New Books Blog - New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

March 2022 Featured New Books

by Emily Wages on 2022-03-07T10:36:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

New at Clermont College Library

Best New Poets 2021 by Kaveh Akbar (Editor); Jeb Livingood (Editor)

Call Number: PN6101 .B395 2021

ISBN: 0997562358

Publication Date: 2022-02-07

Praise for earlier editions: "[A] reminder that contemporary poetry is not only alive and well but continuing to grow."-- Publishers Weekly
"This collection stands out among the crowd claiming to represent emergent poets. Much of the editing and preliminary reading was done by emerging poets themselves, which results in an anthology that's fresh and eclectic, and may actually represent a significant portion of the best new poetry being written by the next generation."-- Virginia Quarterly Review

Entering its seventeenth year, Best New Poets has established itself as a crucial venue for rising poets and a valuable resource for poetry lovers. The only publication of its kind, this annual anthology is made up exclusively of work by writers who have not yet published a full-length book. The poems included in this eclectic sampling represent the best from the many that have been nominated by the country's top literary magazines and writing programs, as well as some two thousand additional poems submitted through an open online competition. The work of the fifty writers represented here provides the best perspective available on the continuing vitality of poetry as it is being practiced today.

ALWD Guide to Legal Citation by Carolyn V. Williams

ISBN: 1543831222

Publication Date: 2021-05-05

Organizing legal citation into 40 thoroughly cogent and illustrated rules, the Guide is the ideal coursebook, supplement, or stand-alone reference for American legal citation. Students, law review staff, scholars, and practitioners can rely on the Guide 7E to provide precise citation rules for the full spectrum of legal sources, consistent with national standards. The clear explanations, examples, diagrams, and quick-reference tables in the Guide make teaching and researching legal citation efficient and stress-free for all. New to the Seventh Edition: Expanded and updated coverage of how to cite to the multitude of e-sources that practitioners and students use when conducting legal research in the real world today, including new and revised component diagrams and examples New appendix helps law review staff writers cross-reference the Guide's citation rules with traditional legal citation standards Updated and revised Guide rules that are consistent with traditional legal citation standards Appendix 5 free online access to expanded list of periodical titles that can be updated frequently Appendix 2 free online access to coverage of local legal citation rules that can be updated frequently Professors and student will benefit from: Coverage of online media, such as e-books, listservs, forums, blogs, and social media Tips and directions for finding local rules Citing to case reporters, statutes, legislation, and regulations found on e-sources "Academic Formatting" icons note differences in citation style between academic legal writing and professional legal writing Fast Formats preview and refresh understanding of essential citation components Screenshots from electronic sources and snapshots of actual pages Sidebars explain the "why" of legal citations and how to avoid common errors Sample citation diagrams that illustrate the essential components of citation construction Cross-references within each rule connects content in other rules or in the Appendices Over 140 subsections with information not found in a traditional legal citation manual Detailed Appendices with abbreviations for use in citations and with information not found in other sources such as: Peer reviewed local court citation conventions, websites, and other resources Additional periodicals with full title abbreviations so writers do not have to memorize spacing rules to assemble abbreviations themselves Comprehensive rules for citing federal taxation materials

Opioid Reckoning by Amy C. Sullivan

Call Number: RC568.O45|bS85 2021

ISBN: 1517908639

Publication Date: 2021-10-19

Examines the complexity and the humanity of the opioid epidemic America's opioid epidemic continues to ravage families and communities, despite intense media coverage, federal legislation, criminal prosecutions, and harm reduction efforts to prevent overdose deaths. More than 450,000 Americans have died from opioid overdoses since the late 1990s. In Opioid Reckoning, Amy C. Sullivan explores the complexity of the crisis through firsthand accounts of people grappling with the reverberating effects of stigma, treatment, and recovery. Nearly everyone in the United States has been touched in some way by the opioid epidemic, including the author and her family. Sullivan uses her own story as a launching point to learn how the opioid epidemic challenged longstanding recovery protocols in Minnesota, a state internationally recognized for pioneering addiction treatment. By centering the voices of many people who have experienced opioid use, treatment, recovery, and loss, Sullivan exposes the devastating effects of a one-size-fits-all approach toward treatment of opioid dependency. Taking a clear-eyed, nonjudgmental perspective of every aspect of these issues--drug use, parenting, harm reduction, medication, abstinence, and stigma--Opioid Reckoning questions current treatment models, healthcare inequities, and the criminal justice system. Sullivan also imagines a future where anyone suffering an opioid-use disorder has access to the individualized care, without judgment, available to those with other health problems. Opioid Reckoning presents a captivating look at how the state that invented "rehab" addresses the challenges of the opioid epidemic and its overdose deaths while also taking readers into the intimate lives of families, medical and social work professionals, grassroots activists, and many others impacted by the crisis who contribute their insights and potential solutions. In sharing these stories and chronicling their lessons, Sullivan offers a path forward that cultivates empathy, love, and hope for anyone affected by chaotic drug use and its harms.

Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

Call Number: PR6059.S5 K57 2021

ISBN: 0593311299

Publication Date: 2022-03-01

Once in a great while, a book comes along that changes our view of the world. This magnificent novel from the Nobel laureate and author of Never Let Me Go is "an intriguing take on how artificial intelligence might play a role in our futures ... a poignant meditation on love and loneliness" (The Associated Press).

Here is the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, from her place in the store, watches carefully the behavior of those who come in to browse, and of those who pass on the street outside. She remains hopeful that a customer will soon choose her. Klara and the Sun is a thrilling book that offers a look at our changing world through the eyes of an unforgettable narrator, and one that explores the fundamental question: what does it mean to love?

Ozark Voices by Alex Sandy Primm

Call Number: F417.O9 2022

ISBN: 1476686173

Publication Date: 2022-02-08

Discover the stories passed down over time from the people of the Ozark region. Oral history is shared through the years to provide a perspective on the landscape and people who inhabit the beautiful, culturally rich area. These oral histories show essential connections among settlers in a challenging landscape. Written to inspire history buffs, outdoor enthusiasts, travelers, tycoons in training and students of all ages, this path-breaking collection will take readers deep into a region averse to change, tricky to know, yet brimming with American culture.

American Religious History [3 Volumes] by Gary Scott Smith (Editor)

Call Number: BL2525|b.A4425 2021

ISBN: 1440861609

Publication Date: 2020-12-07

A mix of thematic essays, reference entries, and primary source documents covering the role of religion in American history and life from the colonial era to the present. Often controversial, religion has been an important force in shaping American culture. Religious convictions strongly influenced colonial and state governments as well as the United States as a new republic. Religious teachings, values, and practices deeply affected political structures and policies, economic ideology and practice, educational institutions and instruction, social norms and customs, marriage, and family life. By analyzing religion's interaction with American culture and prominent religious leaders and ideologies, this reference helps readers to better understand many fascinating, often controversial, religious leaders, ideas, events, and topics. The work is organized in three volumes devoted to particular periods. Volume one includes a chronology highlighting key events related to religion in American history and an introduction that overviews religion in America during the period covered by the volume, and roughly 10 essays that explore significant themes. These essays are followed by approximately 120 alphabetically arranged reference entries providing objective, fundamental information about topics related to religion in America. Each volume presents nearly 50 primary source documents, each introduced by a contextualizing headnote. A selected, general bibliography closes volume three. Timelines in each volume highlight key events in American religious history Some 30 essays survey broad themes central to American religious history Roughly 360 reference entries provide fundamental information about specific topics related to religion in American history Excerpts from around 150 primary source documents provide first-hand accounts of how religion has shaped American history Entry bibliographies and a selected, general, end-of-work bibliography direct users to additional information resources

Unequal Cities by Maureen R. Benjamins; Fernando De Maio

Call Number: RA418|b.U54 2021

ISBN: 1421440997

Publication Date: 2021-09-07

Across the United States, Black people have shorter life expectancies than white people--reflecting structural racism and deep-rooted drivers of population health. But are some cities more equal than others? The elimination of racial and ethnic inequities--differences that are avoidable, unnecessary, and unfair--has been one of the overarching health-related goals of the United States for decades. Yet dramatic differences in health outcomes between Black people and white people persist, rooted in structural and social determinants of health. Nationally, a Black baby can expect to live four years less than a white baby. But mortality outcomes and inequities vary widely across cities. In Washington, DC, for example, the average life expectancy for Blacks is twelve years less than that of whites. But in other cities, mortality differences between races are less striking or nonexistent. If health equity can be achieved in some cities, why not all? This is arguably the most important health equity issue of our time. In Unequal Cities, Maureen R. Benjamins and Fernando G. De Maio gather a team of experts to explore these racial inequities, as well as the ten-year gap in life expectancy between our healthiest and unhealthiest big cities. Rigorous analyses give readers access to previously unavailable data on life expectancy, mortality from leading causes of death, and related Black-white inequities for the country's 30 biggest cities. The theoretically grounded essays also explore how characteristics of cities, including their levels of income inequality and racial segregation, impact overall health and Black-white inequities. The first book to specifically examine racial health inequities within and across US cities, Unequal Cities offers a social justice framework for addressing the newly identified inequities, as well as specific case studies to help public health advocates, civic leaders, and other stakeholders envision the steps needed to improve their cities' current health outcomes and achieve racial equity. A powerful call to action for health equity advocates and city leaders alike, this book is essential reading. Contributors: David Ansell, Darlene Oliver Hightower, Jana Hirschtick, Sharon Homan, Ayesha Jaco, Emily LaFlamme, Brittney S. Lange-Maia, Kristin Monnard, Nikhil G. Prachand, Pamela T. Roesch, Michael Rozier, Nazia Saiyed, Eve Shapiro, Abigail Silva, Veenu Verma, the West Side United Metrics Working Group, Ruqaiijah Yearby

Six Days in Cincinnati by Dan Méndez Moore (Illustrator)

Call Number: HV6483.C5|bM6 2017

ISBN: 1621068005

Publication Date: 2017-06-13

This is the graphic history of the 2001 Cincinnati riots, told for the first time from the perspective of the participants. When Timothy Thomas, a 19-year-old black man, was fatally shot by police, the city broke out into nonviolent civil disobedience that was met with further police violence. This was the first major uprising of the 21st Century, matched only by the LA riots a decade before and the protests in Ferguson over a decade later. Author and illustrator Dan Mendez Moore was 17 at the time when he participated in the six days of protests.

Extraterrestrial by Avi Loeb

Call Number: QB54.L63 2021

ISBN: 9780358645535

Publication Date: 2022-02-22

New York Times bestselling author of Einstein's Dreams and Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine, Harvard's top astronomer lays out his controversial theory that our solar system was recently visited by advanced alien technology from a distant star. In late 2017, scientists at a Hawaiian observatory glimpsed an object soaring through our inner solar system, moving so quickly that it could only have come from another star. Avi Loeb, Harvard's top astronomer, showed it was not an asteroid; it was moving too fast along a strange orbit, and left no trail of gas or debris in its wake. There was only one conceivable explanation: the object was a piece of advanced technology created by a distant alien civilization. In Extraterrestrial, Loeb takes readers inside the thrilling story of the first interstellar visitor to be spotted in our solar system. He outlines his controversial theory and its profound implications: for science, for religion, and for the future of our species and our planet. A mind-bending journey through the furthest reaches of science, space-time, and the human imagination, Extraterrestrial challenges readers to aim for the stars--and to think critically about what's out there, no matter how strange it seems.

Dopamine Nation by Anna Lembke

ISBN: 9781524746735

Publication Date: 2021-08-24

This book is about pleasure. It's also about pain. Most important, it's about how to find the delicate balance between the two, and why now more than ever finding balance is essential. We're living in a time of unprecedented access to high-reward, high-dopamine stimuli: drugs, food, news, gambling, shopping, gaming, texting, sexting, Facebooking, Instagramming, YouTubing, tweeting... The increased numbers, variety, and potency is staggering. The smartphone is the modern-day hypodermic needle, delivering digital dopamine 24/7 for a wired generation. As such we've all become vulnerable to compulsive overconsumption.

In Dopamine Nation, Dr. Anna Lembke, psychiatrist and author, explores the exciting new scientific discoveries that explain why the relentless pursuit of pleasure leads to pain...and what to do about it. Condensing complex neuroscience into easy-to-understand metaphors, Lembke illustrates how finding contentment and connectedness means keeping dopamine in check. The lived experiences of her patients are the gripping fabric of her narrative. Their riveting stories of suffering and redemption give us all hope for managing our consumption and transforming our lives. In essence, Dopamine Nation shows that the secret to finding balance is combining the science of desire with the wisdom of recovery.

Broken Scales by Tom Diaz

ISBN: 9781538138502

Publication Date: 2021-10-15

This book analyzes the everyday actions of ordinary people in the context of extreme political and cultural polarization, distort the criminal justice system and betray the lofty ideals expressed in American founding documents and centuries of Anglo-American articulations of basic human rights.

The Harlan Renaissance by William H. Turner

Call Number: E185.912 .T87 2021

ISBN: 9781952271212

Publication Date: 2021-10-30

A personal remembrance from the preeminent chronicler of Black life in Appalachia. The Harlan Renaissance is an intimate remembrance of kinship and community in eastern Kentucky's coal towns written by one of the luminaries of Appalachian studies, William Turner. Turner reconstructs Black life in the company towns in and around Harlan County during coal's final postwar boom years, which built toward an enduring bust as the children of Black miners, like the author, left the region in search of better opportunities. The Harlan Renaissance invites readers into what might be an unfamiliar Appalachia: one studded by large and vibrant Black communities, where families took the pulse of the nation through magazines like Jet and Ebony and through the news that traveled within Black churches, schools, and restaurants. Difficult choices for the future were made as parents considered the unpredictable nature of Appalachia's economic realities alongside the unpredictable nature of a national movement toward civil rights. Unfolding through layers of sociological insight and oral history, The Harlan Renaissance centers the sympathetic perspectives and critical eye of a master narrator of Black life.

Ginseng Diggers by Luke Manget

Call Number: HD9675.B683 A66 2022

ISBN: 9780813183817

Publication Date: 2022-03-08

The harvesting of wild American ginseng (panax quinquefolium), the gnarled, aromatic herb known for its therapeutic and healing properties, is deeply established in North America and has played an especially vital role in the southern and central Appalachian Mountains. Traded through a trans-Pacific network that connected the region to East Asian markets, ginseng was but one of several medicinal Appalachian plants that entered international webs of exchange. As the production of patent medicines and botanical pharmaceutical products escalated in the mid- to late-nineteenth century, southern Appalachia emerged as the United States' most prolific supplier of many species of medicinal plants. The region achieved this distinction because of its biodiversity and the persistence of certain common rights that guaranteed widespread access to the forested mountainsides, regardless of who owned the land. Following the Civil War, root digging and herb gathering became one of the most important ways landless families and small farmers earned income from the forest commons. This boom influenced class relations, gender roles, forest use, and outside perceptions of Appalachia, and began a widespread renegotiation of common rights that eventually curtailed access to ginseng and other plants. Based on extensive research into the business records of mountain entrepreneurs, country stores, and pharmaceutical companies, Ginseng Diggers: A History of Root and Herb Gathering in Appalachia is the first book to unearth the unique relationship between the Appalachian region and the global trade in medicinal plants. Historian Luke Manget expands our understanding of the gathering commons by exploring how and why Appalachia became the nation's premier purveyor of botanical drugs in the late-nineteenth century and how the trade influenced the way residents of the region interacted with each other and the forests around them.

The Burnout Epidemic by Jennifer Moss

Call Number: RA785 .M69 2021

ISBN: 9781647820367

Publication Date: 2021-09-28

Named to the shortlist for the 2021 Outstanding Works of Literature (OWL) Award in the Management & Culture Category In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough--in fact, it's not even close. If we're going to solve this problem, organizations must take the lead in developing an antiburnout strategy that moves beyond apps, wellness programs, and perks. In this eye-opening, paradigm-shifting, and practical guide, Jennifer Moss lays bare the real causes of burnout and how organizations can stop the chronic stress cycle that an alarming number of workers suffer through. The Burnout Epidemic explains: What causes burnout--and what organizations can do to prevent it Why traditional wellness initiatives fall short How companies can build an antiburnout strategy based on prevention, not perks How leaders can measure burnout in their own organizations What leaders can do to develop a healthier culture that prioritizes resilience and curiosity As the pandemic has shown, self-care is important, but it's not a cure-all for burnout. Employers need to do more. With fascinating research, new findings from the pandemic, and interviews with business leaders around the globe, The Burnout Epidemic offers readers insightful and actionable advice that will empower them to help themselves--and their employees--feel healthier and happier at work.

The Other Dark Matter by Lina Zeldovich

Call Number: TD741 .Z45 2021

ISBN: 9780226615578

Publication Date: 2021-11-19

Grossly ambitious and rooted in scientific scholarship, The Other Dark Matter shows how human excrement can be a life-saving, money-making resource--if we make better use of it. The average person produces about four hundred pounds of excrement a year. More than seven billion people live on this planet. Holy crap! Because of the diseases it spreads, we have learned to distance ourselves from our waste, but the long line of engineering marvels we've created to do so--from Roman sewage systems and medieval latrines to the immense, computerized treatment plants we use today--has also done considerable damage to the earth's ecology. Now scientists tell us: we've been wasting our waste. When recycled correctly, this resource, cheap and widely available, can be converted into a sustainable energy source, act as an organic fertilizer, provide effective medicinal therapy for antibiotic-resistant bacterial infection, and much more. In clear and engaging prose that draws on her extensive research and interviews, Lina Zeldovich documents the massive redistribution of nutrients and sanitation inequities across the globe. She profiles the pioneers of poop upcycling, from startups in African villages to innovators in American cities that convert sewage into fertilizer, biogas, crude oil, and even life-saving medicine. She breaks taboos surrounding sewage disposal and shows how hygienic waste repurposing can help battle climate change, reduce acid rain, and eliminate toxic algal blooms. Ultimately, she implores us to use our innate organic power for the greater good. Don't just sit there and let it go to waste.

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

Business & Economics
Communication
Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Technology
Government & Political Science
Health Sciences
History
Law
Philosophy & Religion
Psychology
Sociology & Social Work

Return to Blog

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

March 2022 Featured New Books

New at Clermont College Library

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

New Materials at Frederick A. Marcotte Library

March 2022 Featured New Books

New at Clermont College Library

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.