New Books Blog - New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

December 2021 Featured New Books

by Emily Wages on 2021-12-03T10:19:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

New at UC Clermont Library

Against Reduction by Noelani Arista; Sasha Costanza-Chock; Vafa Ghazavi; Suzanne Kite

Call Number: Q334.7 .A75 2021

ISBN: 9780262543125

Publication Date: 2021-10-05

Provocative, hopeful essays imagine a future that is not reduced to algorithms. What is human flourishing in an age of machine intelligence, when many claim that the world's most complex problems can be reduced to narrow technical questions? Does more computing make us more intelligent, or simply more computationally powerful? We need not always resist reduction; our ability to simplify helps us interpret complicated situations. The trick is to know when and how to do so. Against Reduction offers a collection of provocative and illuminating essays that consider different ways of recognizing and addressing the reduction in our approach to artificial intelligence, and ultimately to ourselves. Inspired by a widely read manifesto by Joi Ito that called for embracing the diversity and irreducibility of the world, these essays offer persuasive and compelling variations on resisting reduction. Among other things, the writers draw on indigenous epistemology to argue for an extended "circle of relationships" that includes the nonhuman and robotic; cast "Snow White" as a tale of AI featuring a smart mirror; point out the cisnormativity of security protocol algorithms; map the interconnecting networks of so-called noncommunicable disease; and consider the limits of moral mathematics. Taken together, they show that we should push back against some of the reduction around us and do whatever is in our power to work toward broader solutions.

Epidemiology for Public Health Practice by Robert H. Friis; Thomas Sellers

Call Number: RA651 .F686 2021

ISBN: 9781284175431

Publication Date: 2020-03-30

Epidemiology for Public Health Practice is a best-selling text offering comprehensive coverage of all the major topics in introductory epidemiology and alignment to the core competencies in epidemiology for graduate and undergraduate courses. With extensive treatment of the heart of epidemiology--from study designs to descriptive epidemiology to quantitative measures--this reader-friendly text is accessible and interesting to a wide range of beginning students in all health-related disciplines. A unique focus is given to real-world applications of epidemiology and the development of skills that students can apply in subsequent course work and in the field. Significantly updated, the new Sixth Edition offers:* New chapter on epidemiology and policy* Increased emphasis on health disparities, genetic epidemiology, and current epidemics (e.g., the opioid epidemic, cannabis misuse, and gun violence)* Coverage of data acquisition (big data), wearable technology for collecting health data, climate change, and more.* Unique chapters on psychosocial epidemiology, environmental and occupation health, molecular and genetic epidemiology, and career options * Refreshed examples, updated tables and figures throughout the text

Equity and Inclusion in Higher Education by Rita Kumar (Editor); Brenda Refaei (Editor)

Call Number: LC191.94 .E78 2021

ISBN: 9781947602991

Publication Date: 2021-08-19

Americans' perception of college students does not correlate with the reality of the rich diversity seen on university campuses. Over 60% of Americans believe the average age of a college student is 20 years old but, in fact, it's 26.4 years old. Demographics in the classroom are shifting and instructors bear a responsibility to adjust their teaching style and curriculum to be inclusive for all students. Equity and Inclusion for Higher Education Strategies for Teaching, edited by Rita Kumar and Brenda Refaei, details the necessity for an inclusive curriculum with examples of discipline-specific activities and modules. The intersectionality of race, age, socioeconomic status, and ability all embody the diversity college instructors encounter in their classrooms. Through the chapters in this book, the contributors make apparent the "hidden curriculum," which is taught implicitly instead of explicitly. The editors focus on learner-centered environments and accessibility of classroom materials for traditionally marginalized students; a critical part of the labor needed to create an inclusive curriculum. This text provides instructors with resources to create equity-based learning environments. It challenges instructors to see beyond Eurocentric curriculums and expand their pedagogy to include intercultural competence. The contributors challenge the student/instructor dichotomy and embrace collaboration between the two to construct a curriculum that fits all students' needs. The resources and examples in this book demonstrate the importance of inclusion and equity in the classroom. A companion community page provides examples and tools from the editors and contributing authors, which allows for readers to add materials from their own classrooms. This book and collaborative toolkit allow instructors to begin intentional practice of an inclusive curriculum and implement changes to promote respect for diversity.

Harvard Business Review Project Management Handbook by Antonio Nieto-Rodriguez

Call Number: HD69.P75 N533 2021

ISBN: 9781647821258

Publication Date: 2021-10-19

The one primer you need to launch, lead, and sponsor successful projects. We're now living in the project economy. The number of projects initiated in all sectors has skyrocketed, and project management skills have become essential for every leader and manager. Still, project failure rates remain extremely high. Why? Leaders oversee too many projects and have too little visibility into them. Project managers struggle to translate their hands-on, technical knowledge up to senior management. The result? Worthy projects are starved of time and resources and fail to deliver benefits, while too much investment goes into the wrong projects. To compete in the project economy, you need to close this gap. The HBR Project Management Handbook shows you how. In this comprehensive guide, project management expert Antonio Nieto-Rodriguez presents a new and simple framework that will increase any project's likelihood of success. Packed with case studies from many industries worldwide, it will teach you how to manage your organization's projects, strategic programs, and agile initiatives more effectively and push the best ones ahead to completion. Timeless yet forward-looking, this book will help you win in the project-driven world. In the HBR Project Management Handbook you'll find: Everything you need to know about project management in practical, nontechnical language A definitive taxonomy of project types, from product launches to digital transformations to megaprojects A road map for becoming an effective project leader and executive sponsor A new, simple, and universal project framework, the Project Canvas, that breaks down any project into essential building blocks that can be easily understood by all project stakeholders Original concepts and exclusive case studies from public- and private-sector organizations worldwide You'll learn: A common language for project managers and executives to run successful projects across your organization When to use agile, traditional, or hybrid methods in your projects The twelve principles of successful projects, including purpose, agility, and a focus on outcomes Techniques for selecting and advancing the best projects and managing a strategic and balanced project portfolio How today's projects will help address some of the most pressing global trends, including automation, sustainability, diversity, and crisis management Why project management needed to be reinvented and what the future holds HBR Handbooks provide ambitious professionals with the frameworks, advice, and tools they need to excel in their careers. With step-by-step guidance, time-honed best practices, and real-life stories, each comprehensive volume helps you to stand out from the pack—whatever your role.

Killer Instinct by Nadine Weidman

Call Number: Q172.5.P65 W45 2021

ISBN: 9780674983472

Publication Date: 2021-10-26

A historian of science examines key public debates about the fundamental nature of humans to ask why a polarized discourse about nature versus nurture became so entrenched in the popular sciences of animal and human behavior. Are humans innately aggressive or innately cooperative? In the 1960s, bestselling books enthralled American readers with the startling claim that humans possessed an instinct for violence inherited from primate ancestors. Critics responded that humans were inherently loving and altruistic. The resulting debate-fiercely contested and highly public-left a lasting impression on the popular science discourse surrounding what it means to be human. Killer Instinct traces how Konrad Lorenz, Robert Ardrey, and their followers drew on the sciences of animal behavior and paleoanthropology to argue that the aggression instinct drove human evolutionary progress. Their message, spread throughout popular media, brought pointed ripostes. Led by the anthropologist Ashley Montagu, opponents presented a rival vision of human nature, equally based in biological evidence, that humans possessed inborn drives toward love and cooperation. Over the course of the debate, however, each side accused the other of holding an extremist position: that behavior was either determined entirely by genes or shaped solely by environment. Nadine Weidman shows that what started as a dispute over the innate tendencies of animals and humans transformed into an opposition between nature and nurture. This polarized formulation proved powerful. When E. O. Wilson introduced his sociobiology in 1975, he tried to rise above the oppositional terms of the aggression debate. But the controversy over Wilson's work-led by critics like the feminist biologist Ruth Hubbard-was ultimately absorbed back into the nature-versus-nurture formulation. Killer Instinct explores what happens and what gets lost when polemics dominate discussions of the science of human nature.

The Moundbuilders: Ancient Societies of Eastern North America by George R. Milner

Call Number: E78 .E2 M55 2021

ISBN: 9780500295113

Publication Date: 2021-03-09

Hailed by Bruce D. Smith, curator of North American archaeology at the Smithsonian Institution, as "without question the best available book on the pre-Columbian . . . societies of eastern North America," this wide-ranging and richly illustrated volume covers the entire prehistory of the Eastern Woodlands and the thousands of earthen mounds that can be found there, built between 3100 BCE and 1600 CE.The second edition of The Moundbuilders has been brought fully up-to-date, with the latest research on the peopling of the Americas, including more coverage of pre-Clovis groups, new material on Native American communities in the thirteenth to sixteenth centuries CE, and new narratives of migration drawn from ancient and modern DNA. Far-reaching and illustrated throughout, this book is the perfect visual guide to the region for students, tourists, archaeologists, and anyone interested in ancient American history.

Newton, Faraday, Einstein by Tadayoshi Shioyama

Call Number: QC15 .S447 2021

ISBN: 9789811236242

Publication Date: 2021-06-01

"Our lives have benefited immensely from the scientific evolution over the years. This book provides an overview of the lives of three great scientists, Newton, Faraday and Einstein, who made the most significant contributions to physics. Newton and Faraday laid the foundation of Newtonian mechanics and electro-magnetic theory, respectively, that constituted the two greatest contributions to classical physics. Newton elucidated the motion of celestial bodies with the three laws of motion, while Faraday researched electro-magnetic phenomena and discovered electro-magnetic induction, magneto-optical effect, etc. Furthermore, Einstein contributed to the foundation of quantum mechanics and relativity theory which comprise the two greatest theories in modern physics. By elucidating photoelectric effect, Einstein proved the correctness of the concept of quantum proposed by Planck which resulted in quantum mechanics being considered as an epoch-making mechanics following Newtonian mechanics. Einstein renovated the concept of time-space and derived the Lorentz transformation supporting relativity principle. This book will take the readers on a journey to understand the progress from classical physics to modern physics."

Our Astronomical Clockwork: from Ancient Origins to Modern Astronomy of the Solar System by Richard Kerner

Call Number: QB15 .K42 2022

ISBN: 9789811215315

Publication Date: 2020-08-14

This book is a superposition of two distinct narratives: the first is historical, discussing the evolution of astronomical knowledge since the dawn of civilizations; the second is scientific, conveying mathematical and physical content of each advancement. Great scientists of antiquity, Middle Ages and modern times until the 18th century, are presented along with their discoveries, through short biographies and anecdotes. Special care is taken to explain their achievements using mathematical and physical concepts of their time, with modern perspective added only when ancient methodology is too cumbersome or its language hardly understandable to contemporary readers.The book conveys a lot of astronomical facts and data in a pleasant and accessible manner. Almost all findings and discoveries made in ancient times are followed by simple mathematical exercises using basic knowledge, so that the reader can check the assertions himself. The book contains a lot of inedited illustrations. Geometrical schemes are given extra attention to make the examples clear and understandable. The language is simple and accessible to the young audience.

The Politics and Possibilities of Self-Tracking Technology by Suneel Jethani

Call Number: TK7882.W437 J48 2021

ISBN: 9781800433397

Publication Date: 2021-06-18

Collecting data about our lives, our bodies and our behaviours has become a part of everyday practice that promises greater self-awareness, healthier living and increased productivity. This book focuses on the dialectical relationship between users and designers of self-tracking technology to examine how logics of datafication redefine the body. It explores what these emerging relations mean for imagining, designing and analysing sociotechnical systems that bring about self-tracking. Jethani provides a genealogy of self-tracking to situate the notions of quantified and quantifiable selves as problematic data regimes within contemporary digital culture. It charts the origins of self-tracking from within the blueprint of the "Californian Ideology" to a global social movement which now reaches beyond self-experimentation to encompass the wider trajectories of using wearable sensor technology in the neoliberal management of health, wellbeing and productivity. The book reframes and theorises the quantified self by re-examining and developing arguments of how bodies "disappear" (Jewson), are made "docile" (Foucault) and get caught up in "rhythms" (Lefebvre) by datafication. The concept of a "quantised" self is introduced as a means of reading into and exposing the inherent political interests being served when self-tracking technology is introduced into clinical, home and workplace settings. Drawing from case studies of self-tracking in practice, the final chapter sketches the outline of a mutual praxis of critique and design that allows us to reimagine the politics embedded in sociotechnical systems of self-tracking and to consider possibilities of intervention

Remote Work Revolution by Tsedal Neeley

Call Number: HD2336.3 .N44 2021

ISBN: 0063068303

Publication Date: 2021-03-30

LONGLISTED FOR THE FINANCIAL TIMES & MCKINSEY BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR "I often talk about the importance of trust when it comes to work: the trust of your employees and building trust with your customers. This book provides a blueprint for how to build and maintain that trust and connection in a digital environment." --Eric S. Yuan, founder and CEO of Zoom A Harvard Business School professor and leading expert in virtual and global work provides remote workers and leaders with the best practices necessary to perform at the highest levels in their organizations. The rapid and unprecedented changes brought on by Covid-19 have accelerated the transition to remote working, requiring the wholesale migration of nearly entire companies to virtual work in just weeks, leaving managers and employees scrambling to adjust. This massive transition has forced companies to rapidly advance their digital footprint, using cloud, storage, cybersecurity, and device tools to accommodate their new remote workforce. Experiencing the benefits of remote working--including nonexistent commute times, lower operational costs, and a larger pool of global job applicants--many companies, including Twitter and Google, plan to permanently incorporate remote days or give employees the option to work from home full-time. But virtual work has it challenges. Employees feel lost, isolated, out of sync, and out of sight. They want to know how to build trust, maintain connections without in-person interactions, and a proper work/life balance. Managers want to know how to lead virtually, how to keep their teams motivated, what digital tools they'll need, and how to keep employees productive. Providing compelling, evidence-based answers to these and other pressing issues, Remote Work Revolution is essential for navigating the enduring challenges teams and managers face. Filled with specific actionable steps and interactive tools, this timely book will help team members deliver results previously out of reach. Following Neeley's advice, employees will be able to break through routine norms to successfully use remote work to benefit themselves, their groups, and ultimately their organizations.

The Self-Taught Computer Scientist by Cory Althoff

Call Number: QA76.27 .A48 2022

ISBN: 9781119724414

Publication Date: 2021-10-19

The Self-Taught Computer Scientist is Cory Althoff's follow-up to The Self-Taught Programmer, which inspired hundreds of thousands of professionals to learn how to program outside of school. In The Self-Taught Programmer, Cory showed readers why you don't need a computer science degree to program professionally and taught the programming fundamentals he used to go from a complete beginner to a software engineer at eBay without one. In The Self-Taught Computer Scientist, Cory teaches you the computer science concepts that all self-taught programmers should understand to have outstanding careers. The Self-Taught Computer Scientist will not only make you a better programmer; it will also help you pass your technical interview: the interview all programmers have to pass to land a new job. Whether you are preparing to apply for jobs or sharpen your computer science knowledge, reading The Self-Taught Computer Scientist will improve your programming career. It's written for complete beginners, so you should have no problem reading it even if you've never studied computer science before.

The Sum of Us by Heather McGhee

Call Number: E185.8 .M38 2021

ISBN: 9780525509561

Publication Date: 2021-02-16

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD * One of today's most insightful and influential thinkers offers a powerful exploration of inequality and the lesson that generations of Americans have failed to learn: Racism has a cost for everyone--not just for people of color. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST * LONGLISTED FOR THE ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL * "This is the book I've been waiting for."--Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist Heather McGhee's specialty is the American economy--and the mystery of why it so often fails the American public. From the financial crisis of 2008 to rising student debt to collapsing public infrastructure, she found a root problem: racism in our politics and policymaking. But not just in the most obvious indignities for people of color. Racism has costs for white people, too. It is the common denominator of our most vexing public problems, the core dysfunction of our democracy and constitutive of the spiritual and moral crises that grip us all. But how did this happen? And is there a way out? McGhee embarks on a deeply personal journey across the country from Maine to Mississippi to California, tallying what we lose when we buy into the zero-sum paradigm--the idea that progress for some of us must come at the expense of others. Along the way, she meets white people who confide in her about losing their homes, their dreams, and their shot at better jobs to the toxic mix of American racism and greed. This is the story of how public goods in this country--from parks and pools to functioning schools--have become private luxuries; of how unions collapsed, wages stagnated, and inequality increased; and of how this country, unique among the world's advanced economies, has thwarted universal healthcare. But in unlikely places of worship and work, McGhee finds proof of what she calls the Solidarity Dividend: the benefits we gain when people come together across race to accomplish what we simply can't do on our own. The Sum of Us is not only a brilliant analysis of how we arrived here but also a heartfelt message, delivered with startling empathy, from a black woman to a multiracial America. It leaves us with a new vision for a future in which we finally realize that life can be more than a zero-sum game

When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky by Margaret Verble

Call Number: PS3622.E733 W48 2021

ISBN: 9780358554837

Publication Date: 2021-10-12

Louise Erdrich meets Karen Russell in this deliciously strange and daringly original novel from Pulitzer Prize finalist Margaret Verble: set in 1926 Nashville, it follows a death-defying young Cherokee horse-diver who, with her companions from the Glendale Park Zoo, must get to the bottom of a mystery that spans centuries. Two Feathers, a young Cherokee horse-diver on loan to Glendale Park Zoo from a Wild West show, is determined to find her own way in the world. Two's closest friend at Glendale is Hank Crawford, who loves horses almost as much as she does. He is part of a high-achieving, land-owning Black family. Neither Two nor Hank fit easily into the highly segregated society of 1920s Nashville. When disaster strikes during one of Two's shows, strange things start to happen at the park. Vestiges of the ancient past begin to surface, apparitions appear, and then the hippo falls mysteriously ill. At the same time, Two dodges her unsettling, lurking admirer and bonds with Clive, Glendale's zookeeper and a World War I veteran, who is haunted--literally--by horrific memories of war. To get to the bottom of it, an eclectic cast of park performers, employees, and even the wealthy stakeholders must come together, making When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky an unforgettable and irresistible tale of exotic animals, lingering spirits, and unexpected friendship.

E-books

99 Tips for Creating Simple and Sustainable Educational Videos by Karen Costa; Michelle Pacansky-Brock (Foreword by)

ISBN: 1642670863

Publication Date: 2020-04-07

The research is clear: online learning works best when faculty build regular, positive, and interactive relationships with students. A strategy that helps forge such a relationship is the use of videos. Student satisfaction and course engagement levels also increase with the use of instructor-generated videos - the subject of this book. Beginning by outlining the different types of videos you can create, and what the research says about their effectiveness, Karen Costa explains how they can be designed to reinforce learning, to align with and promote course outcomes, and to save you time across your courses. She then describes how to create successful videos with commonly available technologies such as your smartphone, and without a major investment of time, demonstrating the simple steps she took to develop her bank of videos and build her confidence to deliver short, straightforward learning aids that are effective and personal. Embedded QR codes in the text enable you to view sample videos and screencasts that bring the book's advice to life as you read. If you've been wanting to include videos in your teaching but haven't found the time or confidence, this book will help you to develop a simple and sustainable video development process, supporting both your success and the success of your students.

Sociology: a Brief Introduction by Richard T. Schaefer

Call Number: HM585 .S33 2021

ISBN: 9781260696981

Publication Date: 2021-01-21

Sociology: A Brief Introduction invites students to take sociology with them in their daily lives. This successful student-friendly program includes strong coverage of race, ethnicity, and globalization. The approachable material encourages students to develop their sociological imaginations and start to think like a sociologist. Paired with McGraw Hill Connect®, a personal and adaptive learning experience, students learn to apply sociology's three theoretical frameworks to the world around them.

Understanding Gravitational Waves by C. R. Kitchin

ISBN: 9783030742065

Publication Date: 2021-09-24

The birth of a completely new branch of observational astronomy is a rare and exciting occurrence. For a long time, our theories about gravitational waves--proposed by Albert Einstein and others more than a hundred years ago--could never be fully proven, since we lacked the proper technology to do it. That all changed when, on September 14, 2015, instruments at the LIGO Observatory detected gravitational waves for the first time. This book explores the nature of gravitational waves--what they are, where they come from, why they are so significant and why nobody could prove they existed before now. Written in plain language and interspersed with additional explanatory tutorials, it will appeal to lay readers, science enthusiasts, physical science students, amateur astronomers and to professional scientists and astronomers.

Women Have Always Worked by Alice Kessler-Harris

ISBN: 9780252050626

Publication Date: 2018-10-10

A classic since its original publication, Women Have Always Worked brought much-needed insight into the ways work has shaped female lives and sensibilities. Beginning in the colonial era, Alice Kessler-Harris looks at the public and private work spheres of diverse groups of women--housewives and trade unionists, immigrants and African Americans, professionals and menial laborers, and women from across the class spectrum. She delves into issues ranging from the gendered nature of the success ethic to the social activism and the meaning of citizenship for female wage workers. This second edition adds artwork and features significant updates. A new chapter by Kessler-Harris follows women into the early twenty-first century as they confront barriers of race, sex, and class to earn positions in the new information society.

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

Art & Design
Business & Economics
Communication
Criminal Justice
Design, Architecture, Art & Planning
Education
Engineering & Technology
General / Multi-subject
Government & Political Science
Health Sciences
History
K-12 Resources
Law
Philosophy & Religion
Psychology
Sociology & Social Work
United States
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies
World

Return to Blog

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

December 2021 Featured New Books

New at UC Clermont Library

E-books

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

December 2021 Featured New Books

New at UC Clermont Library

E-books

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.