Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later.
Building a search query:
Narrow your results:
Citation searching
Look at theses/dissertations at UC and worldwide
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present
Reference works can provide background information and terminology to help with additional searching.
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by
Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering, Three Volume Set is a unique source for rapidly evolving updates on topics that are at the interface of the biological sciences and engineering. Biomaterials, biomedical devices and techniques play a significant role in improving the quality of health care in the developed world. The book covers an extensive range of topics related to biomedical engineering, including biomaterials, sensors, medical devices, imaging modalities and imaging processing. In addition, applications of biomedical engineering, advances in cardiology, drug delivery, gene therapy, orthopedics, ophthalmology, sensing and tissue engineering are explored. This important reference work serves many groups working at the interface of the biological sciences and engineering, including engineering students, biological science students, clinicians, and industrial researchers. Provides students with a concise description of the technologies at the interface of the biological sciences and engineering Covers all aspects of biomedical engineering, also incorporating perspectives from experts working within the domains of biomedicine, medical engineering, biology, chemistry, physics, electrical engineering, and more Contains reputable, multidisciplinary content from domain experts Presents a 'one-stop' resource for access to information written by world-leading scholars in the field
Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine by
Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Three Volume Set provides a comprehensive collection of personal overviews on the latest developments and likely future directions in the field. By providing concise expositions on a broad range of topics, this encyclopedia is an excellent resource. Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine are relatively new fields still in their early stages of development, yet they already show great promise. This encyclopedia brings together foundational content and hot topics in both disciplines into a comprehensive resource, allowing deeper interdisciplinary research and conclusions to be drawn from two increasingly connected areas of biomedicine. Provides a 'one-stop' resource for access to information written by world-leading scholars in the fields of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine Contains multimedia features, including hyperlinked references and further readings, cross-references and diagrams/images Represents the most comprehensive and exhaustive product on the market on the topic
Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.
Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Health Sciences Library - biomedical and clinical resources, including College of Medicine info resources
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Full-text access to high-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics and related disciplines. Includes journals, magazines and standards published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and conference proceedings from both IEEE and the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).
First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. All sources are searchable and there are also several browse options for proceedings (by year, symposium, volume number, volume title, technology). Publications included in the SPIE Digital Library include, the Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, and Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic¸ objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals¸ with quantifiable¸ statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles - cited references¸ Journal Citation Reports helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels¸ and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
How to Read a Patent - basic guide developed by a law firm. Hint: "A" patent is published application, "B" is a granted patent (enforceable).
CEAS Library Guide on Patents: guides.libraries.uc.edu/patents provides many more resources.
RefWorks is a citation and reference management service. With RefWorks users can create their own personal database by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product¸ RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows¸ Mac¸ Unix¸ etc. UC users can set up their free individual accounts. This is the NEW version of RefWorks. Users new to RefWorks should set up accounts with this version of RefWorks. Most new development for RefWorks service will be on this NEW platform.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents.
Other tools and services for researchers
("Find Full Text" in Google Scholar)
Configure Google Scholar for UC Libraries access
Enable Google Scholar to identify UC-licensed full-text of journal articles. Access appears as a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.
LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full-Text
Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. Available for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Vivaldi and Brave browsers. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/.
When you reach available full-text, a blue & green "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s page (vs. database search results page) to trigger this prompt. See this example from an International Journal of Science Education article - https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .
Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will locate and download a PDF of the article for you or direct you to other options.
UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers (including current day):
Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)
Cincinnati Public Library
