The purpose of AegeaNet is to facilitate discussion, initiate and test new ideas, and explore possibilities in the world of the Aegean Bronze Age. Ideas, musings and queries, sample arguments, fully developed theses, and even entire drafts of papers are welcome.
Vitruvius provided design principles for ancient columns in his 'De Architectura'. Incomplete or lost is the part of description characterizing the slight embellishment of the form of columns called "entasis". Introduced to address optical refinements of columns, various geometric techniques had been developed to construe the forms of columns. The form varies largely depending on the size of the column and its purpose.
Lamps in pottery and metal made in the area centred by the Mediterranean over a period of some 3,500 years, from the Bronze Age to the Middle Ages, with a primary focus on those of Classical Antiquity. The objects reflect the influence of Greek, Hellenistic, Egyptian, Levantine, Roman, Byzantine, Islamic and other cultures.
This collection presents ancient and early medieval steelyards. Publication is cumulative; new objects will be added from time to time. For each object find spot and current location of the object are specified, bibliographic references are given, and essential attributes such as material are listed, to the extent that the information is available. When a datable context is known the context together with a dating is provided. Else a group dating is given which rests on the classification of the object according to a typology that has been developed as a result of our research. Whenever available images of the objects are provided.
In antiquity, sundials served mainly for timekeeping, but were only functional under consideration of the respective geographical latitudes. Furthermore, different types of sundials have been distinguished, such as conical, spherical, cylindrical or planar. Even smaller, portable specimen exist. The research project aims to re-analyze as many as possible of the 550 to 600 known Greek or Roman sundials using modern analytical methods such as 3D modeling. Modern technologies allow insights into the level of ancient knowledge and its dissemination in the ancient world.
The chief index to all aspects of classical studies, including language, literature, history, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Covers all of the regions of the Roman Empire. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.
The chief index to all aspects of classical studies, including language, literature, history, epigraphy, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Covers all of the regions of the Roman Empire. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.
Arachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne, administrated by Reinhard Foertsch. "Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. This combines an ongoing process of digitizing traditional documentation (stored on media which are both threatened by decay and largely unexplored) with the production of new digital object and graphic data. Wherever possible, Arachne follows a paradigm of highly structurized object-metadata which is mapped onto the CIDOC-CRM, to address machine-readable metadata strategies of the Semantic Web."
Within its special subject collection Classical Archaeology, the University Library of Heidelberg holds an extensive collection of archaeological literature of the 16th through the 20th century, periodicals included. Many of these works are now digitized and available online.
Artefacts is not a finished product, but a evolving programme reflecting the work of a group of researchers : the database can therefore be improved, and a careful user will find some mistakes which can be corrected as soon as we are informed. The aim of the project is to offer a survey, as complete as possible, of all forms of artefacts, arranged in wide periods. A corpus of finds is out of the question, Artefacts only aims to produce an inventory of forms (types) for which will be provided, as far as possible, a detailed description, a selected bibliography and a chronology.
The Athens University Review of Archaeology (AURA) is an international, peer-reviewed archaeological journal published annually by the Faculty of History and Archaeology of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. It is dedicated to the publication of original research articles and reports focusing on, or related to the archaeology, art and material culture in the broader Greek world, from the earliest Prehistory to the Modern Era.
Named after the American scholar Campbell Bonner, the primary aim of the CBD is to bring the entire corpus of magical gems online in order to make them better accessible for both scholars and the public, and to facilitate their study through the potentials offered by a digital database.
The Corpus of Ancient Sarcophagi was determined for collection and publication of sarcophagi of the Roman Empire by the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in 1870. In cooperation with the DAI, the CoDArchLab (Arachne) takes part in the re-conception of the Corpus of Ancient Sarcophagi.
CyArk was founded in 2003 to ensure heritage sites are available to future generations, while making them accessible today. CyArk operates internationally as a non-profit organization with the mission of using new technologies to create a free, 3D online library of the world's cultural heritage sites before they are lost to natural disasters, destroyed by human aggression or ravaged by the passage of time. CyArk uses cutting edge technology to capture detailed 3D representations of world’s significant cultural heritage sites before they are lost to natural disasters, destroyed by human aggression or ravaged by the passage of time.
Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt. The DYABOLA is a bibliography of literature on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology and history. It provides citations for articles from over 1,100 scholarly journals, contributions to Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other collections; books; dissertations. The database covers publications from 1956 to the present and is updated monthly.
Facem (= Fabrics of the Central Mediterranean) is a database for specialists of Greek, Punic and Roman pottery, housed at the University of Vienna, Austria. The project's aim is to give an overview of production centers in the Central Mediterranean region by presenting images and descriptions of fabrics.
An archaeological database for current fieldwork in Italy, Serbia, Bulgaria, Romania, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Croatia, Albania, and Slovenia. Fasti Online contains a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. Sites range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Projects from 2000 on; also included is bibliography on current projects.
Groma is an open access peer-reviewed e-journal of the Department of History and Cultures (DISCI) of the University of Bologna focusing on the different methodologies applied to archaeology. Particular attention is paid to Mediterranean archaeology and to specific methodological aspects such as archaeological documentation and landscape archaeology.
Heritage Turkey is an annual, full-color 'magazine-style' publication which contains reports on research supported by the British Institute at Ankara. Short articles are written by project directors and scholars.
The aims of Hyperboreus are to advance the study of classical antiquity in Russia and to encourage international cooperation in this field by publishing original articles and reviews of books in Russian, English, German, French, Italian, and Latin. The editors invite contributions in all areas of classical scholarship (language and literature, history, philosophy and sciences, papyrology, epigraphy, archaeology, arts) based primarily on the interpretation of classical sources.
Instrumentum is a working-group that comprises of scholars interested in the crafts and industries of ancient Europe and the Mediterranean. The chronological scope covers the European Iron Age and the eras of Greek and Roman civilization, with some overlap into the late Bronze Age and the early Middle Ages.
Explores the potential of electronic publication through the inclusion of video, audio, searchable data sets, full-colour images, visualisations, animations and interactive mapping. It is international in scope, and all content is peer-reviewed, and it is hosted by the Department of Archaeology at the University of York.
The JCAA is a peer-reviewed, open access, electronic journal, featuring papers in all the disciplines related to digital archaeology, including 3D modelling, spatial analysis and remote sensing, geophysics, other field recording techniques, databases and semantic web, statistics and data mining, simulation modelling, network analysis and digital reconstructions of the past.
Konstantin Preslavsky University of Shumen, Bulgaria. "The main purpose of this periodical is to allow various topics of the history and archaeology of the Balkans and South– Eastern Europe which are quite often highly controversial to be discussed by the broader scholarly community of the region. This is why the SAŠ is published entirely in international languages – English, German, French, Italian, Russian and Spanish. In order to broaden the range of the discussion, an interdisciplinary approach will be employed and historians, archaeologists, classicists, epigraphists etc. will be invited and most welcomed."
Studia Hercynia is a biennual peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the study of the material culture of Antiquity, on relations between the Mediterranean and Central Europe, on the traditions of ancient art in European culture, and other related phenomena. The journal aims to advance Classical Archaeology and associated disciplines, both in the Czech Republic and internationally.
A database on radiocarbon dated and historical-dated textiles (1st millennium BC and AD). Run by the Abteilung Christliche Archäologie der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. See additionally the ATN / ATR (Archaeological Textiles Newsletter, since 2012: Archaeological Textiles Review) volumes, issued by the CTR (Centre for Textile Research), University of Copenhagen.
Finding aids for the extensive archival holdings of field notes, correspondence, diaries, archaeological artifacts, equipment and other items of archaeologists such as Carl Blegen, Marion Rawson, John Caskey, Piet de Jong, Brian Rose, Jack Davis et al. from excavations at Troy, Pylos, Kea, Nemea, and other sites.
In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, Zenon DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics.