Research Guides: Law Faculty Guide to the Law Library: Other Research Databases

Legal Databases

Other Legal Databases

Lexis & Westlaw are not the only legal databases! Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. Some of these databases are available to the entire University of Cincinnati community. Others are restricted to the College of Law.

VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) VitalLaw provides online access to primary law and analysis on Antitrust & Trade Regulation, Banking, Corporate Governance, Intellectual Property, Products Liability, Securities, and other legal topics.

HeinOnline HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,500 law and law-related periodicals; the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety; the U.S. Reports back to 1754; world trials dating back to the early 1700's; legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries; the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series; all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from 1936; the CFR from 1938; and much more.
Legal Collection This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected¸ scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues¸ studies¸ thoughts and trends of the legal world. Coverage: 1965 - present
Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (MOML) The Making of Modern Law is a very comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises from 1800-1926. It allows for full text searching of more than 21,000 works from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.

Free Legal Resources We have an entire guide on free legal resources!

Other Selected Useful Non-legal Databases

Selected Non-Legal Databases

This is a list of selected non-legal databases that law students and faculty have found very useful. You can find a complete list of UC Library databases at http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/az.php?a=all. Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

CRS Reports (Library of Congress Public Edition) CRS Reports provide extensive background information on the development of legislative issues. Published by the Congressional Research Service¸ members of Congress and their staff rely on CRS Reports to inform and shape their understanding of the issues¸ now available in this database. CRS Reports offers the most comprehensive collection available¸ dating to 1993. Coverage: 1993-Present
CQ Electronic Library CQ electronic library is a reference resource for research in American government¸ politics¸ history¸ public policy¸ and current affairs. The suite includes CQ Public Affairs Collection¸ CQ Researcher¸ CQ Supreme Court Collection¸ CQ Voting and Elections Collection and CQ Weekly. Coverage: varies by database
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes¸ occasional papers series from NGOs¸ foundation-funded research projects¸ and proceedings from conferences.
Hannah Capitol Connection Ohio leglislative and governmental information service¸ including bill tracking¸ the full text of bills¸ the administrative code and revised code¸ committee rosters¸ and legislator information Coverage: 1986-
JSTOR JSTOR includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
PAIS (ProQuest) PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) provides information on public affairs, policy, politics, and statistics. It contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles¸ books¸ government documents¸ statistical directories¸ grey literature¸ research reports¸ conference papers¸ web content¸ and more.
Project MUSE Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Human Rights Quarterly is published electronically through Project MUSE.
ProQuest Congressional Publications Provides daily updated information¸ including full text of bills (beg.1989)¸ public laws (beg.1988)¸ committee reports (beg. 1990)¸ House and Senate documents (aft. 1995)¸ Congressional hearings (beg.1987-88)¸ Congressional Record (beg. 1985)¸ Federal Register (beg.1980)¸ National Journal (beg.1977) and other government information. Users can search an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present and retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970.
PubMed PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Sage Data : powered by Data Planet
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. ... With the ability to instantly chart, map, and compare billions of indicators at the county, MSA, census-tract, state, and country level, Data-Planet is revolutionizing statistical research.
Coverage: 1909 - present