Research Guides: Technology in Law Practice: Law Practice

Answering Services & Virtual Receptionists

Virtual receptionists provide a solution for firms seeking to replace an in-house receptionist while maintaining lower cost. Answering services also provide cost effective solutions, but the range and complexity of services is not as extensive as a virtual receptionist.

LEXReception Virtual receptionist service.
Nexa Receptionists Virtual receptionist service. (Formerly known as Answer 1)
PATLive Live phone answering service.
Ruby Receptionist Virtual receptionist service.
Smith.ai Virtual Receptionist Live receptionists answer calls and website chats, qualify leads, intake new clients, book appointments, and accept payments.

Billing & Timekeeping

Billing and timekeeping softwares help attorneys to track time, bill clients, and get paid for their work.

Atlantic Associates Hourly, flat-fee or percentage-based billing for attorneys, accountants, consultants and other professional service providers.
bill4time Web-based time billing software serving both small and large professional service firms.
Billings Pro Invoicing and time tracking that syncs across your Mac, iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch.
Brief Accounting A fully integrated time, billing and accounting program custom-designed for the contemporary law firm. Developed specifically for law firms on the Mac.
Bright Light EasyTime EasyTime is a time and billing software for attorneys in small firms and solo practices. This application is easy to use, yet fully featured: Hourly, flat-rate, and retainer billing are standard. It also includes a built-in timer, accounts overview, multiple reports, and professional invoicing - everything you need to manage your legal billing. It's an affordable solution for your law office. If you are a solo practitioner or have multiple time keepers, EasyTime is scalable via single user or network version. The network version supports unlimited seats.
Casefox Web-based timekeeping and billing software for professionals. In addition to timekeeping and billing features, CaseFox also features rule based calendaring, task management, LEDES invoicing (ESIS Advocator and LitigationAdvisor/GreatAmerican formats also supported), partner-associate fee splitting rules, trust accounting, phone message logging, accounting ledger, discovery tracking, one-click invoicing, custom fields, task groups, fully automated subscription billing conflict check and more...
Chrometa Chrometa captures your time for your as you work on your PC, Mac, and Android.
ClientPay A web-based payment processing solution.
Clio Clio is a cloud-based law practice management software.
eBillity Time Tracker Time Tracker by eBillity is a timekeeping and invoicing application built for teams and individuals to streamline payroll and accounting.
LawPay Payment solution for law firms.
ProLaw ProLaw provides comprehensive integration with Microsoft Outlook, Word, Westlaw research, court rules, and many other popular applications to help your lawyers build and maintain a productive and profitable practice.
TaskTime4 A time tracking and billing solution
Time59 Time59 runs in the web browser of your Mac, PC, iPad, iPhone, or Android device. Along with easy-to-use time and expense tracking, invoicing, and report creation, Time59 also offers advanced features specifically for the legal profession, such as LEDES invoicing, trust accounting, and integration with LawPay.
Time Matters A case, client, and document management software.
TimeNet Law TimeNet Law is an application that lives on your Mac. Designed for attorneys, it includes: Time Tracking, One Click Billing. Automatic Payments, and Case Management.
TimeSolv Easy time and expense entry, batch billing, trust and IOLTA accounting, LEDES codes, conflicts search, document management & automation.

Business Phone Systems

Business phone systems are cloud-based systems which use the internet to connect callers with one another.

Ooma Includes features like a virtual receptionist, extension dialing, conferencing, and music-on-hold.
RingCentral Cloud phone system.
Nextiva Cloud-based unified communications.
8x8 Cloud business phone system featuring best-in-class features, mobile apps, messaging, and collaboration.

Document Management

Document management systems assist attorneys with storing, tracking and accessing their information. Many law practice management softwares also include document management as part of their package.

iManage Document and email management.
MetaJure Document management system.
NetDocuments Offers document management, email management and collaboration technology.
Pathagoras A 'plain-text based' document assembly system.
ProDoc Automates the generation of legal documents for entire areas of law.
TheFormTool Document Assembly & Automation Software
Worldox Document and Email Management

Law Practice Management Software

Law practice management software assists attorneys with the day to day operations of their legal practice. While the software components vary from company to company, most law practice management softwares include the following features: time and billing, calendaring, case management, contact management, and document management.

AdvoLogix Matter Management for Law Firms, Legal Departments and Public Service Organizations.
Centerbase Law practice management software. Features include: matter management, timekeeping, billing, trust accounting, integrated legal accounting, calendaring, and document management.
Clio Clio is a cloud-based law practice management software.
CosmoLex Includes legal time and billing and law practice management plus fully compliant law office accounting.
Coyote Analytics Law practice management system that includes time and billing, calendaring, financial management, contact management, document management, and business intelligence.
Daylite Mac CRM & Project Management app.
DirectLaw A Client Facing Legal Document Automation Platform Plus a Virtual Law Office.
Firm Central Thomson Reuter's online practice management software. Includes: Matter management; Firm Central Time & Billing; Legal Calendaring and Scheduling; Trust and Business Accounting; Client Portal; Document Assembly; and Integration with Westlaw Research.
gomatters Cloud based case management. Includes multi-user support for calendar, contact, task and billing management with unlimited document storage for your entire office.
Hipersoft HiPerSoft's Practice Information Powertool is the ultimate integration of Case Management, Calendaring, Time and Billing, and Document Management.
HoudiniEsq Web based law practice management software.
mycase MyCase is an all-in-one legal practice management software designed for the modern law firm. It includes: contacts, calendars, cases, documents, time tracking, billing and an integrated client portal.
Practice Panther Case management software.
Rocket Matter Includes legal practice management software, chat, project management, document automation and time and billing in one package.
Smokeball Legal practice management software.
Zola Suite Incorporates best-in-class case management capabilities, a powerful accounting system and a fully integrated email client in a single synergistic application.