Welcome to the Psychology Basics LibGuide!
This research guide was created by UC librarians from Langsam Library, UC Blue Ash, and UC Clermont. It is meant to serve a general, multi-disciplinary group of users interested in psychology topics.
On this guide you will find quick links to Psychology databases and books, some search strategies and APA help, and starting places to begin your Psychology research.
These are our top picks for Psychology databases, but at the bottom of the list is a link the all the Psychology databases UC students can access.
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.Also includes journals, textbooks, study guides, and clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and more.
Our library is organized so that books about similar topics are near each other. If you can find one book on your topic, you can likely find others similar nearby. Here are some call numbers that may be useful to you:
Where to find them?
How to Access Library Resources: Click the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.
These prompts can occur both on and off campus.
Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources
