Court rules provide the parties with information and instructions on matters pertaining to judicial proceedings. They establish uniform procedures such as filing deadlines, proper formatting, delivery method, timing, etc. and they aid the court in performing its business.
You can find some court rules in your annotated code. This is very useful because it allows you to pick up journals and cases discussing those rules. Some treatises reprint court rules as well as provide analysis and explanation of them. Most court websites also provide their court rules.
A useful tip is to look at the structure of litigation. The rules are generally listed in the order that litigation occurs. You can safely divide rules up into pre-trial, trial, post-trial, and appellate. You’ll have rules of civil procedure, rules of criminal procedure, rules of evidence, and appellate rules.
To view practice sets on court rules, see the Practice Forms & Checklists page.
Both Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated and Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated have annotated versions of the Ohio rules.
Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated by
Page's Code is an authoritative and comprehensive resource for the Ohio Revised Code, Ohio court rules, and Ohio Constitution. It includes all the annotations, explanatory notes, and other research aids that are expected in a quality state code set. In addition to the General Index, each volume contains an index to the contents of that volume. For ease of use, court rules which are associated with a particular Code Title are included in that volume. For example, the Criminal Rules are in Title 29, and the Juvenile Rules are in Title 21.
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated by
This set offers complete coverage of Ohio statutory law, supplemented by several editorial enhancements including extensive annotations to court and state agency decisions that construe or affect Ohio law. Annotations are drawn from reported Ohio court decisions, selected unreported Court of Appeals decisions, Ohio attorney general opinions, Ethics Commission decisions, federal cases, and decisions of state agencies. Also includes US and Ohio constitutions and court rules.
Ohio Rules of Court
Rules Governing the Courts of OhioAvailable on Westlaw: OH-RULES
The OH-RULES database database contains court rules governing state and local federal practice in Ohio. It includes Rules of Civil, Criminal, Juvenile, and Appellate Procedure, Rules of Evidence, Rules of Superintendence for Courts of Ohio, Rules for the Government of the Bar, and other selected state court rules. Local Rules of the Court of Claims, Supplemental Local Appellate Rules, selected local rules for Courts of Common Pleas are also included.
Available on Lexis. This database contains court rules governing state and local federal practice in Ohio. It includes Rules of Civil, Criminal, Juvenile, and Appellate Procedure, Rules of Evidence, Rules of Superintendence for Courts of Ohio, Rules for the Government of the Bar, and other selected state court rules. Local Rules of the Court of Claims, Supplemental Local Appellate Rules, selected local rules for Courts of Common Pleas are also included.
Moore's Federal Practice -- Civil (Lexis)
Law faculty & students only. This is one of the major treatises on Federal practice. This part covers the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Annotations include the legislative history and an historical analysis for each rule.
Federal Practice and Procedure (Wright & Miller)
Westlaw is available for law students & faculty only. Wright & Miller's Federal Practice and Procedure is another major treatise on federal practice. Like Moore's it covers Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Criminal Procedure, Appeallate Procedure and Evidence and features extensive annotations.
Both the USCA and the USCS have annotated versions of the federal rules, which include Advisory Committee notes.
United States Code
Federal Criminal Code and Rules
Moore's Federal Rules Pamphlet
The 2010 Federal Rules Book by 
Law students & faculty only. Available on Lexis: Browse Sources > Search Sources > "USCS - Federal Rules Annotated"
Rules appearing in the United States Code Service.
Law students & faculty only. Available on Westlaw. Rules appearing in the United States Code Annotated, including the most recent versions of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rules for the Trial of Misdemeanors Before U.S. Magistrates, rules of habeas corpus applications under 28 U.S.C.A. ¤ 2254, and rules of habeas corpus motions under 28 U.S.C.A. ¤ 2255.
