Essays by specialists from the U.S., U.K., Canada, and Israel. The essays are 10-50 pages in length. The work lists major editions, commentaries, and translations. Offers a good introduction to major authors.
'Deep plays': theatre as process in Greek civic life / Paul Cartledge; A show for Dionysus / P. E. Easterling; The audience of Athenian tragedy / Simon Goldhill; The audience of Athenian tragedy / Simon Goldhill; The pictorial record / Oliver Taplin; The sociology of Athenian tragedy / Edith Hall; The language of tragedy: rhetoric and communication / Simon Goldhill; Form and performance / P. E. Easterling; Myth into muthos: the shaping of tragic plot / Peter Burian; From repertoire to canon / P. E. Easterling; Tragedy adapted for stages and screens: the Renaissance to the present / Peter Burian; Tragedy in performance: nineteenth- and twentieth-century productions / Fiona Macintosh; Modern critical approaches to Greek tragedy / Simon Goldhill.
Literary emphasis rather than historical or biographical. Begins with a chapter on the reception of Latin and Greek literature ("Readers and Critics"). Lists major editions, commentaries, and translations.
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that except for fragments contains the texts of epic poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings.
CE 2nd-3rd cent. Annotated quotations and text reuse in a digital edition for this author, whose work cites more than a thousand earlier sources and is one of the major sources for lost works of Greek poetry and prose (historiography, botany, zoology, food, music, dance, etc). U. Leipzig.
The Digital Corpus assembles a wide range of Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts. It also includes a number of Arabic commentaries and important secondary sources. The texts in the corpus can be consulted individually or side by side with their translation. The majority of texts can also be downloaded for further analysis.
The digital versions of FHG vol. 1 (7.4 MB), FHG vol. 2 (6.4 MB), FHG vol. 3 (7.8 MB), FHG vol. 4 (7.4 MB), FHG vol. 5-1 (2.9 MB) and vol. 5-2 (3.9 MB) are now available online. They collect fragments of authors from the 6th century BC through the 2nd century CE, including Apollodorus of Athens (with fragments of the Bibliotheca), historians of Sicily (Antiochus of Syracuse, Philistus of Syracuse, Timaeus of Tauromenius), the Atthidographers (Clidemus, Phanodemus, Androtio, Demo, Philochorus, and Ister), Aristotle and his disciples, historians from the time of Alexander the Great until 306 CE, fragments from the beginning of the reign of Constantine (306 CE) through the reign of the emperor Phocas (602-610 CE) and Greek and Syriac historical fragments preserved in Armenian texts. The Greek texts of the Marmor Parium (with Latin translation, chronological table, and commentary) and of the Marmor Rosettanum (with a French literal translation as well as a critical, historical and archaeological commentary) are online in a separate appendix at the end of vol. 1.
Blackwell. History and Culture -- The Successors; Macedonia and Greece; Seleucid Asia; Attalid Pergamum; Ptolemaic Egypt; Aesthetics and Style -- Aesthetic Principles; Meter, Dialect, and Diction; Literature as Artefact; Authors and Genres -- Menander; Callimachus; Apollonius of Rhodes; Theocritus and Other Bucolic Poets; Didactic Poetry; Epigrams; Dramatic Poetry; Parodic and Philosophical Literature; Polybius; Technical Prose Writing; Topics in Hellenistic Literature -- Learning and Innovation; Book Culture and Performance; Social and Political Background; The Critical Impulse in Literature and Art; Reception in Rome.
Search for headwords in Hesychius, Photios, Phrynichus, Harpokration, Aelius Dionysius, Pseudo-Zonaras, LSJ, Logeion, Words in Progress, the Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek, the Suda, the Lexicon αἱμωδεῖν, and the Synagoge.
British Library. Our knowledge of the great works of ancient Greek literature derive from two main sources: manuscripts from Byzantium, and papyri discovered in Egypt since the late 19th century. Here, Mark Joyal surveys the process by which these works were transmitted through the centuries.
Greek manuscript database issued by the ‘Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes’, a research unit of the French CNRS (‘Centre national de la recherche scientifique’). A handy tool to identify manuscripts that are digitally available.
Describes individual and collective projects concerning Greek manuscripts (mainly palaeography, codicology, cataloguing, but also text transmission and cultural history): ADAMaP. Archivio Digitale degli Antichi Manoscritti della Puglia, Codices Graeci Antiquiores (Italy), COMSt (Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies), George Etheridge’s Encomium on Henry VIII addressed to Elizabeth I. Greek Books in Turin Libraries, MaGI. Manoscritti greci d’Italia, Manuscripts and Papyri of the Homer Multitext Project, Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project (a collaboration between the Bodleian Library and the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana), Sinai Palimpsests Project.
The TLG is a concordance to ancient Greek literature. It was originally based on Estienne's work Thesaurus graecae linguae. It contains virtually all extant Greek literary texts from Homer (eight century B.C.E.) to 800 C.E. as well as the texts of many historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic writers. The goal is to eventually include literary texts from antiquity to the present.
From the Text Search option, you can choose Simple (one word or phrase) or Proximity (Boolean, a combination of up to three words or phrases) searches.
You can search using Greek, Beta, Transliteration fonts from the drop down menu.
If you choose Greek, you can click on each letter in the keyboard icon. Note that there is no difference between regular and final sigma in the search box and you can ignore aspirations unless you wish to search on specific inflected forms or gain more precision in your word or phrase searches, and the iota subscript can be added by clicking on it following the letter; for example, clicking on the omega with iota subscript or other diphthong.
However, instead of clicking on the individual Greek letters, you may want to go to Settings on your computer and choose Language, Keyboard, Greek, Polytonic if you wish to facilitate the inputting of ancient Greek words and phrases. Once you have added Polytonic, you can click on the flag, usually in the upper right hand corner on Mac computers or “ΕΛ,” usually in the lower right hand corner on PC’s and start typing. Unless you have an actual Greek keyboard, you need to check the configuration chart or simply through trial and error find the corresponding letters, e.g., v for ω, h for η, u for θ, y for υ, etc.
If you choose Beta or Transliteration make sure to check the transliteration chart used in the TLG – w for ω, h for η, q for θ, etc.
You can also choose the distance between the combined words in Proximity searches, from changing the default of 15 words in the box to up to 50 words.
You can either decide to search the Full Author Corpus, which is the default, or a single author or a number of authors by choosing Author, e.g., Euripides.
In the results you can view the larger context of the passages by clicking on the rectangle with a right pointing arrow (the browser window) to read the entire text by moving backwards or forward in the text, and in the case of links to Translations, such as those in Perseus, read a translation. You can also click on the exact Citation of the edition you are consulting.
Note: You do not have to use diacritics, but you can, if you desire more precision. Wildcards can also be used by tagging this option which offers you inflected (declined, conjugated, derived, dialectical) forms of the word(s) or phrase(s) searched.
For morphological analysis choose a Lemma (dictionary form) search. For word forms choose a Word Index search from a list of words.
In the corpus of Euripides, for example, if you search on πόνος or the stem πον using the Word Index, you will find that there are 18 instances of this word. Once here you could choose to expand your search by clicking on Full Author Corpus which then will give all the instances in the corpus of Greek texts/authors in the TLG for comparative analysis.
If you choose Text Search, you will be taken to the texts in which this word is found. When you perform a Proximity search in the Euripides corpus on, for example, πόνος and βίος within a range of, let us say, 30 words, you will find three instances of this word "combination," in the Fragmenta and in the Hippolytus.
There are many other features to explore such as geographic and chronological distributions of words or phrases under Statistics. The N-Grams option allows you to compare similarities in phrases, for example, in the parallel Intertextual Phrase Matching comparing passages in all or individual works by two authors such as Sophocles and Euripides in order to identify common phrases to both or in general use at the time (chronological distribution) in Athens (geographic distribution), for example, or unique words and phrases in each author compared to parts or the full corpus of authors in the TLG.
This work lists the source editions for authors and works included in the TLG database. The Canon covers more than 3,000 Greek authors and more than 9,000 individual works. In most cases, what is considered the best available critical edition is cited.