The UC Libraries has a variety of resources that support student, faculty, and staff mental health. These include both books and research resources on the topic and items that promote stress relief.
There are many helpful books in the library catalog. You can find them using the recommended search terms including - mental health, well being, self-care. To narrow your results you can search within your list for a specific population i.e. students, adults, children, use AND/OR to combine keywords, and use punctuation tricks such as asterisk *, parenthesis (...), or quotes "..." to further refine your search.
College Mental Health 101
by
With a growing number of students entering college with an existing mental health diagnosis, College Mental Health 101 offers hope and clear direction to those struggling with mental illness.There is an undeniable mental health crisis on campuses these days. More students are anxious, depressed, drinking, and self-harming than ever before. The statistics are startling: 50% of mental health issues begin by age 14, 75% by age 24, while suicide is the second leading cause of death among young adults. And yet even while more students are struggling, more students than ever are breaking through stigma, seeking help, and sharing openly in person and social media about their challenges. College Mental Health 101 offers more answers, relief, resources, and research backed information for families, students, and staff already at college or beginning the application process. With simple charts and facts, informal self-assessments, quick tips for students and those who support them, the book includes hundreds of voices addressing common concerns. Basics like picking and contacting a therapist, knowing your rights, disclosing to friends and family, advice on medication and time off, are all covered in brief digestible sections. The book also offers support and understanding to families and friends of struggling students who are often uncertain of where else to turn for expert advice. Packed with hundreds of expert and student voices, three diverse experts in the field have assembled the right resources at the right time.
Nurturing Student Well-Being in the Modern World
by
The Last Human Job
by
A timely and urgent argument for preserving the work that connects us in the age of automation "A compelling case for valuing care as a societal good and as skilled labor."--The Nation With the rapid development of artificial intelligence and labor-saving technologies like self-checkouts and automated factories, the future of work has never been more uncertain, and even jobs requiring high levels of human interaction are no longer safe. The Last Human Job explores the human connections that underlie our work, arguing that what people do for each other in these settings is valuable and worth preserving. Drawing on in-depth interviews and observations with people in a broad range of professions--from physicians, teachers, and coaches to chaplains, therapists, caregivers, and hairdressers--Allison Pugh develops the concept of "connective labor," a kind of work that relies on empathy, the spontaneity of human contact, and a mutual recognition of each other's humanity. The threats to connective labor are not only those posed by advances in AI or apps; Pugh demonstrates how profit-driven campaigns imposing industrial logic shrink the time for workers to connect, enforce new priorities of data and metrics, and introduce standardized practices that hinder our ability to truly see each other. She concludes with profiles of organizations where connective labor thrives, offering practical steps for building a social architecture that works. Vividly illustrating how connective labor enriches the lives of individuals and binds our communities together, The Last Human Job is a compelling argument for us to recognize, value, and protect humane work in an increasingly automated and disconnected world.
The Connection Cure
by
*A NEXT BIG IDEA CLUB MUST-READ* *A HARVARD PUBLIC HEALTH MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2024* In this combination of diligent science reporting, moving patient success stories, and surprising self-discovery, journalist Julia Hotz helps us discover the lasting and life-changing power of social prescribing. Traditionally, when we get sick, health care professionals ask, "What's the matter with you?" But around the world, teams of doctors, nurses, therapists, and social workers have started to flip the script, asking "What matters to you?" Instead of solely pharmaceutical prescriptions, they offer "social prescriptions"--referrals to community activities and resources, like photography classes, gardening groups, and volunteering gigs. The results speak for themselves. Science shows that social prescribing is effective for treating symptoms of the modern world's most common ailments--depression, ADHD, addiction, trauma, anxiety, chronic pain, dementia, diabetes, and loneliness. As health care's de facto cycle of "diagnose-treat-repeat" reaches a breaking point, social prescribing has also proven to reduce patient wait times, lower hospitalization rates, save money, and reverse health worker burnout. And as a general sense of unwellness plagues more of us, social prescriptions can help us feel healthier than we've felt in years. As the first book on social prescribing, The Connection Cure empowers you to find, experience, and implement this revolutionary medicine in your own community. While touring the globe to investigate the spread of social prescribing to over thirty countries, Hotz meets people personifying its revolutionary potential: an aspiring novelist whose art workshop helps her cope with trauma symptoms and rediscover her joy; a policy researcher whose swimming course helps her taper off antidepressants and feel excited to wake up in the morning; an army vet whose phone conversations help him form his only true friendship; and dozens more. The success stories she finds bring a long-known theory to life: if we can change our environment, we can change our health. By reconnecting to what matters to us, we can all start to feel better.
Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
by
Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress.As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick.Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.
The library provides access to a range of books and other research resources on mental health and related topics. Some places to begin your search include:
In addition to books, the library provides access to a number of streaming movies for both research and entertainment along with other unexpected resources:
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service providing access to a collection of films, documentaries, independent cinema, and classic movies, including titles from the Criterion Collection, PBS, and BBC.
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group.
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.
NOTE: SCROLL DOWN to click the Counseling & Psychotherapy box to view all available videos in the collection)
This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and book is provided, along with videos, and hobby profiles. Subjects include arts & crafts, home & garden, outdoor recreation, performing arts, and science & technology.
The CEAS Library board game collection provides a mix of designer games, party games, and classic games for check out to expand access to tabletop gaming and strengthen the UC student community.
Check Out Details
The games in the collection can be checked out by members of the UC community for 7 days at a time in the CEAS Library on the 8th floor of Baldwin Hall. Games can be renewed once and must be returned to the circulation desk. Please don't place our games in the book drop.
Report an Issue or Make a Recommendation
Is a game missing a piece? Is one of the cards ripped? Is there a specific game you'd like to see added to the collection? Let us know!
Please be nice to the games so many others can enjoy them. We ask that you keep food and drinks away from the games but things happen. Before returning, check that all components of the game are present. If you find any issues with the games, please report it at the link below.
Browse the Collection
There are multiple ways to browse the collection. Use the menu on the left hand side (on desktop) or on top of the page (on mobile) to browse the collection in this libguide. Stop by the CEAS Library to browse the collection in person.
