These tools can do two things for you. First good, scholarly encyclopedias can be a great place to start. They can give you a borad, learned view of a topic that you know little or nothing about. They can provide the background that you will need to make sense of law review articles. Second, both encyclopedias and dictionaries can give you short explanation of concepts and terms that are new to you. You will usually use them in this way as you read the academic literature to fill in small pieces of needed information.
The first item is one of the most useful encyclopedias; it is one of the best places to start your research.. Although it's title does not include the term, "human rights," the subject and a large number of it's subtopics are authoritatively covered. Indeed, it is so highly regarded that you can cite it in your papers.
The second item,The Foreign Law Guide is another highly authoritative tool. It can be used as both an encyclopedia and a source of full-text, foreign, primary legal texts although it is not strictly speaking an encyclopedia at all. Each article covers a country or intergovernmental organization. It describes the history of the legal system, legislation and the judicial system, official gazette, compilations or official codifications, session laws, codes, court reports, introductory sources, online sources, selected print sources, and laws of the country listed by subject. There is no better source for locating the primary legal texts of foreign countries.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by
This comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Entries cover major issues, incidents and violations, concepts and terms, activists, organizations, and human rights instruments. Entries on more than fifty nations from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia were selected based on the incidence of major human rights in those nations. Comprehensive cross-references in each entry make it easy to research a topic and its related entries easily. Each entry concludes with a selected list of further reading for more in-depth research. A timeline of significant dates since 1945 in the field of human rights and the text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights add reference value.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
This book defines the concept of human rights in all its diversity: the rights of individuals, peoples and nations; the rights to employment, education, culture and personal development; rights to a peaceful existence and to a clean, healthy environment; rights in the workplace; rights of special groups, such as the handicapped and the homeless; rights in war; and rights on land, sea and air. It also defines basic human needs, the right to assembly, and the right to cultural enjoyment, and analyzes legal decisions and international accords that have made these terms concrete realities. The encyclopaedia analyzes and reproduces the national and international documents and instruments which have affirmed or violated rights. It also includes landmark legal and legislative decisions in the field of human rights. There is also information on more than 130 non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations, such as the UN, the OAS and the Council of Europe
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
The Human Rights Encyclopedia by
This A-Z encyclopaedia provides a comprehensive examination of human rights with 600 illustrated entries by experts in the field. It offers country-by-country approach to this issue with entries on torture, slavery, asylum, genocide, hostages, imprisonment, and freedom of the press.
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
The global importance of human rights issues has sparked an ongoing need to develop a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations, where remedies are, in fact, available. Giving the broadest scope to the terms human rights and freedoms, this reference encompasses constitutional rights and freedoms as well as those addressed in international and regional agreements. Through entries that define and describe concepts and terms, to text excerpts of documents, charts depicting global comparisons, essays on organizations, and biographies of activists and theorists, this reference will serve the research and information needs of students, scholars, activists, and interested citizens. As the title suggests, International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies goes beyond the abstract to include practical information on remedies for violations of a person's rights and freedoms by a national government, and on the private and government rights organizations that assist in reporting on or enforcing human rights. All around the world, there is a growing interest in developing a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations. International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies is written for both students of the subject and those who are actively working in the field. This reference work points readers in the right direction for enforcing their rights rather than merely setting them forth in the abstract.
Human Rights in the United States: A Dictionary and Documents by
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law by
This one-of-a-kind Dictionary provides a comprehensive breakdown of terms employed in the discussion of international human rights law. In addition to a list of definitions, this innovative volume also includes an appendix featuring descriptions of major treaties, documents, and other important human rights instruments, along with references on how to locate them.Students and professors of international, human rights and humanitarian law will find this volume an indispensable resource, as will government officials and other practitioners working with human rights issues.
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law by
A ready reference covering the issues and context of rights including the universality of rights, the hierarchy of rights, and conflicts between rights. Gibson provides an excellent guide to the meanings of terms and concepts found in international human rights law. This dictionary will be useful for anyone doing research in international law and is recommended highly for general, college, and university collections. --ARBA
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by
While the idea of human rights and humanitarian assistance has ancient roots--evidence can be seen in such examples as the Ten Commandments, the Bhagavad Gita, and the teachings of Confucius and Socrates--it wasn't until the 1800s that the first modern humanitarian and human rights organizations came to be. The 19th century saw the beginning of the abolitionist movement, the forming of a variety of women's suffrage organizations, the formation and consolidation of national labor unions, and the founding of the Red Cross. This was followed by the inextricably intertwined story of war, persecution, violence, and the growth of human rights and humanitarian organizations in the 20th century. Bearing witness to some of the most horrific and blatant violations of human dignity, the 20th century also beheld the first sustained global efforts to promote human rights at the international level. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations thoroughly revises the first edition, following major new developments in the arena of human rights since its publication, including the emergence of terrorism and international responses to it; the establishment of an international criminal court; the evolution of regional human rights bodies in Africa, Europe, and Latin America; and the proliferation of new non-governmental organizations and foundations dedicated to the promotion of human rights. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, photographs, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries covering many of the key treaties, agreements, and definitions of human rights concepts; important humanitarian organizations, whether private, governmental, national, or international; and significant persons and events. This realistic assessment of the advances in protection of human rights and the major difficulties still facing them is an excellent tool for students, practitioners, and libraries.
