Skip to Main Content
Professional Responsibility
ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
Key Laws & Regulations covering state ethics rules and federal laws and regulations affecting attorney conduct (including Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 11, Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and federal agency rules).
ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct
See Comment 8, Rule 1.1. Maintaining Competence [8] To maintain the requisite knowledge and skill, a lawyer should keep abreast of changes in the law and its practice, including the benefits and risks associated with relevant technology, engage in continuing study and education and comply with all continuing legal education requirements to which the lawyer is subject.
Ethical Duty of Technology Competency -State Adoption
In 2012, the American Bar Association formally approved a change to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct to make clear that lawyers have a duty to be competent not only in the law and its practice, but also in technology. This list summarizes how many states have adopted the duty of technology competence.
Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct
Effective February 1, 2007; as amended effective September 1, 2021
Technology Databases & Websites
ABA Buyer's Guide Directory
Technology product listings are provided and updated by the individual sponsors.
LinkedIn Learning
With more than 1¸200 courses taught by industry experts -and more courses added every week-Lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever and wherever the user is ready to learn: anywhere¸ anytime. The library videos feature software from Adobe¸ Apple¸ Autodesk¸ Blackboard¸ Facebook¸ Google¸ HTML¸ Microsoft¸ Open Source¸ SPSS¸ Twitter and many more. UC users loging with Central Login credentials.
National Society for Legal Technology
The NSLT's Legal Technology Training Portal provides on-demand learning modules that devolop technology skills for lawyers, paralegals, and support staff.
Patent Public Search
The Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application that will replace internal legacy search tools PubEast and PubWest and external legacy search tools PatFT and AppFT. Patent Public Search has two user selectable modern interfaces that provide enhanced access to prior art. The new, powerful, and flexible capabilities of the application will improve the overall patent searching process.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
