A systematic review is an academic research paper that uses a method called ‘evidence synthesis’, which can include meta-analysis, to look for answers to a pre-defined question. The purpose of a systematic review is to sum up the best available research on that specific question. Reviews can also show when there has not been enough research carried out, and where more research is needed.
Source: Campbell Collaboration (https://www.campbellcollaboration.org/)
If you are interested in doing a systematic review outside of the social sciences, check out the research guide below from the UC Health Sciences Library.
Databases:
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Tools:
Users must register for an account with a valid UC email. Go here to register:
https://app.covidence.org/organizations/7gwO5/signup
Covidence is an online tool that streamlines the production of systematic reviews, scoping reviews, and other literature-intensive research projects. It coordinates the screening process of titles/abstracts and full-text articles, and it facilitates the population of data extraction forms and risk of bias tables. Users must register for an account with their UC email. UC HSL is piloting this resource for 1 year. More information about this pilot can be found at: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/CovidencePilot
Desktop free, open sourced citation management system that can be used to collect, organize, cite, and share research. Word processor integration for Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs, and can sync records across devices. Developed and supported by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship.
Systematic Review (found in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods) by Recorded Workshops by the CECH Library
Campbell Collaboration has YouTube playlists featuring videos of paste lectures, workshops, and trainings
Videos from other sources:
These guides belong to other colleges/universities. Links on these guides might ask you for credentials associated with the host institution.
