Online reference work to persons and places in the Metamorphoses of Ovid, including indexes of persons, nominals, attributes, and verbs, all with digital concordance to the Latin text and a narrative index. No additions since 2004.
Search Tips for Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
The search box for a quick search is displayed on top of the left‐hand side. Enter a search term and click the magnifying glass to launch your search.
Select More search options... from the menu bar to open the BTL search form. Three entry fields are available, each of them is preset with a search criterion. You can select a different search criterion from the list available for each entry field. Select the desired search category/ies from the pull‐down menus and enter your search term(s) in the adjacent search box(es).
Once you start typing a word, a word list or, in the Author and Title fields, an auto‐complete list will open. These lists contain all terms available in the selected field. Click the Search button to launch your search. Searches in the BTL and the number of search results always refer to so‐called Sententiae (roughly: sentences) into which the texts have been subdivided.
The following search criteria are used:
Full Text: Comprises the Latin texts, authors, titles. Tip: When searching on location information, use the abbreviations for liber, pagina, linea, etc. that are used in Detailed and Context View.
Title: The phrase list contains the titles of the Latin works.
Author: Names of Latin authors and titles of anonymous works. Entries are arranged alphabetically by the main name of the author. This is followed by the complete name, e.g., Ennius (Quintus Ennius). Additions in square brackets may identify different persons with the same name, e.g., Seneca [philosophus] (Lucius Annaeus Seneca) and Seneca [rhetor] (Lucius Annaeus Seneca) "pseudo" or "dubium" denote questionable attributions. Direct and indirect traditions of texts are reflected in different name phrases for the same author, e.g., Cicero (Marcus Tullius Cicero) [fragmenta in aliis scriptis seruata].
Tips for searching: You can enter the complete phrase or simply one or more words in any order. Even if you are interested in the differences reflected in the name phrases, you do not necessarily need to include them in your search. For example: If you search on the name Sallustius (Sallust), the Author/Editor selection box on the search screen will list all titles by Sallustius and Sallustius (pseudo) separately, and indirect tradition of a title will be denoted by 'fragmenta in aliis scriptis servata' or similar wording.
Literary emphasis rather than historical or biographical. Begins with a chapter on the reception of Latin and Greek literature ("Readers and Critics"). Lists major editions, commentaries, and translations.
This collaborative project aims to create a digital library of the entire body of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. Includes a catalogue of Latin texts currently available online. From forumromanum.org.
Ancient and medieval Latin texts with word searches, lemma searches, frequencies, etc. Not as sophisticated as the TLG for Greek texts, but is is superior to the PHI in terms of its search capabilities.
This project will supersede the editions of both Blatt and the Frobenius: it will eventually provide a complete, searchable text of the Latin versions of Josephus' two largest works (Blatt is incomplete). It is based on an early manuscript only for the Antiquities, but both works have now been carefully organised according to the modern editorial divisions in the text (the latter two both lacking in Frobenius). The site provides Antiquities I-XII, as well as the complete Latin Jewish War.
Includes a glossary of literary terms, annotated bibliographies, chronological tables, and a list of works with descriptions and if and where they are mentioned in ancient sources. Marginal lemmata make the work easy to consult.
It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian. It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series; Corpus Christianorum. Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrétiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia; and: Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem -- It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions" -- Latin texts with translations into English, French, German, and Italian, chiefly from the following corpora: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina; Corpus Christianorum. Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrétiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia; and: Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem.
The complete digital Loeb Classical Library is fully accessible via the Library's subscription. More than 520 volumes of Latin and Greek texts with English translation are available, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. The new Loeb editions are added twice a year.
Digital archive of Latin poetry developed by several Italian universities. It allows the user to also check the variants to a form adopted in the text of a given edition. Different queries can be performed, involving metrical and lexical patterns and so on. By clicking on any of the highlighted words, the user will be shown the known variant for that word and additional notes. A list of ‘witnesses’ and entire metrical scansion (only for dactylic texts) are also available.
Pede Certo is a program for the automatic analyzing of Latin verses developed by the Università di Udine as part of the Traditio patrum FIRB project. Its application to the Musisque Deoque digital archive – containing Latin poetry texts from the archaic period to the 7th century AD – has enabled the scansion of approximately 244,000 dactylic verses.
The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) is a monumental Latin dictionary covering the origin of the language to Isidore of Seville (died 636). The project began in 1894. The last fascicle of the P-volume appeared in 2010, and work is currently under way on both N and R.
Type a word in the full text search box, for example, amicitia. This gives you all instances of the word in different entries along with the location in the print TLL. Clicking on the words listed displays the entries in their entirety. The word is highlighted throughout the entries. Clicking on the hyperlinks opens up various information in the Index Librorum (authors, dates, editions, etc.). To move forward or backward in the texts use arrows on the top of the page. In the Advanced Search module you can search using various criteria such as etymology, lemma, etc. The search will give you the exact vol. part or fascicle, page, and line in the print TLL as well as the text.