Research Guides: BME 5001 &amp; 7003 Biomedical Engineering Grad Seminar &amp; Senior Capstone: Find Articles & Patents

Article Databases

PubMed
PubMed is a major database of medical and clinical literature, with extensive coverage dating back to the 1950's. PubMed links to many full text options and related resources.
EMBASE
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database with coverage since 1947. One specialty is extensive coverage of literature on biomedical devices.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database for all areas of science and technology and includes extensive searching of cited and citing references. Coverage: 1965 - present
Compendex
Compendex is a major database for searching global technical literature across all engineering disciplines. Coverage: 1884 - present

Additional clinical research resources, from College of Medicine key databases :

DynaMed Plus
Go to DynaMed Plus™ for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.
ClinicalKey This collection includes medical books, textbooks current journals, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology. CME credits via the Cleveland Clinic. This resource is specifically designed to support physicians in evidence-based clinical care and clinical education, and also supports researchers and instructors with an included presentation builder for use with images and videos. To access ClinicalKey from off campus you must set up a personal account. To do this from off campus: 1. Login to the vpn (https://www.uc.edu/about/ucit/get-connected/vpn.html) 2. Once logged in, navigate to ClinicalKey (http://www.clinicalkey.com/) 3. At the top right, click on register, and create an account w/ your UC email 4. Login to the account. 5. Once logged in click on your username at the top right, and then select Remote Access 6. Enter your UC email and select ok. A confirmation email will be sent to your UC email. 7. Navigate to this email and activate remote access. In future sessions, login to your account to access the ClinicalKey resources remotely. If you are on campus, you can navigate to ClinicalKey without logging into the VPN.

Point of Care Resources (Medicine)

Specialized Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full-text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related technology disciplines. Includes IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses.
Scientific.Net
Includes academic journals and book series that publish regular and special issues, volumes, conference proceedings, and monographs focused on science and engineering themes.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to technical publications from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Presentations, and eBooks.

Patent Databases

Derwent Innovations Index
Covers over 14.3 million basic inventions from worldwide patent-issuing authorities. Conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Coverage 1963-present.

Lens.org Patent Search
Free patent search tool with extensive filtering and analysis options.

Locating Patent Copies

Locate the full-text patent (search patent number) using Google Patents (US) or Espacenet (WO, EP).
See the CEAS Library Guide on Patents for more tools

Tools for locating full-text

Find Article Full-Text

When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon (or "Find Full Text" link in Google Scholar)
- From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online. Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
- If not online or in print, submit an Interlibrary Loan (also called ILLiad) request. ILLiad may automatically fill the request form with your journal article's details. NOTE: First time ILLiad users may need to complete a contact profile.
Use Full Text Journals to search by journal title and locate databases containing full-text.
Search by journal title in the Library Catalog for print and some (not all) electronic access options.

Google Scholar - Register your UC Libraries access

Tell Google Scholar you are with UC so that search results provide links to UC-licensed full-text. Access is indicated with a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
Click on “Library Links”
Search for "University of Cincinnati."
Check the box next to "University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

LibKey Nomad - Browser Plug-In for Full Text

Download Nomad at www.libkeynomad.com. After download, enter University of Cincinnati as your institution. More details: thirdiron.com/products/libkey-nomad/

When full-text is available, a "Download PDF” prompt appears in the lower left corner. NOTE: You need to be on the article’s individual page (vs. a database search results page) to trigger this prompt. Try it out with this example from International Journal of Science Education https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09500693.2018.1540897 .

Click the "Download PDF" prompt. You may be asked to enter your UC Central Login. Nomad will track down the article PDF or direct you to other options for full-text as needed.