Welcome to the Foundations of Marketing Research Guide. This guide will connect you to the resources you need to complete your Marketing Plan research project.
You'll find the following library resources where you can locate company and industry information including:
For a company's mission statement, visit their webpages. Mission statements are typically found under the About Us, Our Company or Investor Relations links which are often located at the bottom of a company's homepage.
An alternative way to sometimes locate a company's mission statement, and/or identify it's goals and values, is through their 10-K filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). 10-K filings may be found in the following databases:
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
Provides information on over 20¸000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200¸000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media¸ current agency¸ fiscal year-end and annual sales¸ contact information on key personnel¸ brand name info¸ S.I.C. & NAICS classifications¸ and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of nearly 15¸000 U.S. and international advertising agencies¸ including accounts represented by each agency¸ fields of specialization¸ breakdown of gross billings by media¸ contact information on agency personnel and much more.
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current
Simmons Insights is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides marketers with faster access to actionable consumer insights. Powered by Simmons Smart Search, the most comprehensive consumer intelligence search engine, this new platform allows users to mine through 250,000+ consumer behaviors in seconds, helping to accelerate the development of brand consumer messaging, cross-channel marketing, and media planning tactics.
Summon searches for books, articles, and other materials available at the library (most of it is online). It is a library version of Google.
You can find company information available at the library by using some of the following searches:
Kroger AND "company goals"
IBM AND "financial goals"
Cintas AND "core competencies"
"consumer trends" AND "frozen foods"
Search Summon Here:
