Marcotte Library Digital Displays - Frederick A. Marcotte Library Digital Display - Research Guides at University of Cincinnati

October 2025 Marcotte Library Displays

by Emily Wages on 2025-09-30T10:57:42-04:00 | 0 Comments

On Display in the Library: Hispanic Heritage Month Sept 15 - Oct 15, 2025

Beyond la Frontera by Mark Overmyer-Velázquez

Call Number: E184.M5 B497 2011

ISBN: 9780195382228

Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Mexican migration to the United States has comprised the world's largest sustained movement of migratory workers in the twentieth century. Given the current and persistent contentiousness surrounding the issues of legal and undocumented migration in Mexican and U.S. politics, it is time for a broad, binational historical perspective that assesses the development and impact of migratory trends and practices as they developed in Mexico and the United States through the twentieth century. An increased and well-established migratory flow in the first decades of the twentieth century prompted the beginning of significant immigration and emigration legislation that established enduring patterns in the binational relationship between the United States and Mexico. Throughout the century, U.S. immigrant legislation has consistently and strategically constructed the Mexican migrant first as a temporary and then as an illegal, unassimilable racialized other, a permanent outsider used to fill the critical labor demands of an expanding industrialized economy. For its part, Mexico, always in a subordinate political and economic position vis-à-vis the United States, initially used its emigration policies to attempt to prevent the flight of its working citizens and then during World War II reversed its position to facilitate an out-migration that yielded economic gains through remittances and relief from unemployment and rapid population growth. Although the implementation or absence of regulatory measures depended upon an array of historical and locally determined factors, the binational economic need for migrant labor and the perceived racial composition of migrants and their membership in the nation-state remained fundamental to legislative practices.

Chicano Folklore by Rafaela G. Castro

Call Number: GR111.M49 C37 2001

ISBN: 9780195146394

Publication Date: 2001-11-29

Did you know that barrio is a term for a Chicano neighborhood, and that some of the oldest barrios can be found in major U.S. cities, like Los Angeles, Chicago, El Paso, and San Antonio? Or that menudo is actually a soup-type dish made with tripe, the stomach lining of a cow, and typically eaten early in the morning after big holiday celebrations to cure a hangover? Chicano Folklore is replete with such interesting and often surprising facts about Mexican American culture. Even before the United States-Mexican War in 1848, when 80,000 Spanish-Mexican-Indian people suddenly became inhabitants of the United States, people of Spanish and Mexican descent had a rich and unique culture in what is now the American southwest. Understanding Chicano folklore, or the customs, rituals, and traditional cultural forms that Mexican Americans share, is extremely significant to comprehending the Chicano experience. Chicano Folklore is the first reference book to focus wholly on this subject. From burrito (literally little burro or little donkey) to zoot suit (a style of suit worn by Mexican Americans, African Americans, and Filipino Americans during the 1930s and 1940s), the dictionary's more than 225 in-depth passages thoroughly explain the meaning and background of each cultural term. We learn about the music, religious practices, food, and key historical and mythical figures that make Chicano folklore so vibrant. The detailed, immensely informative passages of Chicano Folklore will entertain and educate anyone interested in understanding Chicano culture and the colorful impact it has had on America as a whole.

¿de Veras? by Mikaela Jae Renz (Editor); Shelle VanEtten-Luaces (Editor)

Call Number: PS591.H58 D4 2008

ISBN: 9780826343598

Publication Date: 2008-04-16

Features a collection of poems, essays, and stories written in the Voces program between 2002 and 2006 that represent the diversity of perspectives and individuality of voices of the young creators. These writings reflect the authors' courage to examine their lives, their neighborhoods, their families, and their cultures.

The DREAMers by Walter J. Nicholls

Call Number: JV6477 .N53 2013

ISBN: 9780804788847

Publication Date: 2013-08-21

On May 17, 2010, four undocumented students occupied the Arizona office of Senator John McCain. Across the country a flurry of occupations, hunger strikes, demonstrations, and marches followed, calling for support of the DREAM Act that would allow these young people the legal right to stay in the United States. The highly public, confrontational nature of these actions marked a sharp departure from more subdued, anonymous forms of activism of years past. The DREAMers provides the first investigation of the youth movement that has transformed the national immigration debate, from its start in the early 2000s through the present day. Walter Nicholls draws on interviews, news stories, and firsthand encounters with activists to highlight the strategies and claims that have created this now-powerful voice in American politics. Facing high levels of anti-immigrant sentiment across the country, undocumented youths sought to increase support for their cause and change the terms of debate by arguing for their unique position--as culturally integrated, long term residents and most importantly as "American" youth sharing in core American values. Since 2010 undocumented activists have increasingly claimed their own space in the public sphere, asserting a right to recognition--a right to have rights. Ultimately, through the story of the undocumented youth movement, The DREAMers shows how a stigmatized group--whether immigrants or others--can gain a powerful voice in American political debate.

HisPanic by Geraldo Rivera

Call Number: JV6475 .R58 2008

ISBN: 9780451224149

Publication Date: 2008-02-26

A rare, unflinching look at one of todays most important issuesfrom one of todays most well-known journalists. In this insightful, well-researched book, Peabody and Emmy® Award-winning journalist Geraldo Rivera examines the growth of the Hispanic population in the U.S., fueled partly by what may be the single most divisive issue in America today: illegal immigration. With objective clarity and personal conviction, Rivera sheds light on an issue that is muddled with confusion and prejudice and too often blamed for everything from terrorism to welfare. Examining the pasthis own parents struggle to be real Americans, as well as the plight of other ethnic groups in their quest for that dreamRivera places the issue of illegal immigration in a historic context, dispelling the myth that we are facing an unprecedented crisis. A vital contribution to the ongoing debate about immigration, His Panicis destined to reshape the way Americans view the future of our country.

How to Love a Country by Richard Blanco

Call Number: PS3552.L36533 A6 2019

ISBN: 9780807043073

Publication Date: 2020-03-24

A timely and moving collection from the renowned inaugural poet on issues facing our country and people-immigration, gun violence, racism, LGBTQ issues, and more. Through an oracular yet intimate and accessible voice, Richard Blanco addresses the complexities and contradictions of our nationhood and the unresolved sociopolitical matters that affect us all. Blanco digs deep into the very marrow of our nation through poems that interrogate our past and present, grieve our injustices, and note our flaws, but also remember to celebrate our ideals and cling to our hopes. Charged with the utopian idea that no single narrative is more important than another, this book asserts that America could and ought someday to be a country where all narratives converge into one, a country we can all be proud to love and where we can all truly thrive. The poems form a mosaic of seemingly varied topics- the Pulse nightclub massacre; an unexpected encounter on a visit to Cuba; the forced exile of 8,500 Navajos in 1868; a lynching in Alabama; the arrival of a young Chinese woman at Angel Island in 1938; the incarceration of a gifted writer; and the poet's abiding love for his partner, who he is finally allowed to wed as a gay man. But despite each poem's unique concern or occasion, all are fundamentally struggling with the overwhelming question of how to love this country.

Intersectional Chicana Feminisms by Aída Hurtado

Call Number: HQ1190.U6 H87 2020

ISBN: 9780816537617

Publication Date: 2020-04-14

Chicana feminisms are living theory deriving value and purpose by affecting social change. Advocating for and demonstrating the importance of an intersectional, multidisciplinary, activist understanding of Chicanas, Intersectional Chicana Feminisms provides a much-needed overview of the key theories, thinkers, and activists that have contributed to Chicana feminist thought. Aída Hurtado, a leading Chicana feminist and scholar, traces the origins of Chicanas' efforts to bring attention to the effects of gender in Chicana and Chicano studies. Highlighting the innovative and pathbreaking methodologies developed within the field of Chicana feminisms--such as testimonio, conocimiento, and autohistoria--this book offers an accessible introduction to Chicana theory, methodology, art, and activism. Hurtado also looks at the newest developments in the field and the future of Chicana feminisms. The book includes short biographies of key Chicana feminists, additional suggested readings, and exercises with each chapter to extend opportunities for engagement in classroom and workshop settings.

Juan Felipe Herrera by Francisco A. Lomelí (Editor); Osiris Aníbal Gómez (Editor)

Call Number: PS3558.E74 J83 2023

ISBN: 9780816549740

Publication Date: 2023-06-20

For the first time, this book presents the distinguished, prolific, and highly experimental writer Juan Felipe Herrera. This wide-ranging collection of essays by leading experts offers critical approaches on Herrera, who transcends ethnic and mainstream poetics. It expertly demonstrates Herrera's versatility, resourcefulness, innovations, and infinite creativity. As a poet Herrera has had an enormous impact within and beyond Chicano poetics. He embodies much of the advancements and innovations found in American and Latin American poetry from the early l970s to the present. His writings have no limits or boundaries, indulging in the quotidian as well as the overarching topics of his era at different periods of his life. Both Herrera and his work are far from being unidimensional. His poetics are eclectic, incessantly diverse, transnational, unorthodox, and distinctive. Reading Herrera is an act of having to rearrange your perceptions about things, events, historical or intra-historical happenings, and people. The essays in this work delve deeply into Juan Felipe Herrera's oeuvre and provide critical perspectives on his body of work. They include discussion of Chicanx indigeneity, social justice, environmental imaginaries, Herrera's knack for challenging theory and poetics, transborder experiences, transgeneric constructions, and children's and young adult literature. This book includes an extensive interview with the poet and a voluminous bibliography on everything by, about, and on the author. The chapters in this book offer a deep dive into the life and work of an internationally beloved poet who, along with serving as the poet laureate of California and the U.S. poet laureate, creates work that fosters a deep understanding of and appreciation for people's humanity. Contributors Trevor Boffone Marina Bernardo-Flórez Manuel de Jesús Hernández-G. Whitney DeVos Michael Dowdy Osiris Aníbal Gómez Carmen González Ramos Cristina Herrera María Herrera-Sobek Francisco A. Lomelí Tom Lutz Manuel M. Martín-Rodríguez Marzia Milazzo Maria Antònia Oliver-Rotger Rafael Pérez-Torres Renato Rosaldo Donaldo W. Urioste Luis Alberto Urrea Santiago Vaquera-Vásquez

Latin American Folktales by John Bierhorst

Call Number: GR111.H57 L37 2002

ISBN: 9780375714399

Publication Date: 2003-09-09

The wisdom and artistry of storytellers from Hispanic and Indian traditionspreserve one of the world's richest folktale traditions-combining the lore of medieval Europe, the ancient Near East, and pre-Columbian America. Gathered from twenty countries, including the United States, the stories are brought together here in a core collection of one hundred tales arranged in the form of a velorio, or wake, the most frequent occasion for public storytelling. This is the first panoramic anthology of Hispano-American folk narratives in any language. Part of the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library

Latino American Folktales by Thomas A. Green (Editor)

Call Number: GR114 .L37 2009

ISBN: 9780313362996

Publication Date: 2009-03-20

Latino Americans have a powerful voice in society and a wealth of cultural traditions. Fundamental to those traditions are numerous folktales. Some are funny, some draw upon the supernatural, some look back on ancestral ways, and some capture the experience of Latinos in the United States. Written expressly for students and general readers, this book assembles and comments on a wide range of Latino American folktales. These are grouped in topical sections on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural. Each tale is introduced by a headnote, and the volume closes with a selected, general bibliography of print and electronic resources suitable for student research. Students of literature and language will value this book for its exploration of Latino American folktales, while students of history and society will welcome its illumination of the Latino American experience. The more than 30 tales are grouped in thematic sections on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural.

Latino Immigrants in the United States by Ronald L. Mize; Grace Peña Delgado

Call Number: E184.S75 M59 2012

ISBN: 9780745647425

Publication Date: 2012-02-06

This timely and important book introduces readers to the largest and fastest-growing minority group in the United States - Latinos - and their diverse conditions of departure and reception. A central theme of the book is the tension between the fact that Latino categories are most often assigned from above, and how those defined as Latino seek to make sense of and enliven a shared notion of identity from below. Providing a sophisticated introduction to emerging theoretical trends and social formations specific to Latino immigrants, chapters are structured around the topics of Latinidad or the idea of a pan-ethnic Latino identity, pathways to citizenship, cultural citizenship, labor, gender, transnationalism, and globalization. Specific areas of focus include the 2006 marches of the immigrant rights movement and the rise in neoliberal nativism (including both state-sponsored restrictions such as Arizona's SB1070 and the hate crimes associated with Minutemen vigilantism). The book is a valuable contribution to immigration courses in sociology, history, ethnic studies, American Studies, and Latino Studies. It is one of the first, and certainly the most accessible, to fully take into account the plurality of experiences, identities, and national origins constituting the Latino category.

LatinoLand by Marie Arana

Call Number: E184.S75 A839 2024

ISBN: 9781982184896

Publication Date: 2024-02-20

"A perfect representation of Latino diversity" (The Washington Post), LatinoLand draws from hundreds of interviews and prodigious research to give us both a vibrant portrait and the little-known history of our largest and fastest-growing minority, in "a work of prophecy, sympathy, and courage" (Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize-winning author). LatinoLand is an exceptional, all-encompassing overview of Hispanic America based on personal interviews, deep research, and Marie Arana's life experience as a Latina. At present, Latinos comprise twenty percent of the US population, a number that is growing. By 2050, census reports project that one in every three Americans will claim Latino heritage. But Latinos are not a monolith. They do not represent a single group. The largest groups are Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Salvadorans, and Cubans. Each has a different cultural and political background. Puerto Ricans, for example, are US citizens, whereas some Mexican Americans never immigrated because the US-Mexico border shifted after the US invasion of 1848, incorporating what is now the entire southwest of the United States. Cubans came in two great waves: those escaping communism in the early years of Castro, many of whom were professionals and wealthy, and those permitted to leave in the Mariel boat lift twenty years later, representing some of the poorest Cubans, including prisoners. As LatinoLand shows, Latinos were some of the earliest immigrants to what is now the US--some of them arriving in the 1500s. They are racially diverse--a random infusion of white, Black, indigenous, and Asian. Once overwhelmingly Catholic, they are becoming increasingly Protestant and Evangelical. They range from domestic workers and day laborers to successful artists, corporate CEOs, and US senators. Formerly solidly Democratic, they now vote Republican in growing numbers. They are as culturally varied as any immigrants from Europe or Asia. Marie Arana draws on her own experience as the daughter of an American mother and Peruvian father who came to the US at age nine, straddling two worlds, as many Latinos do. "Thorough, accessible, and necessary" (Ms. magazine), LatinoLand unabashedly celebrates Latino resilience and character and shows us why we must understand the fastest-growing minority in America.

Mexicanos by Manuel G. Gonzales

Call Number: E184.M5 2019

ISBN: 9780253041722

Publication Date: 2019-06-05

Responding to shifts in the political and economic experiences of Mexicans in America, this newly revised and expanded edition of Mexicanos provides a relevant and contemporary consideration of this vibrant community. Emerging from the ruins of Aztec civilization and from centuries of Spanish contact with indigenous people, Mexican culture followed the Spanish colonial frontier northward and put its distinctive mark on what became the southwestern United States. Shaped by their Indian and Spanish ancestors, deeply influenced by Catholicism, and often struggling to respond to political and economic precarity, Mexicans play an important role in US society even as the dominant Anglo culture strives to assimilate them. With new maps, updated appendicxes, and a new chapter providing an up-to-date consideration of the immigration debate centered on Mexican communities in the US, this new edition of Mexicanos provides a thorough and balanced contribution to understanding Mexicans' history and their vital importance to 21st-century America.

Espejos y Ventanas (Mirrors and Windows) by Mark Lyons (Editor); August Tarrier (Editor)

Call Number: E184.M5 E87 2004

ISBN: 9780971299665

Publication Date: 2012-05-04

Oral histories of Mexican farmworkers in the Philadelphia region

Other Latinos by Jose Luis Falconi; Jose Antonio Mazzotti (Editor)

Call Number: E184.S75 O84 2008

ISBN: 9780674025899

Publication Date: 2008-02-28

The Other Latinos addresses an important topic: the presence in the United States of Latin American and Caribbean immigrants from countries other than Mexico, Cuba, and Puerto Rico. Focusing on the Andes, Central America, and Brazil, the book brings together essays by a number of accomplished scholars. Michael Jones-Correa's chapter is a lucid study of the complex issues in posing "established" and "other," and "old" and "new" in the discussion of Latino immigrant groups. Helen B. Marrow follows with general observations that bring out the many facets of race, ethnicity, and identity. Claret Vargas analyzes the poetry of Eduardo Mitre, followed by Edmundo Paz Soldán's reflections on Bolivians' "obsessive signs of identity." Nestor Rodriguez discusses the tensions between Mexican and Central American immigrants, while Arturo Arias's piece on Central Americans moves brilliantly between the literary (and the cinematic), the historical, and the material. Four Brazilian chapters complete the work. The editors hope that this introductory work will inspire others to continue these initial inquiries so as to construct a more complete understanding of the realities of Latin American migration into the United States.

Playful Protest by Kristie Soares

Call Number: P94.5.H582 U678 2023

ISBN: 9780252087424

Publication Date: 2023-09-05

Pleasure-based politics in Puerto Rican and Cuban pop culture Joy is a politicized form of pleasure that goes beyond gratification to challenge norms of gender, sexuality, race, and class. Kristie Soares focuses on the diasporic media of Puerto Rico and Cuba to examine how music, public activist demonstrations, social media, sitcoms, and other areas of culture resist the dominant stories told about Latinx joy. As she shows, Latinx creators compose versions of joy central to social and political struggle and at odds with colonialist and imperialist narratives that equate joy with political docility and a lack of intelligence. Soares builds her analysis around chapters that delve into gozando in salsa music, precise joy among the New Young Lords Party, choteo in the comedy ¿Qué Pasa U.S.A.?, azúcar in the life and death of Celia Cruz, dale as Pitbull's signature affect, and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez's use of silliness to take seriously political violence. Daring and original, Playful Protest examines how Latinx creators resist the idea that joy only exists outside politics and activist struggle.

Sudden Fiction Latino by Robert Shapard; James Thomas; Ray Gonzalez

Call Number: PS508.H57 S844 2010

ISBN: 9780393336450

Publication Date: 2010-03-01

For readers who love great short-short stories, this bountiful anthology is the best of Latin American and U.S. Latino writers. Following on the success of the Flash Fiction and Sudden Fiction series, Robert Shapard and James Thomas join with Ray Gonzalez in selecting works that each present a complete story in less than 1,500 words. Luisa Valenzuela, one of Latin America's most lauded writers, provides the introduction. Readers will delight in finding stars such as Junot Díaz, Sandra Cisneros, and Roberto Bolaño alongside recognized masters like Gabriel García Márquez, Isabel Allende, and Jorge Luis Borges. They will discover work from Andrea Saenz, Daniel Alarcón, and Alicita Rodriguez, as well as other writers on the rise. In Julio Ortega's "Migrations," a Peruvian writer explores how immigrant speech and ethnic origins are a force of meaning that evolves beyond language. In "Hair," by Hilma Contreras, a Caribbean pharmacist is driven mad by a young woman's luxuriant tresses. These stories stretch from gritty reality to the fantastical in a mix that is moving, challenging, humorous, artful, sometimes political, and altogether spectacular.

On Display in EPJ: Spooky Season

Abandoned Ohio: Rustbelt Derelicts by Jacob Joseph

Call Number: F492 .J67 2022

ISBN: 9781634993791

Publication Date: 2022-01-24

Captures the story of Northeast Ohio's abandoned factories and neighborhoods, reflecting its once-prosperous past. Like many other areas of the American Midwest, Northeast Ohio is currently experiencing a serious revitalization effort. But this comes after decades of declining population and business closures. Revitalization is slow work, and many areas of former industrial cities like Cleveland and Youngstown are still dotted with abandoned factories, schools, and in some cases, entire neighborhoods of housing sitting empty. Having grown up in this area during the era of the biggest population declines, author and photographer Jacob Joseph became accustomed to seeing empty buildings and overgrown parking lots everywhere he looked. There is certainly something sad about these buildings sitting empty, but they also tell a tale of a time when this region of the country was far more prosperous, and Cleveland was one of the biggest cities in the country. Jacob believes that these stories deserve to be remembered, and these forgotten places should be seen before they're gone forever.

Abandoned Southern Ohio: Unknown and Forgotten by Bonnie Chapman

Call Number: F492 .C49 2023

ISBN: 9781634994590

Publication Date: 2023-05-29

Captures the eerie beauty of decaying buildings in Southern Ohio, preserving forgotten history through photography. Come along as photographer, Bonnie Chapman, takes readers on an exploration through Southern Ohio. Explore unknown and forgotten locations most are unaware of. These photographs were taken to preserve history and serve as a reminder of what once was, allowing readers to look through this book and see the past. Many places are being lost to time and nature. Eventually, this may be the only evidence that these buildings existed. There is an eerie beauty in decaying buildings. The voices of our ancestors echo through schools, industries, and businesses. Catch a glimpse of how they lived and worked through these photos. The history detailed in this book is a small yet important piece of Ohio's past.

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

Call Number: PS3561.I483 A6 2015

ISBN: 9781501111679

Publication Date: 2015-11-03

Includes the story "Premium Harmony"--set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine The masterful #1 New York Times bestselling story collection from O. Henry Prize winner Stephen King that includes twenty-one iconic stories with accompanying autobiographical comments on when, why, and how he came to write (or rewrite) each one. For more than thirty-five years, Stephen King has dazzled readers with his genius as a writer of short fiction. In this collection, he introduces each story with a passage about its origins or his motivations for writing it. As Entertainment Weekly said about this collection: "Bazaar of Bad Dreams is bursting with classic King terror, but what we love most are the thoughtful introductions he gives to each tale that explain what was going on in his life as he wrote it." There are thrilling connections between stories; themes of morality, the afterlife, guilt, what we would do differently if we could see into the future or correct the mistakes of the past. In "Afterlife," a man who died of colon cancer keeps reliving the same life, repeating his mistakes over and over again. Several stories feature characters at the end of life, revisiting their crimes and misdemeanors. Others address what happens when someone discovers that he has supernatural powers--the columnist who kills people by writing their obituaries in "Obits;" the old judge in "The Dune" who, as a boy, canoed to a deserted island and saw names written in the sand, people who then died in freak accidents. In "Morality," King looks at how a marriage and two lives fall apart after the wife and husband enter into what seems, at first, a devil's pact they can win. "I made these stories especially for you," says King. "Feel free to examine them, but please be careful. The best of them have teeth." Stories include: -Mile 81 -Premium Harmony -Batman and Robin Have an Altercation -The Dune -Bad Little Kid -A Death -The Bone Church -Morality -Afterlife -Ur -Herman Wouk Is Still Alive -Under the Weather -Blockade Billy -Mister Yummy -Tommy -The Little Green God of Agony -Cookie Jar -That Bus Is Another World -Obits -Drunken Fireworks -Summer Thunder

The Black Guy Dies First by Robin R. Means Coleman; Mark H. Harris

Call Number: PN1995.9.B585 M43 2023

ISBN: 9781982186531

Publication Date: 2023-02-07

A definitive and surprising exploration of the history of Black horror films, after the rising success of Get Out, Candyman, and Lovecraft Country from creators behind the acclaimed documentary, Horror Noire. The Black Guy Dies First explores the Black journey in modern horror cinema, from the fodder epitomized by Spider Baby to the Oscar-winning cinematic heights of Get Out and beyond. This eye-opening book delves into the themes, tropes, and traits that have come to characterize Black roles in horror since 1968, a year in which race made national headlines in iconic moments from the enactment of the 1968 Civil Rights Act and Martin Luther King Jr.'s assassination in April. This timely book is a must-read for cinema and horror fans alike.

... but If a Zombie Apocalypse Did Occur by Amy Thompson (Editor); Antonio Thompson (Editor)

Call Number: PN1995.9.Z63 B88 2015

ISBN: 9780786475506

Publication Date: 2015-08-12

Part pop culture trope, part hypothetical cataclysm, the zombie apocalypse is rooted in modern literature, film and mythology. This collection of new essays considers the implications of this scientifically impossible (but perhaps imminent) event, examining real-world responses to pandemic contagion and civic chaos, as well as those from Hollywood and popular culture. The contributors discuss the zombie apocalypse as a metaphor for actual catastrophes and estimate the probabilities of human survival and behavior during an undead invasion.

Celtic Weird by Johnny Mains (Editor)

Call Number: PR1309.S9 C45 2022

ISBN: 9780712354325

Publication Date: 2023-09-12

Once I thought I glimpsed her high up in a bush, like dirty rags in a gale. Not that so far there has been any gale, or even any wind. The total silent stillness is one of the worst things. Yes, it is a battle with strong and unknown forces that I have on my hands. From the shorelines, hills and towns of ancient lands, tales of twisted creatures, sins against nature and pagan revenants have been passed down from generation to generation. In the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, folklore from Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Cornwall, Brittany and the Isle of Man inspired a new strain of strange short stories, penned by writers of the weird and fantastic including masters of the form such as Arthur Machen, Edith Wharton and Robert Aickman. In this volume, Johnny Mains dives into the archives to unearth a hoard of twenty-one enthralling tales imbued with elements of Celtic folklore, ranging from the 1820s to the 1980s and including three weird lost gems translated from Gaelic. Together they conjure uncanny visions of eternal forces, beings and traditions, resonating with the beguiling essence of this unique branch of strange fiction.

Critical Insights: The Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe by Steven Frye (Editor)

Call Number: PS2642.P63 P64 2011

ISBN: 9781587657054

Publication Date: 2010-12-30

This volume in the Critical Insights series brings together a variety of perspectives on Poe's poetry and poetics. Frye opens the volume with a reflection on Poe's aesthetics, and Juliet Lapidos, writing for The Paris Review, offers a consideration of Poe's distinctive contribution to American poetry.

Death from the Skies! by Philip C. Plait

Call Number: QB638.8 .P53 2008

ISBN: 9780670019977

Publication Date: 2008-10-16

A lively astronomy primer that uses cataclysmic scenarios to explain the universeas most fascinating events. According to astronomer Philip Plait, the universe is an apocalypse waiting to happen But how much do we really need to fear from things like black holes, gamma-ray bursts, and supernovae? And if we should be scared, is there anything we can do to save ourselves? With humor and wit, Plait details the myriad doomsday events that the cosmos could send our way to destroy our planet and life as we know it. This authoritative yet accessible study is the ultimate astronomy lesson. Combining fascinatingaand often alarmingascenarios that seem plucked from science fiction with the latest research and opinions, Plait illustrates why outer space is not as remote as most people think. Each chapter explores a different phenomenon, explaining it in easy-to-understand terms, and considering how life on earth and the planet itself would be affected should the event come to pass. Rather than sensationalizing the information, Plait analyzes the probability of these catastrophes occurring in our lifetimes and what we can do to stop them. With its entertaining tone and enlightening explanation of unfathomable concepts, Death from the Skies will appeal to science buffs and beginners alike.

Death from the Skies! by Philip Plait

Call Number: QB638.8 .P53 2009

ISBN: 9780143116042

Publication Date: 2009-08-25

With wit, humor, and an infectious love of astronomy that could win over even the science-phobic, this fun and fascinating book reminds us that outer space is anything but remote. The scientist behind the popular website badastronomy.com, Philip Plait presents some of the most fearsome end-of-the-world calamities (for instance, incoming asteroids and planet-swallowing black holes), demystifies the scientific principles at work behind them, and gives us the odds that any of them will step out of the realm of sci-fi to disrupt our quiet corner of the cosmos. The result is a book that is both terrifying and entertaining'a tour of the violent universe we live in, written with an enthusiasm that every stargazer will appreciate.

Different Seasons by Stephen King

Call Number: PS3561.I483 D5 2016

ISBN: 9781501143489

Publication Date: 2016-03-29

A "hypnotic" (The New York Times Book Review) collection of four novellas--including the inspirations behind the films Stand By Me and The Shawshank Redemption--from Stephen King, bound together by the changing of seasons, each taking on the theme of a journey with strikingly different tones and characters. This gripping collection begins with "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption," in which an unjustly imprisoned convict seeks a strange and startling revenge--the basis for the Best Picture Academy Award-nominee The Shawshank Redemption. Next is "Apt Pupil," the inspiration for the film of the same name about top high school student Todd Bowden and his obsession with the dark and deadly past of an older man in town. In "The Body," four rambunctious young boys plunge through the façade of a small town and come face-to-face with life, death, and intimations of their own mortality. This novella became the movie Stand By Me. Finally, a disgraced woman is determined to triumph over death in "The Breathing Method." "The wondrous readability of his work, as well as the instant sense of communication with his characters, are what make Stephen King the consummate storyteller that he is," hailed the Houston Chronicle about Different Seasons.

Eerie Appalachia by Mark Muncy; Kari Schultz

Call Number: GR108.15 .M863 2022

ISBN: 9781467148184

Publication Date: 2022-06-20

Gear up for a frightful jaunt into the darkest reaches of the ancient Appalachians. Folk deep within Appalachian hollers lean close to share stories of the inexplicable with hushed awe. Monsters rumbling in the hills. Strange lights darting through the pitch-black night sky. Horrible occurrences, almost ineffable in their bizarre tragedy. "Tall tales," you might say. But tell that to the Flatwoods monster in Braxton County, West Virginia. Or the Goat Man of Louisville--look into his humanoid eyes and let him know you don't believe. And what of those apparitions in Mammoth Cave's Corpse Rock, or the Satan-spawn known as the Jersey Devil? How do you respond when those mysteries confront? From metaphysical energy that swirls near the Serpent Mound in Ohio to Point Pleasant's Mothman legacy, Mark Muncy and Kari Schultz explore the dark history lurking in the shadows of Appalachia..

The End of Everything by Katie Mack

Call Number: QB991.E53 M33 2020

ISBN: 9781982103552

Publication Date: 2021-05-04

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK * AN NPR SCIENCE FRIDAY BOOK CLUB SELECTION* NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST, THE ECONOMIST, NEW SCIENTIST, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, and THE GUARDIAN From the cohost of the podcast The Universe with John Green and one of the most dynamic stars in astrophysics, an "engrossing, elegant" (The New York Times) look at five ways the universe could end, and the mind-blowing lessons each scenario reveals about the most important concepts in cosmology. We know the universe had a beginning. With the Big Bang, it expanded from a state of unimaginable density to an all-encompassing cosmic fireball to a simmering fluid of matter and energy, laying down the seeds for everything from black holes to one rocky planet orbiting a star near the edge of a spiral galaxy that happened to develop life as we know it. But what happens to the universe at the end of the story? And what does it mean for us now? Dr. Katie Mack has been contemplating these questions since she was a young student, when her astronomy professor informed her the universe could end at any moment, in an instant. This revelation set her on the path toward theoretical astrophysics. Now, with lively wit and humor, she takes us on a mind-bending tour through five of the cosmos's possible finales: the Big Crunch, Heat Death, the Big Rip, Vacuum Decay (the one that could happen at any moment!), and the Bounce. Guiding us through cutting-edge science and major concepts in quantum mechanics, cosmology, string theory, and much more, The End of Everything is a wildly fun, surprisingly upbeat ride to the farthest reaches of all that we know.

Entire Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe by Edgar Poe

Call Number: PS2601 .B37 2006

ISBN: 9780976254195

Publication Date: 2006-04-01

This volume includes annotations, word definitions, foreign language translations, photographs of Poe's many loves and the literary figures he satired, and background information about his stories and poems that provide insight into their underlying meaning.

Ghosts in the Middle Ages by Jean-Claude Schmitt; Teresa Lavender Fagan (Translator)

Call Number: GR135 .S3613 1998

ISBN: 0226738876

Publication Date: 1998-04-28

Through this vivid study, Jean-Claude Schmitt examines medieval religious culture and the significance of the widespread belief in ghosts, revealing the ways in which the dead and the living related to each other during the middle ages. Schmitt also discusses Augustine's influence on medieval authors; the link between dreams and autobiographical narratives; and monastic visions and folklore. Including numerous color reproductions of ghosts and ghostly trappings, this book presents a unique and intriguing look at medieval culture. "Valuable and highly readable. . . . [Ghosts in the Middle Ages] will be of interest to many students of medieval thought and culture, but especially to those seeking a general overview of this particularly conspicuous aspect of the medieval remembrance of the dead."--Hans Peter Broedel, Medieval Review "A fascinating study of the growing prevalence of ghost imagery in ecclesiastical and popular writing from the fifth to the fifteenth century."--Choice

The Ghosts of Eden Park by Karen Abbott

Call Number: KF224.R47 A23 2019

ISBN: 9780451498632

Publication Date: 2020-05-05

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The epic true crime story of the most successful bootlegger in American history and the murder that shocked the nation, from the New York Times bestselling author of Sin in the Second City and Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy "Gatsby-era noir at its best."--Erik Larson An ID Book Club Selection * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST HISTORY BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SMITHSONIAN In the early days of Prohibition, long before Al Capone became a household name, a German immigrant named George Remus quits practicing law and starts trafficking whiskey. Within two years he's a multi-millionaire. The press calls him "King of the Bootleggers," writing breathless stories about the Gatsby-esque events he and his glamorous second wife, Imogene, host at their Cincinnati mansion, with party favors ranging from diamond jewelry for the men to brand-new cars for the women. By the summer of 1921, Remus owns 35 percent of all the liquor in the United States. Pioneering prosecutor Mabel Walker Willebrandt is determined to bring him down. Willebrandt's bosses at the Justice Department hired her right out of law school, assuming she'd pose no real threat to the cozy relationship they maintain with Remus. Eager to prove them wrong, she dispatches her best investigator, Franklin Dodge, to look into his empire. It's a decision with deadly consequences. With the fledgling FBI on the case, Remus is quickly imprisoned for violating the Volstead Act. Her husband behind bars, Imogene begins an affair with Dodge. Together, they plot to ruin Remus, sparking a bitter feud that soon reaches the highest levels of government--and that can only end in murder. Combining deep historical research with novelistic flair, The Ghosts of Eden Park is the unforgettable, stranger-than-fiction story of a rags-to-riches entrepreneur and a long-forgotten heroine, of the excesses and absurdities of the Jazz Age, and of the infinite human capacity to deceive. Praise for The Ghosts of Eden Park "An exhaustively researched, hugely entertaining work of popular history that . . . exhumes a colorful crew of once-celebrated characters and restores them to full-blooded life. . . . [Abbott's] métier is narrative nonfiction and--as this vibrant, enormously readable book makes clear--she is one of the masters of the art."--The Wall Street Journal "Satisfyingly sensational and thoroughly researched."--The Columbus Dispatch "Absorbing . . . a Prohibition-era page-turner."--Chicago Tribune

Gory Details by Erika Engelhaupt

Call Number: Q173 .E536 2020

ISBN: 9781426220975

Publication Date: 2021-03-02

Infused with Mary Roach-style humor and science, this narrative illuminates the gross, strange, morbid, and outright absurd realities of our bodies, the Earth, and universe. Filled to the brim with far-out facts, this wickedly informative narrative from the author of National Geographic's popular Gory Details blog takes us on a fascinating journey through an astonishing new reality. Blending humor and journalism in the tradition of Mary Roach, acclaimed science reporter Erika Engelhaupt investigates the gross, strange, and morbid absurdities of our bodies and our universe. From the research biologist who stung himself with every conceivable insect to the world's most murderous mammals, this entertaining book explores oft-ignored but alluring facets of biology, anatomy, space exploration, nature, and more. Featuring interviews with leading researchers in the field and a large dose of wit, this provocative book reveals the most intriguing real-world applications of science in all their glory.

A Haunted History of Invisible Women by Leanna Renee Hieber; Andrea Janes

Call Number: BF1472.U6 H54 2022

ISBN: 9780806541587

Publication Date: 2022-09-27

Sorrowful widows, vengeful jezebels, innocent maidens, wronged lovers, former slaves, even the occasional axe-murderess - America's female ghosts differ widely in background, class, and circumstance. Yet one thing unites them: their ability to instill fascination and fear, long after their deaths. Here are the full stories behind some of the best-known among them, as well as the lesser-known - though no less powerful.

Haunted Ohio II by Chris Woodyard

Call Number: GR580 .W66 1992

ISBN: 0962847216

Publication Date: 1992-10-01

Buckeye ghosts have come back to haunt you in Haunted Ohio II. This chilling, all-new sequel to Haunted Ohio, materializes over 125 tales from around the Buckeye state. Most stories in this collection have never before been published. There are tales from haunted Native American graves to a haunted helicopter at the Museum of the United States Air Force. There are tales about ghostly music, mysterious animals, and spirit photographs. Apparitions, comfort, warn, and terrorize their victims throughout these terrifying pages. Visit Ohio-the Haunt of it all. Stories from the following Ohio counties: Adams, Allen, Ashtabula, Butler, Clark, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton, Cuyahoga, Erie, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Gallia, Geauga, Greene, Guernsey, Hamilton, Hardin, Huron, Licking, Lorain, Montgomery, Muskingum, Ottawa, Preble, Richland, Ross, Seneca, Stark, Summit, Vinton, Warren, Wayne

Haunted Ohio III by Chris Woodyard

Call Number: GR580 .W663 1994x

ISBN: 9780962847226

Publication Date: 1994-10-01

The third in the Haunted Ohio series. They're baa-ack! Still more Buckeye ghosts have come swarming out of their graves to give you some sleepless nights in this collection of over 100 bone-chilling tales, including "The Faceless Hitchhiker"; Franklin Castle; a haunted trunk that held the spirit of a murderer; a medical clinic haunted by a shuffling "beast"; the ghostly nuns of Toledo. Visit that state of terror: Haunted Ohio. Stories from the following Ohio counties: Allen Ashland, Ashtabula, Athens, Butler, Carroll, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Columbiana, Coshocton, Cuyahoga, Darke, Defiance, Erie, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Geauga, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry Hocking, Holmes, Lawrence, Lorain, Lucas, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Medina, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Ottawa, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Richland, Ross, Sandusky, Seneca, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Vinton, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Williams, Wood.

Haunted Ohio IV by Chris Woodyard

Call Number: GR580 .W644 1997x

ISBN: 9780962847257

Publication Date: 1997-08-01

Ohio proves it is truly "The Haunt of It All" in this return to the popular Haunted Ohio series. You just can't keep a good ghost down and the author has unearthed over 100 more spirited tales from around the state including "Mistress Suzanne," a murdered bride who showed a honeymooning couple to their room, the "pasta-geist," who craved raw macaroni, "Bernie," the ghost with an attitude problem, and a phantom train still rushing to its fiery doom. Stories from the following Ohio counties: Adams, Allen, Ashland, Ashtabula, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clinton, Columbiana, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Darke, Delaware, Erie, Franklin, Fulton, Gallia, Geauga, Greene, Guernsey, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Henry, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lake, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Medina, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Monroe, Ottawa, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Putnam, Ross, Sandusky, Scioto, Seneca, Shelby, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, Van Wert, Vinton, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Williams, Wood. Features: Annotated bibliography, general index, index of stories by county, addresses of sites open to the public.

More Deadly Than the Male by Graeme Davis

Call Number: PN6071.H727 M65 2019

ISBN: 9781643130118

Publication Date: 2019-02-05

A darkly luminous new anthology collecting the most terrifying horror stories by renowned female authors, presenting anew these forgotten classics to the modern reader. Readers are well aware that Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein: few know how many other tales of terror she created. In addition to Uncle Tom's Cabin, Harriet Beecher Stowe wrote some surprisingly effective horror stories. The year after Little Women appeared, Louisa May Alcott published one of the first mummy tales. These ladies weren't alone. From the earliest days of Gothic and horror fiction, women were exploring the frontiers of fear, dreaming dark dreams that will still keep you up at night. More Deadly than the Male includes unexpected horror tales by Louisa May Alcott and Harriet Beecher Stowe, and forgotten writers like Mary Cholmondely and Charlotte Riddell, whose work deserves a modern audience. Readers will be drawn in by the familiar names and intrigued by their rare stories. In The Beckside Boggle, Alice Rea brings a common piece of English folklore to hair-raising life, while Helene Blavatsky, best known as the founder of the spiritualist Theosophical Society, conjures up a solid and satisfying ghost story in The Cave of the Echoes. Edith Wharton's great novel The Age of Innocence won her the Pulitzer prize, yet her horror stories are known only to a comparative few. Readers will discover lost and forgotten women who wrote horror every bit as effectively as their male contemporaries. They will learn about their lives and careers, the challenges they faced as women working in a male-dominated field, the way they overcame those challenges, and the way they approached the genre--which was often subtler, more psychological, and more disturbing.

Morgue : a life in death by Vincent Di Maio; Ron Franscell

Call Number: RB17.D56 A3 2016

ISBN: 9781250067142

Publication Date: 2016-05-17

In this clear-eyed, gritty, and enthralling narrative, Dr. Vincent DiMaio and veteran crime writer Ron Franscell guide us behind the morgue doors to tell a fascinating life story through the cases that have made Di Maio famous-from the exhumation of assassin Lee Harvey Oswald to the complex issues in the shooting of Florida teenager Trayvon Martin. Beginning with his street-smart Italian origins in Brooklyn, the book spans 40 years of work and more than 9,000 autopsies, and Di Maio's eventual rise into the pantheon of forensic scientists. One of the country's most methodical and intuitive criminal pathologists will dissect himself, maintaining a nearly continuous flow of suspenseful stories, revealing anecdotes, and enough macabre insider details to rivet the most fervent crime fans.

On Monsters by Stephen T. Asma

Call Number: GR825 .A86 2009

ISBN: 9780195336160

Publication Date: 2009-10-14

Hailed as "a feast" (Washington Post) and "a modern-day bestiary" (The New Yorker), Stephen Asma's On Monsters is a wide-ranging cultural and conceptual history of monsters--how they have evolved over time, what functions they have served for us, and what shapes they are likely to take in the future. Beginning at the time of Alexander the Great, the monsters come fast and furious--Behemoth and Leviathan, Gog and Magog, Satan and his demons, Grendel and Frankenstein, circus freaks and headless children, right up to the serial killers and terrorists of today and the post-human cyborgs of tomorrow. Monsters embody our deepest anxieties and vulnerabilities, Asma argues, but they also symbolize the mysterious and incoherent territory beyond the safe enclosures of rational thought. Exploring sources as diverse as philosophical treatises, scientific notebooks, and novels, Asma unravels traditional monster stories for the clues they offer about the inner logic of an era's fears and fascinations. In doing so, he illuminates the many ways monsters have become repositories for those human qualities that must be repudiated, externalized, and defeated.

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

Call Number: PS3560.O5395 O55 2021

ISBN: 9781982136468

Publication Date: 2021-01-26

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a "masterpiece" (Locus Magazine) of a novel about revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from tradition. This is a remarkable horror story that "will give you nightmares--the good kind of course" (BuzzFeed). From New York Times bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones comes a novel that is equal parts psychological horror and cutting social commentary on identity politics and the American Indian experience. Fans of Sylvia Moreno Garcia and Tommy Orange will love this story as it follows the lives of four American Indian men and their families, all haunted by a disturbing, deadly event that took place in their youth. Years later, they find themselves tracked by an entity bent on revenge, totally helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way. In this "thrilling, literate, scary, [and] immersive" (Stephen King) tale, Jones blends his signature storytelling style with a haunting narrative that masterfully intertwines revenge, cultural identity, and tradition.

Paperbacks from Hell by Grady Hendrix

Call Number: PN3435 .H45 2017

ISBN: 9781594749810

Publication Date: 2017-09-19

From the New York Times best-selling authorof The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires comes a nostalgic and unflinchingly funny celebration of the horror fiction boom of the 1970s and '80s. Take a tour through the horror paperback novels of two iconic decades . . . if you dare. Page through dozens and dozens of amazing book covers featuring well-dressed skeletons, evil dolls, and knife-wielding killer crabs! Read shocking plot summaries that invoke devil worship, satanic children, and haunted real estate! Horror author and vintage paperback book collector Grady Hendrix offers killer commentary and witty insight on these trashy thrillers that tried so hard to be the next Exorcist or Rosemary's Baby. Complete with story summaries and artist and author profiles, this unforgettable volume dishes on familiar authors like V. C. Andrews and R. L. Stine, plus many more who've faded into obscurity. Also included are recommendations for which of these forgotten treasures are well worth your reading time and which should stay buried.

The Short Fiction of Edgar Allan Poe by Susan Levine (Editor); Susan F. Levine (Editor)

Call Number: PS2612 .A1 1990

ISBN: 9780252061257

Publication Date: 1989-11-01

The Short Fiction of Edgar Allan Poe brings together, in one convenient edition, all of the information a reader needs to understand Poe's stories. Readable, attractive, and accessible to a general reader or student, it also provides a useful resource for the scholar and specialist. Stuart Levine and Susan Levine tracked down information that is often highly specialized and hard to come by through an extensive program of literary sleuthing--an investigation that took him through the hundreds of places where scholars make their contributions to knowledge.

Spook by Mary Roach

Call Number: BL535 .R63 2005

ISBN: 9780393059625

Publication Date: 2005-09-17

What happens when we die? Does the light just go out and that's thatthe million-year nap? Or will some part of my personality, my me-ness persist? What will that feel like? What will I do all day? Is there a place to plug in my lap-top?" In an attempt to find out, Mary Roach brings her tireless curiosity to bear on an array of contemporary and historical soul-searchers: scientists, schemers, engineers, mediums, all trying to prove (or disprove) that life goes on after we die. She begins the journey in rural India with a reincarnation researcher and ends up in a University of Virginia operating room where cardiologists have installed equipment near the ceiling to study out-of-body near-death experiences. Along the way, she enrolls in an English medium school, gets electromagnetically haunted at a university in Ontario, and visits a Duke University professor with a plan to weigh the consciousness of a leech. Her historical wanderings unearth soul-seeking philosophers who rummaged through cadavers and calves' heads, a North Carolina lawsuit that established legal precedence for ghosts, and the last surviving sample of "ectoplasm" in a Cambridge University archive.

Stories and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe by Edgar Poe

Call Number: PS2600 .P7515 2001

ISBN: 9780618085989

Publication Date: 2001-01-01

Super Volcanoes by Robin George Andrews

Call Number: QE522 .A56 2022

ISBN: 9780393542066

Publication Date: 2021-11-02

Volcanoes are capable of acts of pyrotechnical prowess verging on magic: they spout black magma more fluid than water, create shimmering cities of glass at the bottom of the ocean and frozen lakes of lava on the moon, and can even tip entire planets over. Between lava that melts and re-forms the landscape, and noxious volcanic gases that poison the atmosphere, volcanoes have threatened life on Earth countless times in our planet's history. Yet despite their reputation for destruction, volcanoes are inseparable from the creation of our planet. A lively and utterly fascinating guide to these geologic wonders, Super Volcanoes revels in the incomparable power of volcanic eruptions past and present, Earthbound and otherwise-and recounts the daring and sometimes death-defying careers of the scientists who study them. Science journalist and volcanologist Robin George Andrews explores how these eruptions reveal secrets about the worlds to which they belong, describing the stunning ways in which volcanoes can sculpt the sea, land, and sky, and even influence the machinery that makes or breaks the existence of life. Walking us through the mechanics of some of the most infamous eruptions on Earth, Andrews outlines what we know about how volcanoes form, erupt, and evolve, as well as what scientists are still trying to puzzle out. How can we better predict when a deadly eruption will occur-and protect communities in the danger zone? Is Earth's system of plate tectonics, unique in the solar system, the best way to forge a planet that supports life? And if life can survive and even thrive in Earth's extreme volcanic environments-superhot, superacidic, and supersaline surroundings previously thought to be completely inhospitable-where else in the universe might we find it? Traveling from Hawai'i, Yellowstone, Tanzania, and the ocean floor to the moon, Venus, and Mars, Andrews illuminates the cutting-edge discoveries and lingering scientific mysteries surrounding these phenomenal forces of nature.

Unnatural Ohio by M. Kristina Smith; Kevin L. Moore; Kari Ann Schultz (Illustrator)

Call Number: F491 .S65 2023

ISBN: 9781467151443

Publication Date: 2023-09-18

Strange things are afoot in the Buckeye State Across city and country, Ohio echoes with tales of creatures, ghosts, and other unexplained phenomena. A monster that appeared to be half man and half dog and wielding a 2-by-4 terrorized a small Northwest Ohio town during the summer of 1972. Over the years, visitors to a quiet Cincinnati suburb claim to have been accosted by a human-size, leathery frogman lurking near the riverbank. For generations, hikers and hunters have reported seeing Bigfoot throughout forests across Ohio, and some of the most notorious and well-documented UFO encounters on record have taken place here. Authors M. Kristina Smith and Kevin Moore parse urban legends from history as they explore the unnatural side of Ohio's heritage.

The Witch of Lime Street by David Jaher

Call Number: BF1283.C85 J34 2015

ISBN: 9780307451064

Publication Date: 2015-10-06

History comes alive in this textured account of the rivalry between Harry Houdini and the so-called Witch of Lime Street, whose iconic lives intersected at a time when science was on the verge of embracing the paranormal. The 1920s are famous as the golden age of jazz and glamour, but it was also an era of fevered yearning for communion with the spirit world, after the loss of tens of millions in the First World War and the Spanish-flu epidemic. A desperate search for reunion with dead loved ones precipitated a tidal wave of self-proclaimed psychics--and, as reputable media sought stories on occult phenomena, mediums became celebrities. Against this backdrop, in 1924, the pretty wife of a distinguished Boston surgeon came to embody the raging national debate over Spiritualism, a movement devoted to communication with the dead. Reporters dubbed her the blonde Witch of Lime Street, but she was known to her followers simply as Margery. Her most vocal advocate was none other than Sherlock Holmes' creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who believed so thoroughly in Margery's powers that he urged her to enter a controversial contest, sponsored by Scientific American and offering a large cash prize to the first medium declared authentic by its impressive five-man investigative committee. Admired for both her exceptional charm and her dazzling effects, Margery was the best hope for the psychic practice to be empirically verified. Her supernatural gifts beguiled four of the judges. There was only one left to convince...the acclaimed escape artist, Harry Houdini. David Jaher's extraordinary debut culminates in the showdown between Houdini, a relentless unmasker of charlatans, and Margery, the nation's most credible spirit medium. The Witch of Lime Street, the first book to capture their electric public rivalry and the competition that brought them into each other's orbit, returns us to an oft-mythologized era to deepen our understanding of its history, all while igniting our imagination and engaging with the timeless question: Is there life after death?

The Zombie Book by Nick Redfern; Brad. Steiger

Call Number: GR581 .R43 2014

ISBN: 9781578595044

Publication Date: 2014-09-09

Twoexperts on the unexplained and paranormal team up to bringyou the definitive guide to zombies! Theapocalypse of the rapacious, infectious living dead is more probablethan ever--at least, if movies, books, and television are to bebelieved. But long before exotic viruses, biological warfare, andsinister military experiments brought the dead back to life in ourcinemas and on our television screens, there were the dark spells andincantations of the ancient Egyptians, the Sumerians, and theBabylonians. Blending the historical with the modern, thebiographical with the literary, the plants and animals with bacteriaand viruses, the mythological with the horrifying true tales, TheZombie Book: The Encyclopedia of the Living Dead is acomprehensive resource for understanding, combating, and avoiding allthings zombie. Morethan 250 entries cover everything about the ignominious role infolklore and mythology to today's pop culture, including ... Prideand Prejudice and Zombies MadCow Disease TheSpanish Flu Pandemic of 1918 TheCenters for Disease Control and FEMA's Zombie Preparedness plans TheMacArthur Causeway Face-eating Zombie NaziExperiments to Resurrect the Dead Nightof the Living Dead andmuch, much more. Blending historical review and a lot ofpop-culture fun with chilling tales of ravenous end-of-timeshorrors, The Zombie Book is perfect forbrowsing or for a thorough reading by fans of the macabre. Anextensive bibliography and index make this the perfect start toanyone's quest for preparing for a zombie cataclysm.

On Display in Snyder: ADHD Awareness Month

ADHD Nation by Alan Schwarz

Call Number: RJ506.H9 S39 2016

ISBN: 9781501105913

Publication Date: 2016-09-06

A Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Book of the Year The groundbreaking and definitive account of the widespread misdiagnosis of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder--and how its unchecked growth over half a century has made ADHD one of the most controversial conditions in medicine, with serious effects on children, adults, and society. More than 1 in 7 American children get diagnosed with ADHD--three times what experts have said is appropriate--meaning that millions of kids are misdiagnosed and taking medications such as Adderall or Concerta for a psychiatric condition they probably do not have. The numbers rise every year. And still, many experts and drug companies deny any cause for concern. In fact, they say that adults and the rest of the world should embrace ADHD and that its medications will transform their lives. In ADHD Nation, Alan Schwarz examines the roots and the rise of this cultural and medical phenomenon: The father of ADHD, Dr. Keith Conners, spends fifty years advocating drugs like Ritalin before realizing his role in what he now calls "a national disaster of dangerous proportions"; a troubled young girl and a studious teenage boy get entangled in the growing ADHD machine and take medications that backfire horribly; and big Pharma egregiously over-promotes the disorder and earns billions from the mishandling of children (and now adults). While demonstrating that ADHD is real and can be medicated when appropriate, Schwarz sounds a long-overdue alarm and urges America to address this growing national health crisis.

Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder by Russell A. Barkley (Editor)

Call Number: RJ496.A86 A883 2018

ISBN: 9781462538874

Publication Date: 2018-10-23

Widely regarded as the standard clinical reference, this volume provides the best current knowledge about attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in children, adolescents, and adults. The field's leading authorities address all aspects of assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, including psychological therapies and pharmacotherapy. Core components of ADHD are elucidated. The volume explores the impact of the disorder across a wide range of functional domains--behavior, learning, psychological adjustment, school and vocational outcomes, and health. All chapters conclude with user-friendly Key Clinical Points. New to This Edition Reflects significant advances in research and clinical practice. Expanded with many new authors and new topics. Chapters on cutting-edge interventions: social skills training, dietary management, executive function training, driving risk interventions, complementary/alternative medicine, and therapies for adults. Chapters on the nature of the disorder: neuropsychological aspects, emotional dysregulation, peer relationships, child- and adult-specific domains of impairment, sluggish cognitive tempo, and more.

College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities by Cynthia Simpson; Vicky Spencer

Call Number: LC4818.38 .S56 2020

ISBN: 9781646320455

Publication Date: 2020-10-01

College Success for Students With Learning Disabilities(2nd ed.) offers students the knowledge, guidance, and strategies they need to effectively choose a college, prepare for university life, and make the most of their collegiate experience. This revised edition: Outlines the rights and responsibilities of students with learning disabilities. Gives advice on talking to professors and peers, getting involved, and asking for and receiving accommodations. Helps students utilize their strengths to meet and exceed academic standards. Provides additional information on autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and ADHD. Includes a handy guide to universities with special programs and advice from current college students with disabilities. Planning for college can be one of the biggest moments in any student's life, but for students with disabilities, the experience can be challenging on many different levels. This book will empower future students and provide them with hope for success.

The discourse of ADHD : perspectives on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder by Horton-Salway, Mary

Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9783319760261

Publication Date: 2018

This book explores the discourse of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), one of the most debated mental health categories attributed to children and adults across the globe. The authors trace the origins, development and representation of ADHD to demonstrate how the category is produced through competing explanatory theories and processes of scientific, professional and lay discourse. Starting with the idea that medical categories are as much a product of cultural meaning, social processes and models of medicine as they are of scientific fact, this book utilises a range of perspectives from within critical discursive psychology to approach this topic. The authors discuss historical construction, media representation, parents' accounts of family life, and the personal experience of children and adults to demonstrate how the construction of social identity and cultural stereotypes are embedded in the meaning of ADHD. They explore the origins of ADHD and how biological and psychosocial explanations of the mental health category have been produced, circulated, debated and resisted within a culture of 'Othering', and the discourse of blame.

Distracted by Terri R. Kurtzberg; Jennifer L. Gibbs

Call Number: BF323.D5 K87 2017

ISBN: 9781440842955

Publication Date: 2017-04-06

What are the benefits and negative consequences of our increased connectivity at school, at work, and at home? Is being constantly distracted now a worldwide problem? This book examines how new technologies and social pressures have changed the way we use our attention, and the extent to which they drive us to distraction, by interpreting hundreds of scientific studies from the literatures in cognitive and social psychology, sociology, communication, management, and decision making. While distraction is ever-present in daily life, staying connected in an efficient way is the goal for one and all. To accomplish that, some amount of fine-tuning of typical interactions with technology is in order. Nearly everyone recognizes the addictive nature of constant connectivity--and its destructive effect on productivity and quality of work. But the availability of technology also promotes better engagement, control, and flexibility in both professional and personal settings. An in-depth analysis of these tradeoffs can lead to smarter choices about when and how to be connected throughout the day and across settings. The ultimate objective is to have technology enhance our lives without serving as a source of constant distraction. Distracted: Staying Connected without Losing Focus explains the nuances of what this addiction stems from--considering both societal and technological factors--and identifies both the invaluable opportunities and the counterproductive consequences of living in our technology-enabled, instant-access-to-everything world. The chapters examine a wide swath of scientific research to expose how technology use affects our attention and the extent to which it causes distraction. Authors Terri Kurtzberg and Jennifer Gibbs apply the science of human attention to reveal how specific areas of our lives are significantly changed with the advent of "continuous connectedness," including in the workplace, in personal relationships, in childhood development, and with regard to education and learning. Readers will clearly understand why multitasking fails us, what the consequences are--to ourselves and those around us--of being focused on a screen for much of the day, and how each of us can adjust our use of technology in order to improve our lives

The Distracted Mind by Adam Gazzaley; Larry D. Rosen

Call Number: BF323.D5 G39 2016

ISBN: 9780262534437

Publication Date: 2017-10-27

A "brilliant and practical" study of why our brain isn't built for media multitasking-and how we can learn to live with technology in a more balanced way (Jack Kornfield, author of The Wise Heart). Includes practical strategies for fighting digital distraction-straight from a neuroscientist and a psychologist! Most of us will freely admit that we are obsessed with our devices. We pride ourselves on our ability to multitask-read work email, reply to a text, check Facebook, watch a video clip. Talk on the phone, send a text, drive a car. Enjoy family dinner with a glowing smartphone next to our plates. We can do it all, 24/7! Never mind the errors in the email, the near-miss on the road, and the unheard conversation at the table. In The Distracted Mind, Adam Gazzaley and Larry Rosen-a neuroscientist and a psychologist-explain why our brains aren't built for multitasking, and suggest better ways to live in a high-tech world without giving up our modern technology. The authors explain that our brains are limited in their ability to pay attention. We don't really multitask but rather switch rapidly between tasks. Distractions and interruptions, often technology-related-referred to by the authors as "interference"-collide with our goal-setting abilities. We want to finish this paper/spreadsheet/sentence, but our phone signals an incoming message and we drop everything. Even without an alert, we decide that we "must" check in on social media immediately. Gazzaley and Rosen offer practical strategies, backed by science, to fight distraction. We can change our brains with meditation, video games, and physical exercise; we can change our behavior by planning our accessibility and recognizing our anxiety about being out of touch even briefly. They don't suggest that we give up our devices, but that we use them in a more balanced way.

Divergent Mind by Jenara Nerenberg

Call Number: RC451.4.W6 N47 2021

ISBN: 9780062876805

Publication Date: 2021-02-16

AUDIBLE EDITOR'S PICK A paradigm-shifting study of neurodivergent women--those with ADHD, autism, synesthesia, high sensitivity, and sensory processing disorder--exploring why these traits are overlooked in women and how society benefits from allowing their unique strengths to flourish. As a successful Harvard and Berkeley-educated writer, entrepreneur, and devoted mother, Jenara Nerenberg was shocked to discover that her "symptoms"--only ever labeled as anxiety-- were considered autistic and ADHD. Being a journalist, she dove into the research and uncovered neurodiversity--a framework that moves away from pathologizing "abnormal" versus "normal" brains and instead recognizes the vast diversity of our mental makeups. When it comes to women, sensory processing differences are often overlooked, masked, or mistaken for something else entirely. Between a flawed system that focuses on diagnosing younger, male populations, and the fact that girls are conditioned from a young age to blend in and conform to gender expectations, women often don't learn about their neurological differences until they are adults, if at all. As a result, potentially millions live with undiagnosed or misdiagnosed neurodivergences, and the misidentification leads to depression, anxiety, low self-esteem, and shame. Meanwhile, we all miss out on the gifts their neurodivergent minds have to offer. Divergent Mind is a long-overdue, much-needed answer for women who have a deep sense that they are "different." Sharing real stories from women with high sensitivity, ADHD, autism, misophonia, dyslexia, SPD and more, Nerenberg explores how these brain variances present differently in women and dispels widely-held misconceptions (for example, it's not that autistic people lack sensitivity and empathy, they have an overwhelming excess of it). Nerenberg also offers us a path forward, describing practical changes in how we communicate, how we design our surroundings, and how we can better support divergent minds. When we allow our wide variety of brain makeups to flourish, we create a better tomorrow for us all.

Driven to Distraction (Revised) by Edward M. Hallowell; John J. Ratey

Call Number: RC394.A85 H35 2011

ISBN: 9780307743152

Publication Date: 2011-09-13

Groundbreaking and comprehensive, Driven to Distraction has been a lifeline to the approximately eighteen million Americans who are thought to have ADHD. Now the bestselling book is revised and updated with current medical information for a new generation searching for answers. Through vivid stories and case histories of patients--both adults and children--Hallowell and Ratey explore the varied forms ADHD takes, from hyperactivity to daydreaming. They dispel common myths, offer helpful coping tools, and give a thorough accounting of all treatment options as well as tips for dealing with a diagnosed child, partner, or family member. But most importantly, they focus on the positives that can come with this "disorder"--including high energy, intuitiveness, creativity, and enthusiasm.

Driven to Distraction at Work by Ned Hallowell

Call Number: BF323.D5 H35 2015

ISBN: 9781422186411

Publication Date: 2015-01-06

Are you driven to distraction at work? Bestselling author Edward M. Hallowell, MD, the world's leading expert on ADD and ADHD, has set his sights on a new goal: helping people feel more in control and productive at work. You know the feeling: you can't focus; you feel increasingly overwhelmed by a mix of nonstop demands and technology that seems to be moving at the speed of light; and you're frustrated just trying to get everything done well--and on time. Not only is this taking a toll on performance, it's impacting your sense of well-being outside the office. It's time to reclaim control. Dr. Hallowell now identifies the underlying reasons why people lose their ability to focus at work. He explains why commonly offered solutions like "learn to manage your time better" or "make a to-do list" don't work because they ignore the deeper issues that are the true causes of mental distraction. Based on his years of helping clients develop constructive ways to deal with distraction, Dr. Hallowell provides a set of practical and reliable techniques to show how to sustain a productive mental state. In Part 1 of the book, he identifies the six most common ways people lose the ability to focus at work--what he calls "screen sucking" (internet/social media addiction), multitasking, idea hopping (never finishing what you start), worrying, playing the hero, and dropping the ball--and he explains the underlying psychological and emotional dynamics driving each behavior. Part 2 of the book provides advice for "training" your attention overall, so that you are less susceptible to surrendering it, in any situation. The result is a book that will empower you to combat each one of these common syndromes--and clear a path for you to achieve your highest personal and professional goals.

The Dyslexia, ADHD, and DCD-Friendly Study Skills Guide by Ann-Marie McNicholas

Call Number: LC4704 .M4144 2020

ISBN: 9781787751774

Publication Date: 2020-01-21

This practical skills guide helps young people with who learn differently including those with dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD, study for their exams. Students who learn differently can often find exams challenging and can experience a good deal of anxiety around exam time, leading to exam results that may not accurately reflect their capabilities. Much exam stress arises from a lack of confidence with the ability to learn and retain information in a meaningful way. This engaging workbook is designed to help students to overcome these issues. It not only shows students how to develop a positive success attitude towards study and exams, but also aims to equip them with powerful strategies and techniques for learning and remembering. The book offers strategies for learners whose methods of learning are multisensory. When learning is active rather than passive, it happens faster, and is easier, more enjoyable and more effective. As you progress through the fun, engaging activities, so your confidence and belief in your ability to learn will increase. Struggling students will become confident, successful learners, with a positive attitude and access to a wide range of effective strategies, and in this way, you will achieve the results in exams that you have worked for and deserve.

Kids in the Syndrome Mix of ADHD, LD, Autism Spectrum, Tourette's, Anxiety, and More! by Martin L. Kutscher; Anthony Attwood (Contribution by)

Call Number: RJ506.B44 K88 2014

ISBN: 9781849059671

Publication Date: 2014-03-21

The completely updated and expanded new edition of this well-established text incorporates DSM-5 changes as well as other new developments. The all-in-one guide covers the whole range of often co-existing neuro-behavioral disorders in children - from attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), obsessive-compulsive disorder, and anxiety, to autism spectrum disorders, nonverbal learning disabilities, Tourette's, sensory integration problems, and executive dysfunction. A completely revised chapter on the autism spectrum by Tony Attwood explains not only new understanding in the field, but the new diagnostic criteria, and the anticipated usage of the term 'Asperger's Syndrome'. Dr. Kutscher provides accessible information on causes, symptoms, interactions with other conditions, and treatments. He presents effective behavioral strategies for responding to children who display traits of these disorders - whether at home, at school, or in other settings - along with case vignettes and practical tips. Finally, a chapter on the role of medications summarizes current knowledge. The author's sympathetic yet upbeat approach and skillful explanations of the inner world of children in the syndrome mix make this an invaluable companion for parents, teachers, professionals, and anyone else who needs fast and to-the-point advice on children with special needs.

The Neurodiverse Workplace by Victoria Honeybourne

Call Number: HV3005 .H655 2020

ISBN: 9781787750333

Publication Date: 2019-12-19

Estimates suggest that up to 20% of employees, customers and clients might have a neurodivergent condition - such as dyslexia, autism, Asperger's, ADHD or dyspraxia - yet these individuals often struggle to gain and maintain employment, despite being very capable. This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated. Employer responsibilities are highlighted, including the 2010 Equality Act, and a range of strategies and policies are provided, including recruitment advice and the benefits of neurodiverse employees, along with advice on physical environments, interaction and communication, and working with clients and customers. This book is an ideal resource for all employers wanting to support and empower people with specific needs to help create a more inclusive workplace, benefiting both neurodiverse individuals and the companies employing them.

Organizational Skills Training for Children with ADHD by Richard Gallagher; Howard B. Abikoff; Elana G. Spira

Call Number: LC4713.2 .G36 2014

ISBN: 9781462513680

Publication Date: 2014-03-26

This indispensable manual presents an easy-to-implement intervention with proven effectiveness for children with ADHD in grades 3 to 5. Organizational skills training helps kids develop essential skill sets for organizing school materials, tracking assignments, and completing homework and other tasks successfully. Clinicians are provided with detailed session-by-session instructions and all of the tools needed to implement the program in collaboration with parents and teachers. In a large-size format for easy photocopying, the book includes nearly 100 reproducible handouts and forms. Purchasers also get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. See also the related parent guide from Gallagher et al., The Organized Child: An Effective Program to Maximize Your Kid's Potential/m-/in School and in Life.

Supporting Neurodiverse College Student Success by Elizabeth M. H. Coghill; Jeffrey G. Coghill

Call Number: LC4818.38 .C64 2021

ISBN: 9781538137369

Publication Date: 2020-11-28

The basic premise of neurodiversity is that there is no "normal" baseline for brain processes, but that all individual brains vary and therefore are diverse. The CAST organization estimates that 11% of college students enrolling in post-secondary campuses having a learning disability or learning difference. As neurodiverse students enroll in post-secondary education, the environments within which these students learn, can either support or impede their ability to succeed. Simply put, a neurodiverse campus population means that educators recognize that all students process and learn differently and must adapt our approaches and services in order to reach and support all students enrolled on our campuses. Neurodiverse students are a growing population on today's college campus. Their growing presence prompts new approaches to support their success and change traditional student services and collegiate experiences. This practical guide: Assists readers in better understanding neurodiverse students and the way campus services can create welcoming environmentsExplores the role Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and Executive Functioning (EF) plays in student success, and Focuses on specific collegiate offices and services that effectively address the needs of neurodiverse learners. Chapters cover tutoring, learning supports, academic coaching, academic advising, career services, residential living, and classroom experiences that impact and assist neurodiverse college students.

Add a Comment

Frederick A. Marcotte Library Digital Display

October 2025 Marcotte Library Displays

On Display in the Library: Hispanic Heritage Month Sept 15 - Oct 15, 2025

On Display in EPJ: Spooky Season

On Display in Snyder: ADHD Awareness Month

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

This post is closed for further discussion.

Frederick A. Marcotte Library Digital Display

October 2025 Marcotte Library Displays

On Display in the Library: Hispanic Heritage Month Sept 15 - Oct 15, 2025

On Display in EPJ: Spooky Season

On Display in Snyder: ADHD Awareness Month

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

This post is closed for further discussion.