Are library resources OER? No.
Online content provided by UC Libraries, including e-books, online magazines, newspapers, and journals, and access to our databases is limited to UC students, faculty, and staff. This content is licensed, not freely available, and cannot be adapted, modified, redistributed, or shared outside of the UC community.
However, you can make library resources available to your students at no cost to them by linking to them or embedding them into your courses. Work with your liaison so they can help identify the correct content licensing.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers¸ eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Coverage: 1967 - present
E-books
Use library e-books in your course. This may work best if you are assigning a book chapter as opposed to the entire book. Be aware of limits to the number of users who can access a book at once. You can link to the book directly from your course in Blackboard.
A sample of the library's e-book collections is shown below. The library provides a complete list of databases that include e-books. You can also limit catalog searches to e-books only.
Includes electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. NOTE: First time, authorized UC users, need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
