Research Guides: MEDIA LAW: Issues &amp; Problems SPCL 7014 Prof. John (Jack) Greiner: Newspapers, Magazines & Periodicals

Facts

Newspapers

Times Digital Archive¸ 1785-2012
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London)¸ using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured¸ with all articles¸ advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
NEWSDEX
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer¸ Cincinnati Post¸ Cincinnati Herald¸ Cincinnati Magazine¸ Business Courier¸ and the Downtowner.
Newspaper Source
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers¸ eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Coverage: 1967 - present
Access World News
A database of articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Very useful for access to state-by-state coverage.
Coverage: late 1950"s - present

Proquest U.S. Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current

Stories & Context

Magazines & Journals

Academic Search Complete
Includes Full Text
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
more...less...
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP provides access to a balanced collection of academic sources and contains more than 5,300 titles; more than 3,000 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines, including more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage: Full Text
more...less...
Balanced coverage on a variety of subjects is available through: social science journals, humanities journals, general interest magazines, science and technology journals, and national and global news sources.

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines is a collection of full-text magazines¸ covering general news¸ business¸ entertainment¸ lifestyle¸ and sports. Package is a component of Access World News from NewsBank.
Coverage: Current

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Includes Full Text
Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases:
Coverage: Full Text; 1982-present
more...less...
Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
ProQuest Research Library
Includes Full Text
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system, Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. Coverage: 1971 - present
more...less...
The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.