Criminal Justice Statistics & Data Sets

Contains a plethora of crime and law enforcementrelated statistics at the federal, state and local levels.

Provides access to full text publications, press releases and statistical tables and data sets.

Provides crime data by institution or groups of institutions. Group data available as downloaded data files.

Provides map links to crime events and report of criminal activity in the United States (summary and district reports). Enter city, zip code or address for a map of crime events by city or specific location.

"Crime in the United States" (CIUS) is an annual compilation of criminal statistics produced by the Uniform Crime Reporting system of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. It is compiled from over 17,000 law enforcement agencies. CIUS includes data on the volume and rate of crime in the U.S., as well as data on arrests, clearances and law enforcement employees. Online data is available from 1995 to the current year. Data for earlier years is available from the print publication, "Uniform Crime Reports for the United States."

The Department of Justice provides the latest national data summary, full reports and downloadable Excel files for criminal victimization in the United States.

Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).Provides 110 tablse with detailed data on major variables measured the the National Crime Victimization Survey.

Staticstics compiled under the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports Program

Provides links to publications containing series of charts that show homicide patterns and trends in the United States from 1980 to 2008.

Generally this publication reproduces statistical tables from the Bureau of Justice and FBI, but in a more user friendly format with some additional expository narrative. The e-book is divided into 11 chapters, mostly crime data but 3 chapters delve into correctional, probation & parole and recidivism data

NCVS is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization.

Provides a link to Annual Bulletins from 1993 to the most current issue.

Comprehensive aggregation of crime related statistics.

These annual reports, produced jointly by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and National Center for Education Statistics, presents data on school crime and safety from the perspectives of students, teachers, and principals.

The Sourcebook is no longer published. This online version (2013) comes via the Internet Archive. The Sourcebook gathers together data from more than 100 sources, including over 600 statistical tables related to criminal activity, law enforcement, courts, public opinion, prosecution, sentencing and corrections (including parole, jails and prisons).

Statistics for offenses and types of arrests for all campuses, including University Hospital.

The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) provides information of characteristics of victims, including age, race, ethnicity, gender, marital status and household income.

The National Crime Victimization Survey provides publications, press releases and data tables regarding all aspects of victimization in the United States.

Provides a vast amount of crime data via a combination of online data (via reports) and downloadable data sets on crimes ( including expanded focus on homicides) and the criminal justice system (persons detained, prosecuted & convicted as well as criminal justice resources). Also includes historic data from 1970 to 2002.

The European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control provides a substantive anaysis of retrospective crime data. Most data in within the range of 1990 to 2008.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime provides international crime and corrections statisticsl.

Provides an excellent descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 47 countries, but very little crime data. Published in 2003; the information is dated.

The one to two-page fact sheets come from the 2017 edition of "Drugs of Abuse: a DEA resource guide." Also includes the text of the "Controlled Substances Act," drug schedules and penalties for drug trafficking

The United States Drug Enforcement Administraion provides national data on DEA arrests, seizures, meth lab incidents and various reports related to substance abuse activity.

The 2018 National Drug Threat Assessment (NDTA) is a comprehensive assessment of the threat
posed to the United States by the trafficking and use of illicit drugs

Provides a plethora of reports, replete with statistics, on a wide range of drug usage topics, includes state reports, including the National Survey on Drug Use & Health going back to 1979.

The World Drug Report 2019 is presented in five separate parts: Booklet 1 provides a summary of the four subsequent booklets by reviewing their key findings and highlighting policy implications based on their conclusions. Booklet 2 contains a global overview of the latest estimates of and trends in the supply, use and health consequences of drugs. Booklet 3 looks at recent trends in the market for depressants (including opioids, sedatives, tranquillizers and hypnotics), while Booklet 4 deals with recent trends in the market for stimulants (including cocaine, amphetamine-type stimulants and new psychoactive substances). Booklet 5 contains a review of recent trends in the market for cannabis and for hallucinogens. The section on cannabis also includes a review of the latest developments in the jurisdictions that have adopted measures allowing the non-medical use of cannabis. (UNODOC website, 2019)

Statistics from the Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies. The Census is conducted every four years and covers approximately 18,000 law enforcement agencies nationwide. As of 4/25/18 the latest data available is from 2008.

The UCR Program consists of four data collections: The National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), the Summary Reporting System (SRS), the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program, and the Hate Crime Statistics Program. The UCR Program publishes annual reports for each of these data collections.

Provides statistics about the inmate population, sentences imposed, types of sentences and prison staff.

Published by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and authored by Margaret Werner Cahalan. This is a comprehensive compendium of corrections data for the period of 1850 to 1984.

Generally this publication reproduces statistical tables from the Bureau of Justice and FBI, but in a more user friendly format with some additional expository narrative. The e-book is divided into 11 chapters, mostly crime data but 3 chapters delve into correctional, probation & parole and recidivism data

Search the U.S. National Institute for Corrections for state statistical data related to correctional facilities, inmates, correctional facilities' staff, etc.

Provides statistical reports and tables related to correctional populations and facilities (local, state and federal levels), recidivism, capital punishment, sexual violence, expenditures, employees, community corrections and deaths in custody.

The Sourcebook is no longer published. This online version (2013) comes via the Internet Archive. The Sourcebook gathers together data from more than 100 sources, including over 600 statistical tables related to criminal activity, law enforcement, courts, public opinion, prosecution, sentencing and corrections (including parole, jails and prisons).

Provides access to data analysis tools and data sets for a wide range of juvenile justice statistics.

Published by the Institute for Criminal Policy Research, School of Law, Birkbeck,
University of London (ICPS@bbk.ac.uk). This website provides statistics and administrative information on the world's prison systems and populations.

Published by the International Centre for Prison Studies. This is the 12th edition, 2018.