Research Guides: International Human Rights: Collective Sources

Collective Sources

Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)
The Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII - www.asianlii.org) is a non-profit and free access website for legal information from all 27 countries and territories in Asia located from Japan in the east to Pakistan in the west, and from Mongolia in the north to Timor Leste in the south. AsianLII provides for searching and browsing databases of legislation, case-law, law reform reports, law journals and other legal information, where available, from each country in the region. At launch it will provide access to nearly 100 databases drawn from almost all 27 Asian countries. Over 140,000 cases from at least 15 countries, and over 15,000 pieces of legislation from at least 18 countries will be searchable. All databases can be searched simultaneously, or searches can be limited to one country’s databases or other combinations. Search results can be ordered by relevance, by date, or by database. For every country, AsianLII contains an extensive Catalog of law-related websites for that country (parts of the largest law catalog on the Internet), and a ‘Law on Google’ facility assisting users to search Google only for legal materials from that country.
Asian Legal Resource Centre (ALRC)
The Asian Legal Resource Centre (ALRC) is an NGO committed to the development of legal self-reliance and empowerment of people. The Centre will promote the development of, and support specific legal service and resource programmes promoting self-help at the local level. It will also seek to strengthen and encourage positive action on legal and human rights issues by the bar and other legal bodies and personnel, at local and national levels. The Centre will press, where appropriate, for the introduction and improvement of effective government legal services.
Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (ComonLII)
The Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (CommonLII) aims to provide one central Internet location from which it is possible to search - for free - core legal information from all Commonwealth countries

International Law Reports
Call Number: Law Stacks KZ199 .I58
Published since 1929, and featuring cases from 1919, the International Law Reports a publication devoted to the regular and systematic reporting in English of decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts. Cases are drawn from every relevant jurisdiction - international and national. The volumes are prepared at the Lauterpacht Research Centre for International Law in the University of Cambridge. All decisions in other languages are translated into English. In the early years it published only a summary of the facts and the holding of each case. Now it publishes whole judgments except parts that have nothing to do with public international law. At the end of each case is a citation to the original source of the text of the judgment. This is an authoritative source and may be cited.
International Legal Materials
Call Number: Online via JSTOR and Law Periodical Reserves KZ64 .I58
Publication Date: 1962 - 2016 online, 2015-2018 in print
This series reprints selected judicial, legislative, and administrative materials of all types of both international and municipal bodies. It is available on Lexis in full text. This is an authoritative source and may be cited.

Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII)
PacLII collects and publishes legal materials from 20 Pacific Islands Countries on its website www.paclii.org which is hosted by AustLII. These countries are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. The materials consist mainly of primary materials such as court decisions and legislation but also include decisions of various tribunals, panels, Ombudsmens reports or secondary information such as court rules or bench books. PacLII is now seeking to expand its collections to include law related materials such as subject specific papers and reports. PacLII is also developing a series of subject specific libraries utilising predetermined search technology. An Intellectual Property and a Maritime Law Library have been created and more are planned. A number of Pacific Islands Treaties are also available but direct access to the database has been suspended due to a current lack of capacity.

The World Court Reference Guide by Bimal N. Patel (Contribution by, Editor); Shabtai Rosenne (Contribution by)
Call Number: Law Stacks KZ200.5 .W67 2002
ISBN: 9041119078
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
A single-volume comprehensive overview of procedural aspects of the jurisprudence of the World Court, this work offers: - Statements of initial claims, counter-claims of the contentious cases and questions submitted for the advisory opinions; - Summarised details of all orders, the duration of the oral and written proceedings and coverage of requests for extension of time-limits; - Summaries and headnotes, texts of the operative and final paragraphs of all judicial decisions, composition of the Court and declarations and opinions of its Members; - Systematic reference on legal instruments such as the Covenant of the League of Nations, the UN Charter, the PCIJ and ICJ Statutes, the Rules of Court, the Arbitral Awards, PCIJ and ICJ case-law, Treaties and inter(national) legal sources; - Coverage of information on litigation teams (agents, counsels, advocates, experts, advisers, etc.); - Indexes containing all versions of the PCIJ and the ICJ Rules of Court, League Covenant, UN Charter, Arbitral Awards, PCIJ and ICJ case-law and Treaties.

WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute)
Contains databases of case-law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials.
The World Law Guide (Lexadin)
More than 70.000 Links to Legal sites in over 180 countries