Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: home

Need Help?

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Biomedical Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

CEAS Library's Ask A Librarian service can assist you with basic to advanced questions related to resources in engineering and the sciences, including those of the CEAS (Engineering and Applied Science) Library.

Databases

Compendex
Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
PubMed
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present

National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

BIOSIS Previews (access through Web of Science)
BIOSIS Previews® combines the journal literature of Biological Abstracts® with Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, & Meetings) and focuses on life sciences research. BIOSIS Previews monitors nearly 6,000 selectively covered journals as well as a collection of international meetings, conference reports, books, and patents.
Coverage: 1969 - present

Biotechnology Research Abstracts
An advanced search hub for reviewed biotechnology abstracts.
BioMed Central
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
NASA's Life Science Data Archive
NASA's data archive open for researchers, educators, and students.

Plunkett Research Online
Plunkett research online takes you directly to industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors¸ from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis¸ glossaries¸ statistics¸ company profiles and contacts¸ and industry associations and organizations.

Journals

Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology
Journals from Ohiolink from 1984-present.
Applied Ergonomics
Journals from Ohiolink from 1969-present.
Genome Research
Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that features outstanding original research providing novel insights into the genome biology of all organisms, including significant advances in genomic medicine.
IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering
Basic and applied papers dealing with biomedical engineering. Papers range from engineering development in methods and techniques with biomedical applications to experimental and clinical investigations with engineering contributions.
IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging
IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging (T-MI) encourages the submission of manuscripts on imaging of body structure, morphology and function, including cell and molecular imaging and all forms of microscopy. The journal publishes original contributions on medical imaging achieved by modalities including ultrasound, x-rays, magnetic resonance, radionuclides, microwaves, and optical methods.
Journal of Biomedical Engineering
The Journal of Biomechanical Engineering reports research results involving the application of mechanical engineering principles to the improvement of human health. The scope of relevant topics ranges from basic biology to biomedical applications and includes theoretical, computational, experimental, and clinical studies.
Biomedical Instrumentation and Technology
Publications from 2005-present.

Books

Books about Biomedical Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

Biomechanics

Biomechanical Biofeedback Systems and Applications by Anton Kos
ISBN: 9783319913490
Publication Date: 2018-9-28
This book deals with the topic of biomechanical biofeedback systems and applications that are primarily aimed at motor learning in sports and rehabilitation. It gives a comprehensive tutorial of the concepts, architectures, operation, and exemplary applications of biomechanical biofeedback systems.
Biomechanics by Sean P. Flanagan
Call Number: WE 103 F583b
ISBN: 9780763783778
Publication Date: 2014

More books about Biomechanics >>>

Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals

Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals by Joseph D. Bronzino, Donald R. Peterson
ISBN: 9780429104008
Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Known as the bible of biomedical engineering, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition, sets the standard against which all other references of this nature are measured. As such, it has served as a major resource for both skilled professionals and novices to biomedical engineering.

More books about Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals >>>

Biomaterials

Biomaterials by Veronique Migonney
ISBN: 9781848215856
Publication Date: 2014-9-30
Discovered in the 20th century, biomaterials have contributed to many of the incredible scientific and technological advancements made in recent decades. This book introduces and details the tenets of biomaterials, their relevance in a various fields, practical applications of their products, and potential advancements of the years to come.
Biomaterials and Medical Devices by Ferdiansyah Mahyudin; Hendra Hermawan
ISBN: 9783319148458
Publication Date: 2016-3-2
This book presents an introduction to biomaterials with the focus on the current development and future direction of biomaterials and medical devices research and development in Indonesia. It is the first biomaterials book written by selected academic and clinical experts experts on biomaterials and medical devices from various institutions and industries in Indonesia. It serves as a reference source for researchers starting new projects, for companies developing and marketing products and for governments setting new policies.

More books about Biomaterials >>>

Biosensors

Biosensors: Materials and Applications by Tauseef Ahmed Rangreez; Mohd Imran Ahamed; Abdullah M. Asiri
Call Number: R857.B54.B567 2019
ISBN: 9781644900130
Publication Date: 2019-4-20
This book presents recent developments in the field of biosensors and their applications in healthcare. Topics include aptasensors for the detection of environmental contaminants, disease-causing pathogens, molecularly imprinted polymers for the detection of genetic materials, infectious diseases, in vivo monitoring of key molecules, functional nanoparticles targeted to specific tumor cells for detection as well as imaging.

More books about Biosensors >>>

Biotechnology

Biomedical Engineering: Bridging Medicine and Technology by Mark W. Saltzman
Call Number: R856.S25 2015
ISBN: 9781107037199
Publication Date: 2015
Anderson covers basic flight topics, including the standard atmosphere, airfoils, flight mechanics, unmanned aerial vehicles, and applications of CFD in aircraft design.

More books about Biotechnology >>>

Human Factors and Ergonomics

Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics, Fourth Edition by Gavriel Salvendy
ISBN: 9780470528389
Publication Date: 2012-3-27
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated. This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas.

More books about Ergonomics >>>

Medical Devices and Systems

Medical Devices and Systems by Joseph D. Bronzino
ISBN: 9780429123047
Publication Date: 2006-4-19
Over the last century, medicine has come out of the "black bag" and emerged as one of the most dynamic and advanced fields of development in science and technology. Today, biomedical engineering plays a critical role in patient diagnosis, care, and rehabilitation.

More books about Medical Devices and Systems >>>

Bioinformatics

Advances in Biomedical Informatics by Dawn E. Holmes; L. C. Jain
ISBN: 9783319675138
Publication Date: 2018
This book presents authoritative recent research on Biomedical Informatics, bringing together contributions from some of the most respected researchers in this field. Biomedical Informatics represents a growing area of interest and innovation in the management of health-related data, and is essential to the development of focused computational models.

More books about Bioinformatics >>>

Biomedical Imaging

Biomedical Imaging by Karen M. Mudry; Robert Plonsey, Joseph D. Bronzino
ISBN: 9780429208676
Publication Date: 2003-3-26
Comprised of chapters carefully selected from CRC‘s best-selling engineering handbooks, volumes in the Principles and Applications in Engineering series provide convenient, economical references sharply focused on particular engineering topics and subspecialties.

More books about Biomedical Imaging >>>

Regenerative Medicine

Fundamentals of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine by Ulrich Meyer; Jorg Handschel; Hans Peter Wiesmann; Thomas Meyer
ISBN: 9783540777540
Publication Date: 2009

More books about Regenerative Medicine >>>

Standards and Specifications

ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present.
Biological Evaluation of Medical Devices
Evaluation and testing within a risk management process
AAMI Recommended Practice
This recommended practice covers steam sterilization in health care facilities. The recommendations are intended to promote sterility assurance and to guide health care personnel in the proper use of processing equipment.
Medical Devices
This International Standard specifies a process for a manufacturer to analyse, specify, design, verify and validate usability, as it relates to safety of a medical device. This usability engineering process assesses and mitigates risks caused by usability problems associated with correct use and use errors, i.e. normal use.

Professional Societies

American Society of Biomechanics
Biomechanics represents the broad interplay between mechanics and biological systems. The American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) was founded in 1977 to encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic and applied science.
Biomedical Engineering Society
The Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) is the professional society for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. Founded in early 1968, the Society now boasts over 7,500 members and is growing, rapidly.
Society for Biomaterials
Clinicians, researchers, and students from medical device manufacturers, academic research labs, and operating rooms across the country and around the world belong to SFB. This interdisciplinary gathering is a critical pathway to identifying issues with current technologies, and for translating academic research to clinical practice.
Human Factors and Ergonomics Society
The Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, founded in 1957, is the world’s largest scientific association for human factors/ergonomics professionals. HFES serves the needs of members and the public by promoting and advancing the discovery and exchange of knowledge concerning the characteristics of human beings that are applicable to the design of systems, products, tools, and environments of all kinds.

Biomedical Engineering Research Guide

Need Help?

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Biomedical Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

Databases

Databases

Journals

Journals

Books

Books

Looking for Course Textbooks?

More books about Biomechanics >>>

Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals

More books about Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals >>>

Biomaterials

More books about Biomaterials >>>

Biosensors

More books about Biosensors >>>

Biotechnology

More books about Biotechnology >>>

Human Factors and Ergonomics

More books about Ergonomics >>>

Medical Devices and Systems

More books about Medical Devices and Systems >>>

Bioinformatics

More books about Bioinformatics >>>

Biomedical Imaging

More books about Biomedical Imaging >>>

Regenerative Medicine

More books about Regenerative Medicine >>>

Standards and Specifications

Standards and Specifications

Professional Societies

Professional Societies

Return to Other pages

Return to CEAS Library

Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides