programs, and educational technology. Chapter authors recommend steps to improve awareness among educators, stakeholders, and other interested groups and suggest actions that can be taken to enhance educators' capacity to use data responsibly. A final use case chapter describes the importance of data ethics in terms of equity in schools and includes salient examples of ethical dilemmas, with questions and reflections on how ethics and equity apply to each situation. The conclusion addresses data ethics in terms of professionalism and poses several recommendations to challenge educators in ways to raise awareness of and integrate data ethics into educational practice. Book Features: Discusses how accountability affects effective data, including the pressure on schools and districts to perform better on test scores or other indicators. Outlines ten recommendations for how professional development can incorporate data ethics in practice. Reviews the expectations and realities of preparing educators for data literacy, including an example of one teacher education program's integrated, curriculum-wide approach. Considers the role of testing companies in ethical data use, including issues around equity in assessment data. Explores how educational technologies, platforms, and applications impact data use.

Belly of the Beast by Da'Shaun L. Harrison; Kiese Laymon (Foreword by)

Call Number: E185.86 .H376 2021

ISBN: 9781623175979

Publication Date: 2021-08-10

Exploring the intersections of Blackness, gender, fatness, health, and the violence of policing. To live in a body both fat and Black is to exist at the margins of a society that creates the conditions for anti-fatness as anti-Blackness. Hyper-policed by state and society, passed over for housing and jobs, and derided and misdiagnosed by medical professionals, fat Black people in the United States are subject to sociopolitically sanctioned discrimination, abuse, condescension, and trauma. Da'Shaun Harrison--a fat, Black, disabled, and nonbinary trans writer--offers an incisive, fresh, and precise exploration of anti-fatness as anti-Blackness, foregrounding the state-sanctioned murders of fat Black men and trans and nonbinary masculine people in historical analysis. Policing, disenfranchisement, and invisibilizing of fat Black men and trans and nonbinary masculine people are pervasive, insidious ways that anti-fat anti-Blackness shows up in everyday life. Fat people can be legally fired in 49 states for being fat; they're more likely to be houseless. Fat people die at higher rates from misdiagnosis or nontreatment; fat women are more likely to be sexually assaulted. And at the intersections of fatness, Blackness, disability, and gender, these abuses are exacerbated. Taking on desirability politics, the limitations of gender, the connection between anti-fatness and carcerality, and the incongruity of "health" and "healthiness" for the Black fat, Harrison viscerally and vividly illustrates the myriad harms of anti-fat anti-Blackness. They offer strategies for dismantling denial, unlearning the cultural programming that tells us "fat is bad," and destroying the world as we know it, so the Black fat can inhabit a place not built on their subjugation.

How Teaching Shapes Our Thinking about Disabilities by Beth A. Ferri (Editor); David J. Connor (Editor)

Call Number: LC3981 .H65 2021

ISBN: 9781433185618

Publication Date: 2021-04-26

This book purposefully connects practice to research, and vice versa, through the use of deeply personal stories in the form of autoethnographic memoirs. In this collection, twenty contributors share selected tales of teaching students with dis/abilities in K-12 settings across the USA, including tentative triumphs, frustrating failures, and a deep desire to understand the dynamics of teaching and learning. The authors also share an early awareness of significant dissonance between academic knowledge taught to them in teacher education programs and their own experiential knowledge in schools. Coming to question established practices within the field of special education in relation to the children they taught, each author grew increasingly critical of deficit-models of disability that emphasized commonplace practices of physical and social exclusion, dysfunction and disorders, repetitive remediation and punitive punishments. The authors describe how their interactions with children and youth, parents, and administrators, in the context of their classrooms and schools, influenced a shift away from the limiting discourse of special education and toward become critical special educators and/or engage with disability studies as a way to reclaim, reframe, and reimagine disability as a natural part of human diversity. Furthermore, the authors document how these early experiences in the everydayness of schooling helped ground them as teachers and later, teacher educators, who galvanized their research trajectories around studying issues of access and equality throughout educational structures and systems, while developing new theoretical models within Disability Studies in Education, aimed to impact practices and policies.

I, Warbot by Kenneth Payne

Call Number: UG479 .P39 2021

ISBN: 9780197611692

Publication Date: 2021-09-01

Artificial Intelligence is going to war. Intelligent weapon systems are here today, and many more are on the way tomorrow. Already, they're reshaping conflict - from the chaos of battle, with pilotless drones, robot tanks and unmanned submersibles, to the headquarters far from the action,where generals and politicians use technology to weigh up what to do. AI changes how we fight, and even how likely it is that we will.In battle, warbots will be faster, more agile and more deadly than today's crewed weapons. New tactics and concepts will emerge, with spoofing and swarming to fool and overwhelm enemies. Strategies are changing too. When will an intelligent machine escalate, and how can it be deterred? Can robots predict the future? And what happens to the 'art of war' as machines themselves become creative?Autonomous warfare makes many people uneasy. An international campaign against 'killer robots' hopes to ban AI from conflict. But the genie is out - AI weapons are too useful for states to outlaw. Still, crafting sensible rules for warbots is possible. This fascinating book shows how it might be done.

Gen Z, Explained by Roberta Katz; Sarah Ogilvie; Jane Shaw; Linda Woodhead

Call Number: HQ799.5 .K37 2021

ISBN: 9780226791531

Publication Date: 2021-11-15

An optimistic and nuanced portrait of a generation that has much to teach us about how to live and collaborate in our digital world. Born since the mid-1990s, members of Generation Z comprise the first generation never to know the world without the internet, and the most diverse generation yet. As Gen Z starts to emerge into adulthood and enter the workforce, what do we really know about them? And what can we learn from them? Gen Z, Explained is the authoritative portrait of this significant generation. It draws on extensive interviews that display this generation's candor, surveys that explore their views and attitudes, and a vast database of their astonishingly inventive lexicon to build a comprehensive picture of their values, daily lives, and outlook. Gen Z emerges here as an extraordinarily thoughtful, promising, and perceptive generation that is sounding a warning to their elders about the world around them--a warning of a complexity and depth the "OK Boomer" phenomenon can only suggest. Much of the existing literature about Gen Z has been highly judgmental. In contrast, this book provides a deep and nuanced understanding of a generation facing a future of enormous challenges, from climate change to civil unrest. What's more, they are facing this future head-on, relying on themselves and their peers to work collaboratively to solve these problems. As Gen Z, Explained shows, this group of young people is as compassionate and imaginative as any that has come before, and understanding the way they tackle problems may enable us to envision new kinds of solutions. This portrait of Gen Z is ultimately an optimistic one, suggesting they have something to teach all of us about how to live and thrive in this digital world.

How the Mountains Grew by John Dvorak

Call Number: QE71 .D86 2021

ISBN: 9781643135748

Publication Date: 2021-08-03

The incredible story of the creation of a continent--our continent-- from the acclaimed author of The Last Volcano and Mask of the Sun. The immense scale of geologic time is difficult to comprehend. Our lives--and the entirety of human history--are mere nanoseconds on this timescale. Yet we hugely influenced by the land we live on. From shales and fossil fuels, from lake beds to soil composition, from elevation to fault lines, what could be more relevant that the history of the ground beneath our feet? For most of modern history, geologists could say little more about why mountains grew than the obvious: there were forces acting inside the Earth that caused mountains to rise. But what were those forces? And why did they act in some places of the planet and not at others? When the theory of plate tectonics was proposed, our concept of how the Earth worked experienced a momentous shift. As the Andes continue to rise, the Atlantic Ocean steadily widens, and Honolulu creeps ever closer to Tokyo, this seemingly imperceptible creep of the Earth is revealed in the landscape all around us. But tectonics cannot--and do not--explain everything about the wonders of the North American landscape. What about the Black Hills? Or the walls of chalk that stand amongst the rolling hills of west Kansas? Or the fact that the states of Washington and Oregon are slowly rotating clockwise, and there a diamond mine in Arizona? It all points to the geologic secrets hidden inside the 2-billion-year-old-continental masses. A whopping ten times older than the rocky floors of the ocean, continents hold the clues to the long history of our planet. With a sprightly narrative that vividly brings this science to life, John Dvorak's How the Mountains Grew will fill readers with a newfound appreciation for the wonders of the land we live on.

Indigenous Women's Voices by Emma Lee (Editor); Jennifer Evans (Editor)

Call Number: HQ1161 .I64 2022

ISBN: 9781786998422

Publication Date: 2022-01-27

This book is available as open access through the Bloomsbury Open Access programme and is available on www.bloomsburycollections.com.

When Linda Tuhiwai Smith's Decolonizing Methodologies was first published, it ignited a passion for research change that respected Indigenous peoples and knowledges, and campaigned to reclaim Indigenous ways of knowing and being. At a time when Indigenous voices were profoundly marginalised, the book advocated for an Indigenous viewpoint which represented a daily struggle to be heard, and to find its place in academia.Twenty years on, this collection celebrates the breadth and depth of how Indigenous writers are shaping the decolonizing research world today. With contributions from Indigenous female researchers, this collection offers the much needed academic space to distinguish methodological approaches, and overcome the novelty confines of being marginal voices.

Emotional by Leonard Mlodinow

Call Number: BF511 .M59 2022

ISBN: 9781524747596

Publication Date: 2022-01-11

We've all been told that thinking rationally is the key to success. But at the cutting edge of science, researchers are discovering that feeling is every bit as important as thinking. You make hundreds of decisions every day, from what to eat for breakfast to how you should invest, and not one of those decisions would be possible without emotion. It has long been said that thinking and feeling are separate and opposing forces in our behavior. But as Leonard Mlodinow, the best-selling author of Subliminal, tells us, extraordinary advances in psychology and neuroscience have proven that emotions are as critical to our well-being as thinking. How can you connect better with others? How can you make sense of your frustration, fear, and anxiety? What can you do to live a happier life? The answers lie in understanding your emotions. Journeying from the labs of pioneering scientists to real-world scenarios that have flirted with disaster, Mlodinow shows us how our emotions can help, why they sometimes hurt, and what we can learn in both instances. Using deep insights into our evolution and biology, Mlodinow gives us the tools to understand our emotions better and to maximize their benefits. Told with his characteristic clarity and fascinating stories, Emotional explores the new science of feelings and offers us an essential guide to making the most of one of nature's greatest gifts.

The War on Drugs by David Farber (Editor)

Call Number: HV5825 .W3812777 2022

ISBN: 1479811351

Publication Date: 2021-11-30

A revealing look at the history and legacy of the "War on Drugs" Fifty years after President Richard Nixon declared a "War on Drugs," the United States government has spent over a trillion dollars fighting a losing battle. In recent years, about 1.5 million people have been arrested annually on drug charges--most of them involving cannabis--and nearly 500,000 Americans are currently incarcerated for drug offenses. Today, as a response to the dire human and financial costs, Americans are fast losing their faith that a War on Drugs is fair, moral, or effective. In a rare multi-faceted overview of the underground drug market, featuring historical and ethnographic accounts of illegal drug production, distribution, and sales, The War on Drugs: A History examines how drug war policies contributed to the making of the carceral state, racial injustice, regulatory disasters, and a massive underground economy. At the same time, the collection explores how aggressive anti-drug policies produced a "deviant" form of globalization that offered economically marginalized people an economic life-line as players in a remunerative transnational supply and distribution network of illicit drugs. While several essays demonstrate how government enforcement of drug laws disproportionately punished marginalized suppliers and users, other essays assess how anti-drug warriors denigrated science and medical expertise by encouraging moral panics that contributed to the blanket criminalization of certain drugs. By analyzing the key issues, debates, events, and actors surrounding the War on Drugs, this timely and impressive volume provides a deeper understanding of the role these policies have played in making our current political landscape and how we can find the way forward to a more just and humane drug policy regime.

Now Media: the evolution of electronic communication by Norman J Medoff and Barbara K Kaye

Call Number: HE8689.4 .M44 2021

ISBN: 9780367897215

Publication Date: 2021

Now in its 4th edition, this book is one of the industry's leading texts on the evolution of electronic mass communication in the last century. Now Media, 4th edition (formerly Electronic Media) provides a synopsis of the beginnings of electronic media in broadcasting and the subsequent advancements into digital media. Each chapter is organized chronologically, starting with the electronic media of the past, then moving to the media of today, and finally, exploring the possibilities for the media of the future. Topics discussed include the rise of social media, uses of personal communication devices, the film industry, and digital advertising. Focusing on innovations that laid the groundwork for modern day television and radio and for the development of the Internet and social media, the book offers a comprehensive overview of the world of communication technology. New to the 4th edition is a chapter on virtual reality technology, as well as a discussion of the impacts of the 2020 Covid-19 pandemic on media consumption habits. This book remains a key text and trusted resource for students and scholars of digital mass communication and communications history alike. The book also features a companion website with updated instructor materials, including PowerPoint slides and test banks.

LGBTQ Life in America by Melissa R. Michelson; Brian F. Harrison

Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 M53 2022

ISBN: 9781440875052

Publication Date: 2021-12-06

This indispensable book debunks common myths and misconceptions about the LGBTQ community while providing accurate information about LGBTQ people, their successes and shared history, and the current challenges they face in American society. This book provides readers with a clear and unbiased understanding of what it means to be LGBTQ in the United States in the 2020s. Beginning with the origins of LGBTQ identity and history, the book addresses the current status of the LGBTQ community; gender expectations and performance in American culture; transgender and non-binary identity; behaviors and outcomes associated with LGBTQ people; and, finally, diversity within the LGBTQ community. Utilizing authoritative sources and lay-friendly definitions and explanations, this work punctures myths, misconceptions, and incorrect assumptions about sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expectations and norms. In addition, it provides an illuminating record of the history of discrimination and mistreatment to which LGBTQ people have historically been subjected in the U.S. At a time when information itself is increasingly fraught in American political discourse, this book provides facts and context for the most important questions facing LGBTQ Americans, past, present, and future. Provides readers with factual, easy-to-understand information about sexuality, sexual orientation, and gender identity Confronts falsehoods, half-truths, and misconceptions about LGBTQ identity and life in the U.S. Bridges the divide between disparate sources of information about LGBTQ identity and rights in the U.S. Paints a broad narrative about sociopolitical change surrounding LGBTQ people and rights over time

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

Business & Economics
Communication
Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Technology
Government & Political Science
Health Sciences
History
Law
Philosophy & Religion
Psychology
Sociology & Social Work

Return to Blog

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

April 2022 Featured New Books

New at Clermont College Library

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

April 2022 Featured New Books

New at Clermont College Library

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.