Research Guides: CHE4075: ChE Undergraduate Research: Find Articles & Patents

SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)

SciFinder / Chemical Abstracts
New users must register and create a personal account. For UC students, staff and faculty only. You must register using your UC email address.

SciFinder provides access to the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases covering the chemical literature, chemical substances and reactions, chemical catalogs and regulatory information, as well as the Medline database.
SciFinder tutorials

Other databases for Chemistry, Science, and Patent research:

Scopus
Indexing, abstracting, and citation searching database for the health sciences and social sciences scholarly literature. Includes quality web sources, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Indexes 18,500 peer-reviewed journal and 1800 open-access journals, 400 trade publications, 340 book series, 23 million patent records, and 43 million webpages. Coverage includes 26 million records back to 1966, 21 million records pre-1996).

Compendex
Allows for filtering by treatment (theoretical, review, etc).

PubMed
Database for medical research, a service of the National Library of Medicine. Contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from 3,900 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. The database includes over 19 million citations. PubMed covers international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science related to medicine. Coverage from the 1950s to date.
Patents Reference Guide
Full guide of patent databases and where to download full-text patents.

Derwent Innovations Index
Includes enhanced abstracts describing focus areas of the patented technology. Also, links to newer patents that cite this patent.
Hint: for a specific US patent, search patent number beginning with US, as in US8500000. Use full-text sources links to get the full patent document, or search patent number in Google Patents.

Derwent - Advanced Search Tips
Help with searching for specific country's patents (e.g., US) through an Advanced Search
How to Read a Patent
Basic guide developed by a law firm. Hint: "A" patent is published application, "B" is a granted patent (enforceable).
Google Patents
Good starting search (patent number, general topic, known inventor name, known company name)

Google Scholar - Articles on the Web

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon or the browser extension icon

Resource not at UC?

Request articles or books using the online request system ILLiad.

Request Articles and Books

Is the item you need not at UC? Request it via the online request system ILLiad.

Log in with your UC central login. First time users will be prompted to fill out a profile which will then automatically supply your information for any subsequent requests.

RefWorks

Manage references
Cite references
Create bibliographies

New Refworks - citation manager
Free to current UC students, faculty and staff